Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Upgrade or old school?

Who said dogs don’t like to party?

We went to a birthday BBQ yesterday for our friend Jack. We had a great time catching up with everyone and meeting new people. Growing up is a funny thing isn’t it? It seemed like everyone was caught up in their own little world of babies, dogs, work, etc. I can’t remember what we used to talk about before all those things. Keg stands are no longer a priority, no one’s smoking pot in the garage, and tables are no longer used for flip cup. Our biggest amusement was seeing a raccoon named George hiding in a tree. Funny enough, that’s okay with me.  When did we get so old?

I was talking to our friend who is six months pregnant and all belly. She was telling me how she went shopping and was trying on normal clothes, not maternity clothes, and she refused to come out of the dressing room due to feeling embarrassed. She was trying on a MEDIUM.  Wouldn’t that be nice, I thought. I’ve been a large forever and I’m not pregnant. So sad. Speaking of sad, I gained this week. Boo.

Believe it or not, I’m still obsessing over Greys Anatomy and watched it over again on Friday night.  The second time around, I paid attention to the acting since I knew what was going to happen. Incredible.

Is your phone from 1966 or is it just me? My ghetto little phone shit the bed yesterday so it’s time to upgrade. I like to get the most simple phones because I believe the less technology the better. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love a blackberry or an Iphone, but 1) I cannot afford it or the monthly payments 2) I’d never get off the damn internet.

How long could you live without your phone? Should I stick to an old model or get with the times?

Alright ladies and gents, I’m off for a 10 mile run. My half marathon is next weekend so hopefully I feel good during todays run. Wish me luck!

P.S. Last night Len and I decided that if we ever get married we’re going to elope to Alaska and Jack (the birthday boy) is going to marry us.

May 23, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun, running, Weigh In, Workout

12 Comments »

  1. A. You’re only a large because of your awesome boobs (that my flat chest is majorly jealous of)

    and B. I am coming to Boston to steal your dog. I need her.

    Comment by Anna | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh, and C. GOOD LUCK ON THE RUN! 🙂

    Comment by Anna | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. my phone is my baby! I go everywhere with my phone and camera! lol

    Grey’s was amazing! I am going to watch it again today lol…

    And you you are only a large because of the girls! you KNOW you are in great shape so pay no mind to the labels…the only label you need to worry about is “FIT!”

    Comment by Mari | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. every time i get a new phone and it’s upgraded i can’t go back to the way it was before – like once i got a camera, i always had to have one. next was email. next was internet. the iphones coming next and i’ll be in trouble…

    Comment by actorsdiet | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. Don’t get a blackberry. There is no need. I need a new one too. I think I’m going to get a Samsung Intensity. I don’t want a touch screen because I’d probably break that next week.

    Comment by Ali | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. If I could take some of your boobs I would happily go to a medium or large. The only reason most of us are a “small” is because we have nothing to fill the shirt with.

    I have a blackberry and.. I really like it. Not love, but like. Sometimes it’s nice to have my email literally at my fingertips wherever I go.

    Comment by highonhealthy | May 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. I agree about priorities changing when you get older. Keith and I are always joking about how old we are (act)…haha! I have a blackberry and I love it but if you old cell phone is working for you…no need to change right?

    Comment by Kelly | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  8. Haha we still used our table for flip cup on Saturday. I guess we refuse to act like adults.

    Comment by Kelly | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  9. Oh and my blackberry is pretty much superglued to my palm

    Comment by Kelly | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  10. i don’t use my phone all day every day, but i definitely like to have it close by. you should totally upgrade…you deserve something awesome for finishing grad school like a rockstar!

    Comment by Heather | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  11. I so could live without my phone, im not attached to it like most teenagers are. I mainly use it to talk to my mom 🙂

    Comment by Michal | May 24, 2010 | Reply

  12. Greys was super intense. I like to take trips from my phone- there’s something about being accessible all the time that doesn’t appeal to me. Sometimes a girl wants to go off the grid, you know? Glad to finally be catching up on your blog. Be well. 🙂

    Comment by Annelies | June 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

