Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

One expensive popsicle stick

Hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been missing in action this weekend but we had quite the scare with Ellie so I was dealing with that. Friday night she decided to eat a whole popsicle, stick and all, without chewing it. Our vet recommended we take her immediately into Angel Memorial Hospital (the biggest and best hospital around). There were three options for us to consider: inducing vomit which wasn’t recommended because the popsicle stick would likely get stuck in her esophagus, wait it out in hopes that it would pass but that wasn’t recommended because 50-50 chance it would get stuck somewhere in her system and would need invasive surgery, or she could get an endoscopy where Ellie would get knocked out and they’d put a scope down her throat to pull out the stick. We went with the third option because the other two seemed too risky. Plus, I couldn’t handle the stress of waiting for her to poop it out. The third option sounded like the best idea because it happened immediately.

If your animal has ever gotten anesthesia, you’re aware of the riot act that gets read to you. There are certain complications with every dog when they get “knocked out” but our doc made sure we understood that those complications are increased with a bulldog due to their overall build and their bronchial system. Doc asked how far we wanted them to go incase there were any complications. The answer, of course, was all the way. She informed us of those steps including opening up the chest cavity and doing CPR on her heart. At this point I wanted to hurl but she comforted us by  repeating that she didn’t expect any complications and that it was a pretty routine procedure. We left Ellie with a sad heart and a much higher credit card bill, expecting to see her in the morning.

Around 9:30 they called us and said surgery went well and we could pick her up. I was shocked considering she was meant to be in ICU for the night but I wasn’t about to complain. At our second trip to the hospital we saw a doctor sitting with two children in the waiting room. My heart melted as I wondered what they were waiting for and if it would be good news. On the other side of the building was a doctor with an older couple. The older lady was sobbing hysterically and we could only conclude that she lost her pet. Soon the older couple walked across the building to the waiting kids and broke the news. There sat a family of four comforting each other while they grieved for their fifth wheel. Heartbreaking isn’t even the word.

Everyday I am amazed at how animals change lives. They aren’t just pets, they are companions and best friends. They’re a lifetime of memories and often years of heartache. Pets bring joy to the lives of many and today I am so grateful for my little lady. How has your pet changed your life?

June 27, 2010 - Posted by | dogs

14 Comments »

  1. Oh no! I am so glad that Ellie is okay! You poor thing!

    Comment by Kelly | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. oh thank goodnes ellie is A-OKAY!

    a pet brought mea nd my family closer together- the little guinea pig we got was so funny that we couldn’t help but love it.

    Comment by traynharder23 | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am so glad Eleanor is okay! You will do anything for your pet. I remember my dog growing up…I still think of him…he used to be my best friend, I would take long naps on him and he would never budge until I woke, even if he had to go to the bathroom! I used to dress him up and feed him treats and he would take it all, I miss him!

    I have a cat and I know some people say a cat…but he is my first cat I got moving out of my parents home…I had his named picked out before I got him and when I picked him out I fell in love with him. He brings me joy and he sleeps over my head at night. His old owner gave him up because of his allergies, but lucky me because now I have him. He is a good cat and when things are just tough on me, I hang out with him as he purrs and meows at me and all gets better!

    So yes pets can def. help in your life! And I am so happy Eleanor is okay! Give her a hug from me!!! xx

    Comment by Lori | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh my god! That is so scary! I’m so sorry for Ellie went through that. I’m glad she’s going to be okay.
    Big hugs to you and Ellie. So scary!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. AWWWW….I am SO glad that she’s okay!!! Thank goodness!

    Comment by Anna | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  6. How scary. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I’m glad your baby is ok. Our dog’s are most definitely our babies and I don’t even want to think about anything happening to them.

    Comment by homecookedem | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. I”m sorry you had to go through that how scarey i just cried when I ready about the people losingtheir pets I have two children who are as obsessed with their dog as I am . I can’t even imagine losing him:( He’s my baby

    Comment by Kelli | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  8. glad your baby made it through so easily! i used to work as a vet tech at an emergency vet hospital, and seeing upset family members was always the hardest part

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | June 27, 2010 | Reply

  9. So glad she is ok. I can only imagine how stressful that was.

    Comment by Jacqui | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. my doggie means the world to me! glad ellie is okay.

    Comment by actorsdiet | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  11. Guns has gone under 4 times, never had the riot act read to me that completely, I would be freaking too! So glad that your little miss is ok. Scary!

    Comment by Lindsay | June 29, 2010 | Reply

  12. Great picture of the family Lins! So glad my granddoggie is doing well after her ordeal. Give her some pats and a hug from Mema (my newly found grandmother name). Do you like it?

    Comment by mom | June 29, 2010 | Reply

  13. oh, Lindsey, just read this- glad Ellie is ok- that is a big scare. My Mika {mini doxie} got bitten & treated like a rag doll 5 years ago at one of my workers’ bbq party by her big dog- was so scary lots of $$$ later she is doing great. They are the kids my husband & I did not have together {he is a great dad to my son from other} They are called furbabies for a reason. Enjoy all the love & kisses she gives you.

    {{hugs}}

    Comment by Debra | July 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

