Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

why don’t you cry about it, baby.

Some people really know how to take advantage of being unemployed. Me on the other hand, not so much. It’s only 8:45 and I’m bored out of my mind. So bored. Last night I looked at photo albums from when I lived in Australia for 4 months. We did so many adventurous things and I started to ask myself, “who is that person?” I got bummed out because I’ve become a boring person and I long for something new and exciting–like a new city. It’s difficult getting older and having responsibilities that make it very difficult to do wild and crazy things. For example, I’ve always dreamed about living and working in Africa and came close to following through at one point. Years later, that dream feels so out of reach. I could never up and leave my boyfriend and dog, never mind my million dollars of debt. What are some ways to bring excitement into life without making any big changes? Don’t mind my pity party.

In other news, all of our weight loss worries are over because soon we can freeze off unwanted fat?! Yep, special shorts with what appears to be an ice pack pocket. Don’t ask, I just saw it on Fox news. Alright, I’m off for a morning bike ride.

July 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I read an article a few weeks ago about a couple who just up and moved to Bali for a year, and I thought, “GOD I want to do that.” And that (or anything like it) will never happen. Isn’t it amazing how you can feel old and boring so young in life?!?

    Hope your bike ride clears your head!

    Comment by Anna | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. i would say pick up a new hobby…something like photography or art where you have to work on it consistently. i know that’s what i did during my unemployment!

    Comment by Heather | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. I feel like that too! I feel like I used to be a lot more fun and now I am kind of bleh!

    Comment by Kelly | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. It’s hard when you’re unemployed to stay un-bored all the time (I’m unemployed too so I know the feeling).. but here are some things that keep me going throughout the day:

    Daily workouts, becoming a better blogger, scrapbooking, applying to at least one job a day, packing up the house to move in a month, finding a good book to read, creating new GF recipes, going with a friend to the pool, make and start to complete a Day Zero Project!

    Hope those ideas help ya out girly!

    Comment by Katie @ Healthy Heddleston | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. Blogging is definitely something I love to do when I’m bored, but it definitely could get boring too! What about making a list of all the things you’ve always said you wanted to do but never had the time? Cleaning out attics, going to tourist attractions in your own city, etc. Do the stuff you’ve always meant to but never had the chance!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. Whoa, I’ll definitely buy a pair of those shorts! πŸ˜‰ I think a way to change up your life a bit might be to pick up a new hobby. Is there something you’ve always wanted to learn/try? Maybe an instrument, or a fun dance class! Or learn a new language for the day that you do get to go to Africa! πŸ™‚

    Comment by theresawillandaway | July 12, 2010 | Reply

  7. In order for me to bring back excitement back in to my life, I do what I really love (draw, read blogs ,blog, play pokemon, etc). And also, what I found that’s really helpful is that (for your dream part. I’m kind of in the same boat right now), is to remember how you felt back then; when you were dreaming, and when you were working for your dream. For me, if I were very hyped up and happy back then, by rethinking and remembering about it makes me/my mind happy again, and I feel like I want to give it an another try! πŸ˜€

    I love your blog! ❀ (and you're really pretty, btw) πŸ˜‰

    Comment by Miho | July 12, 2010 | Reply

    • aw, thank you so much.

      Comment by lpskins | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. I feel the same way…I think in someways that is why I started blogging…

    Comment by Jacqui | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  9. i’m an expert at being unemployed! you should listen to my old podcast “actors off” – all about what actors do when they’re not working (which is all the time)

    Comment by actorsdiet | July 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

