Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Special day.

Three years ago I was working at a Boston non-profit called Project Place. Everyday I would walk over to the Boston House of Correction to teach life skill classes to women inmates. The one-mile walk from my office to the jail was pretty sketchy. I walked past a creepy hospital and a methadone clinic. Three blocks in particular were littered with crack heads, homeless men and women, creeps, prostitutes,  and people who got lost along the way.  (This isn’t me being mean or stereotyping, I’m totally serious.)

Three years ago today, I was doing the usual walk when a gentleman in a suit asked me where the House of Correction was. It was well above 90 degrees yet the man in a suit wasn’t sweating at all. Me on the other hand…. well, you’ve seen the oily pictures. “Follow me” I replied, “I’m going there, too”

We walked about a quarter-mile together. Eventually he mentioned that he was a lawyer and had to visit his client. “You’re a young lawyer” I commented. We talked and walked and discovered some things we had in common, such as our history living and attending undergrad in Burlington,  Vermont.  He was cute and we were flirty.

Later that day, back at the office,  I received an email from the stranger in the suit asking me out for a drink. That stranger was Len.

I never thought I’d meet my partner in front of a jail but life has a funny way of sneaking up on us.

June 19, 2010 - Posted by | The Boyfriend

23 Comments »

  1. What an adorable story!!!!!!!! Happy 3 years!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. That’s a cute story I don’t know I’ve ever heard it. Hope u 2 have a great weekend together. Coco

    Comment by lindsay | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. WHAT A CUTE STORY!!!!!

    =D

    you guys rock. =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. Project Place must have been an amaing experience. I would love to do something like that, but with either art or theater. I want to bring my passions to people who may feel like they have hit rock bottom.
    I love you and Len’s story. 3 years is a long time, isn’t it? My boyfriend and I and nearing that mark, too (in October).
    Have a great weekend!

    Comment by Astrid | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. happy 3 years! you guys are so adorable…and i’m so glad you shared that story! kind of made my morning 😉

    Comment by Heather | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. cute! happy 3 years!

    Comment by actorsdiet | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. Cute cute cute! And I’m in awe that he wasn’t sweating in the suit!!

    Comment by Kristie | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. So cute!

    Comment by Jacqui | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  9. Love it!!! Congrats Linds and Len! Love you guys!!

    Comment by Katelyn | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  10. Awwww….too cute 🙂 Happy three years!!!

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  11. what a sweet, and unique, story! I love it! The picture is super cute, too!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  12. Congrats Lindsey, what a wonderful story {to tell your grandbabies some day}

    Comment by Debra | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  13. that’s a great story- pretty much guaranteed you won’t find anyone with the same one!

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  14. ARGGGH that is the sweetest story. And you’ll be pleased to hear you had me going the whole way – it didn’t click it was Len until you said it was Len.

    Comment by Alice | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  15. Happy anniversary!!!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  16. What a great story! I love how we met stories!! 🙂 Hope you are doing well, I just popped in to see ya! 😉

    Comment by Lindsay | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  17. Hey there! I’m a longtime reader, unlurking! 😉 This story is really great – congratulations to the both of you!

    Comment by healthulous | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  18. That is so sweet! I keep expecting to meet a significant other in a prison or jail. But that’s mostly because I spend so much time there.

    Congrats on three years! Hope you have many many more wonderful years!

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  19. That’s such a cute story 🙂

    Happy Anniversary!!I hope you guys had a fun weekend together!

    Comment by Ashleigh | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  20. That’s so cool how (and where!) you two met! You two are so cute together!

    Comment by Miho | June 20, 2010 | Reply

  21. I am in love with that story- it is so romantic!! and what a great one to tell the grandkids!!

    Comment by Kim | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  22. That is one of my favorite pictures. You look adorable and Len looks awesome too. Happy Anniversary to two of my favorite people!!

    Comment by mom | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  23. That’s such a great story. Nothing sexier than a man in a suit. Or pilot uniform, lol. Happy Anniversary, can’t believe it’s been three years.

    Comment by Lacey | June 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

