Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

back to the flat land

Do you guys feel like it’s harder to face a Monday when feeling bloated from an indulgent weekend? I do. As a kid, I always had anxiety on Monday mornings before heading off to school. I still get that way now at the start of a new work week. Those feelings are magnified by feelings of bloat and water renention from a weekend of unhealthy food and wine.

With that said, Vermont was a great time. Saturday night we went to that BBQ. Someone made pasta salad with velveta cheese in it. Yum. Vermonters love their meat so I caught a lot of crap when I handed over my veggie burgs to the grill master. Oh well, that’s part of it I guess. I also tried jello shots for the first time. People can’t believe that I’m almost 30 and had never had a jello shot. Quite frankly, jello is made out of horse hoofs and that grosses me out and vodka doesn’t rank high on the list either. People seem to love those little pixie cups of tendons and booze. Me? Not so much.

Sunday we had an amazing brunch at our friends place then headed to the mountains for Β a long walk. I only brought flip flops with me so we couldn’t do anything intense. It was a beautiful day and Ellie had such a great time. On the way home we stopped for lunch, then for ice cream. I had the biggest cone of peppermint stick and almond joy with sprinkles. Dinner was veggie pad thai which sent me to bed in a complete food coma and increased my number of chins. Not cool.

I’m going to focus on eating clean this week, whatever that means.

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. I don’t like jello either. It doesn’t taste like anything to me. I love vodka though.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Glad the weekend was fun! Lol…jello shots remind me of college. EVERY party had tons of them floating around. Kind of grosses me out now when I think about it– like many things from college tend to do πŸ™‚

    Comment by Anna | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. I don’t like vodka either, the smell makes me gag. I had jell-o shots ONCE in 7th grade. Don’t ask how my friends and I had access to alcohol, I don’t even know

    Comment by Brittany | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. can i have ellie? please please pretty please? she’s so adorable πŸ™‚

    Comment by Heather | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I hate the idea of Jello shots, but after a few drinks suddenly those little Dixie cups turn into the best things ever. Ew. Glad you had fun this weekend, I’m currently daydreaming about how awesome peppermint stick and almond joy ice cream would be…too bad all we have in the house is my dad’s gross Weight Watchers ice cream cups.

    Hope you have a wonderful week love!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. The only time I eat jello is when it’s in jello shot form, and that’s not very often. I much prefer to drink my vodka straight, haha.

    Comment by Kelly | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  7. Ahhh, jello shots are amazing! I can’t believe you’d never tried them. πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  8. That’s a really pretty view! And very sunny too πŸ˜€

    I hope you feel better from the food coma! D: Just eat clean this week and you’ll be all good! πŸ˜€

    Comment by Miho | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m almost 19 and never had a jello shot but I’ve always wanted one. Tendons and hooves don’t appeal to me but I want to try a jello shot so I’ll just suck it up and be a big girl about it. Besides, they look funnish. Vodka is actually one of the only alcohols I like drinking. A few shots of that without chaser and I’m good to go.

    Comment by highonhealthy | May 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. vodka=bad news bears the next day

    Comment by Jamie | May 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. I know that feeling on a Monday. I am so with you this week!!

    Comment by Jacqui | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  12. eat what you want and what makes you feel good! clean conscious is the hardest for me

    Comment by Katherine: What About Summer? | May 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

