Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

money sucks. why can’t we pay with candy wrappers.

We’re headed to the Cape tomorrow and our car started having trouble today, stalling out several times. (It’s a standard so stalling is not normal.) God forbid the car dies tomorrow on the highway in the 90 degree heat. I just might throw myself in front of a bus. At least Ellie won’t be with us so we don’t have to worry about her overheating.

So I checked out my bank account this morning and almost choked on my toast. It’s incredibly scary to know that in three weeks I will have no money coming in until I get a full-time job somewhere, sometime. Yes, I’ll be working 5 hours a week doing therapy but let’s face it, that ain’t even paying the heat bill. I have enough money to get me through the summer but my insurance ends in August and my student loans start coming in October. I’ve never felt so overwhelmed with finances before. Luckily work distracted me from my morning anxiety so I wasn’t ruminating over it all day. What are your money-saving tips?? I need all the budgeting help I can get.

What’s everyone doing this weekend?

June 18, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. I’m gonna be checking back… because I could use the help, too!

    I’d basically say google is your friend. Whenever I’m buying something from a specific store or website, or even just kashi cereal, I’ll google coupons for it. I’m a firm believer that it is completely possible to find a coupon for almost anything.

    Except for Trader Joe’s. Which is an f-ing shame. Because I’m positive I’m close to owning a share of that company with my spending habits there…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Student loan repaying is HELL, seriously. Every time I put 1/3 of my paycheck (you would think that mean I’m paying them off quickly, but sadly not the case) towards them I cry.

    Keeping my fingers crossed that you don’t stall out!

    Comment by Kristie | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. YOUR sister will be LIVE on the CBS EARLY SHOW THIS MONDAY between 8-9am.

    TELL THE WORLD!!!!!!!!!

    If I can get a tv correspondence gig out of this, I will send you $$$$$$$$$$$

    hahahha..love ya

    Comment by Lisa Paige | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. Did you sister seriously just leave a comment about her being on TV on a post where you are upset and scared about your finacial situation??? Can she be more self-centered?

    Comment by Wow | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. The best money saving advice I have (and been using lately) is to give myself a food budget each month. Once we spend the money we have to use what we have around the house to eat. It helps us use stuff up and think more about what we buy!

    Comment by Jacqui | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. I hear ya I can only say I started selling stuff on ebay I don’t use and the kids don’t use and it adds up something you might want to think about dvd’s books etc Good Luck I know alot of people can relate!

    Comment by Kelli | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. I recently started saving my money but asking myself whether I really needed it pretty much every time I go to buy something. I cut back on morning and afternoon coffees, my grocery budget, and I almost never buy clothes anymore! Sometimes it sucks but I feel better knowing I have a bit more saved than usual.

    Comment by Ashleigh | June 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

