Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Bad news and good news

Bad news–I left my camera in Vermont so I’m going to have to either post old pictures or no pictures for a while. What’s worse?

This weekend has been cool but all this weekend travel is leaving me exhausted. Four more weekends of travel left and then I get a couple of weekend breaks. For some reason I always book my entire summer up and before I know it, it’s over. I’m already looking forward to Fall; let’s just hope I have a job lined up.

Some good news…

My friend and I officially signed up for our first sprint triathlon. It’s nine weeks away and a pool is needed asap. You should know that I despise two things in life: bathing suits and open waters. The many sea animals lurking around are enough to send me into a panic. I swear I was bitten by a lobster once in the Long Island Sound. Little shit scared me for life. Anyway, I’m totally looking forward to a challenge and hope my motivation holds up during the Summer. One of my great friends from college signed up with me. She is really strong at swimming and is mostly terrified of the run. We promised that we’d stick together no matter what so she will get me through the swimming leg and I will encourage her during that run.

Feel free to send me tips and tricks. Any little bit of information is helpful.

So I’m having some trouble with Miss. Eleanor. Don’t let the cute face fool you. At my friends BBQ last night, she got in three fights with two different dogs and instigated them all. This has happened many times before which is why I hate going to the dog park. Ellie is an extremely dominant dog and clearly doesn’t know dog etiquette. Why is she such a territorial brute?

I just want to be able to take her places without the fear of her getting into a fight with another dog. I definitely project nervous energy which doesn’t help but it’s hard to stay calm. How do we remedy this?  Any dog whisperers out there?

June 6, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, running, Triathlon

12 Comments »

  1. that picture of eleanor is adorable, even if she is a fight-starter! i wish i had some good advice for ya, but i don’t other than maybe hire a trainer or something?

    Comment by Heather | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. She is totally gruffing (under her breath barking) in that picture, isn’t she? Guns does that all the time. Now, I know it isn’t kosher, but it totally jump my dogs shit when they do stuff like that. Last time Gunny got possessive with a toy and another dog, I linebacker-tackled him. You have to sense when it’s almost going to happen and get them out of the situation before it starts. :). And wahoo on the tri, you are gonna do great!

    Comment by Lindsay | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Isn’t it funny when the weekends can be more exhausting than the week? I know that feeling well…

    Congrats on signing up for the tri. My fear and inability to skillfully swim keep me from ever trying it. But I like to cheer others on! 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | June 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. I can’t believe you signed up for a tri! You’ve really gotten into running! So inspiring!
    Have you thought of bringing Eleanor to a dog training class? They offer all different kinds at Petco and they aren’t that expensive. Good luck!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. Congrats on the tri! My golden yes my golden hates other dogs started whenhe was around 1 and half apparently thats when they hit puberty! We have tried everything hired a dog trianer watched every episode of Dog Whisperer hes now 8 and is the same . My only thinking that does work when yousee her getting aggressive or what not we make him sit and relax and not make eye contact with the other dogs . it sometimes works it relly stinks b/c now we can’t take him anywhere but I think if you start now you might be better than us we waited too long to workon it. Good Luck!!
    Duh I just read what Lindsey said and its the same thing!

    Comment by Kelli | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  6. Congrats on signing up for the race!! No tips on the dog situation, since my old dog just wanted to play all the time, but I’ve heard that having two dogs can really help turn an aggressive dog around…if you’re ready to have two, that is!!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hey Chica!!! Congrats on graduating! I know you are happy about not sitting in a classroom anymore. Onto Ms. Thing, she may be territorial when it comes to you. I know my little chi-russel (Jack Russel & Chihuahua) he gets gangster (shows teeth, ready to get down and fight) when it comes to someone or a dog gets close to me. I think she may feel you become nervous or she just don’t like other dogs around. Good luck, she is so damn cute though!
    Take care.

    Comment by Yvone | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  8. Congrats for signing up for the race! You are going to rock it!

    Comment by Kelly | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  9. Congrats on the race. Good luck with the training!

    Comment by Jacqui | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  10. Aww, I feel your pain– Ella is really dominant too. She’s actually attacked our friend’s dog…awkward!!!

    Congrats on signing up for the race– very exciting!!!

    Comment by Anna | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  11. Super cool!! Two tips… swim in open water many times before then so you can get used to it (and the critters) in the water. That way you won’t be freaked if you feel something swim by your leg during the race (or you will be less anxious). Also, although I guess you are supposed to be going fast, if you need to rest you can just take a deep breath and kind of float underwater/tread while you rest. That will give your limbs a break anyway and let you catch your breath so that you can start over.

    Comment by njwritergirl | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  12. Eleanor looks like she just finished kicking another dog’s ass in that picture.. clearly she knows she’s the Queen. I’d like to whisper you some secrets but thankfully my pup is of the friendly/Icouldn’tcarelessaboutthatdog category so I don’t have to worry about that stuff at the moment.

    Good luck with the training! One day I think I’d like to try something like that but right now I think I’ll focus on entering my first race.

    Comment by highonhealthy | June 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

