Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Lovin all around

With all this homemade soft serve talk, I had to try it myself. Sadly, the frozen banana sitting in my fridge was tiny so I had to throw in a bunch of frozen berries. Don’t kill me but I’m not a big berry person. I was desperate for a frozen creamy treat so in the processor they went. I must say, it was clumpy and not the fro-yo I was expecting. I tossed in some almond milk and things began to look much better. That’s what I’m talking about baby. The results were good but not quite what I was looking for so I added some coconut butter. The coconut butter that I remembered from this winter was hard and you really had to chip it off, piece by piece. Summer coconut butter is a whole different story, smooth and runny (in a good way). I dumped in a little over 2 tablespoons and blended it up. The blended butter turned into little chips making it Banana-Berry Chip soft serve. SOOOOO good. I need to freeze more bananas asap.

Looks kind of pervy

But I promise it's not

Banana Berry Chips

Did anyone see Geneen Roth on Oprah yesterday? There was a great discussion about the relationship we have with ourselves and our relationship with food. Geneen has written some amazing books about emotional eating and really understands it because she has come out on the other side. I’ve read Breaking Free from Emotional Eating and plan to buy her latest, Women Food and God. It’s less about God in a religious sort of way and more about understanding that there something bigger in this world than our pain.

Oprah mentioned how someone once said that she must be stressed out and her response was, “I eat my stress.”  Instead of eating to avoid certain feelings, (be it loneliness, boredom, guilt or sadness) we must ask ourselves what we really need. Do we need an activity? Do we need to be heard or held? Do we need a nap?  A to-do list? Food does a great job of making the mind go numb. It’s an escape, it’s an avoidance tactic. After the cupcakes and candy bars run dry, we are still left with the same feelings we ran from earlier, except now it feels even worse.

Part of recovery is appreciating yourself in the now. Not waiting till we’re 5 or 15 pounds thinner. Not waiting till tomorrow because we already blew it today. We are worth our own love and should make a decision every day to try to be nice to ourselves and appreciate all that we are. Amen, bitches!

July 13, 2010 - Posted by | Food

4 Comments »

  1. food is so powerful. i think knowing why we eat it is important, but sometimes it’s important to let ourselves be comforted by food, to not fight that either. it can play different roles in our lives at different times, and recognizing those differences (whether or not it’s healthy for us, emotionally/spiritually) is what’s important.

    Comment by actorsdiet | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. I love this post.

    Comment by Brittany | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Good post! I usually eat when I am bored….I guess I need to find a hobby! haha!

    Comment by Kelly | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. AMEN!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | July 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

