Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Tri- Training

I just completed my second week of triathlon training, with six weeks to go before the big day. As I’ve said before, I am most scared about the swim. Since it’s in August, I’m assuming I wouldn’t wear a wet suit, correct?  My goal for any race is never about time, it’s about the training process and finishing. The bike and swim will be difficult but at least I can take a break if needed. The swim on the other hand– stopping means treading water and if I really need to stop and hold onto something, I’ll be disqualified. Ideally I should practice swimming in open water but I’m totally freaked out by the idea and probably won’t get around to it. This means that race day will be my first open water swim. Oy vey.

Anyways, back to the training. Though I printed out a plan, I haven’t followed it at all. I’ve sorta been waking up and doing whatever the hell I feel like for a work out. My activity has included swimming, running, biking and body pump. The problem with varying my workout everyday while training is that I feel like I’m just okay at everything. With half marathons, you run. Run, run and more running. With a tri, we must do it all so it’s hard to gauge improvements. The bonus is that I feel less bored, sometimes even excited to work out, and I’m finally getting some balance in my routine. This body pump class is the missing link to my regime. Love it.

Yesterday I went to body pump and then rode 15.5 miles along the Charles River I saw a PIG getting walked!!!?!! Unfortunately I couldn’t pet him (her?) because the owner said it might bite me. ouch! My legs felt tired after the ride but it was my butt and vageen that hurt the most. Bike seats are not easy on our ladies parts, are they?

Well, I’m off to work. Have a great Monday!!

June 28, 2010 - Posted by | Body Pump, goals, Marathon Training, running, Triathlon

7 Comments »

  1. LOL…bike riding hurts my vageen too. Ahh, too much.

    Sounds like you’re really working your butt off! You’re going to rock this tri.

    I can’t believe you saw a PIG!!!

    Comment by Anna | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. A pig on a leash?! WOW!

    Comment by Kelly | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am jealous that you are training for a tri…although I guess I could get my butt out there and do it…I just have to get the swimming thing down!

    And you saw a pig on a leash? Too cute and too funny! Too bad you didn’t have your camera with you!

    Keep up the great work girl!

    Comment by Lori | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Colleen trained in a pool. Her first open water swim was during the tri. Also, I hear padded bike shorts make a huge difference for the comfort of those parts…..I haven’t tried them, but maybe you should.

    Comment by Ali | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. Whenever I hear about people owning pigs as pets, I think about Luke Perry (he had a pet pig) lol.

    AND yup I totally feel your pain about your vajayjay on the bike seat! I am always uncomfortable when I go on the bike at the gym.

    Comment by Mari | June 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh man I have heard horror stories about lady pains from biking!! Keep that punane safe! hahaha.

    Comment by Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife | July 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. You have such a great, organized schedule. Keep up the good work! I’m impressed

    Comment by Katherine: What About Summer? | July 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

