Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

The Sights of Boston

After posting about my boring self yesterday, I went on a 16 mile bike ride around the city to get a better appreciation for where I live. There’s a wonderful bike/walking path along the Charles River that leads you from one end of the city to the other side. There’s so much to see along the way, making exercise easy (sometimes).  My friend and I rode the same path on Sunday but today felt a little different because I brought my camera and my iPod along. I stopped many times to take photos from the comfort of my bike seat labia crusher. Check out beautiful Boston.

ribbit

I saw a man doing push ups in a hand stand. No joke.

I came back feeling rejuvenated. Although I’ve lived here for almost 4 years (holy crap, that cannot be true) there’s much that I haven’t explored. Life ain’t so bad, is it?

It’s 4 in the am and I cannot sleep because I got some exciting news last night!  More on that soon. I’m watching the A&E series Obsessed that I DVR. OCD stands for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder and it’s a very serious anxiety disorder.  I LOVE shows about mental illness because that’s what I talk about and treat all day. Do you guys watch Obsessed or Intervention? I have some OCD symptoms too–checking the stove to make sure it’s off even when I haven’t used it, checking my bag seven million times to make sure I have my wallet, keys, cell and camera. My mother totally has OCD (thanks for passing it down mom) so I’ve picked up some of her habits. Watching this show makes me feel like I’m going to be more obsessive/compulsive and pick up more ideas. How OCD is that?

I’m totally hungry right now but what’s a girl to eat at the crack in the morning? I could go for some watermelon.

July 13, 2010 - Posted by | fun, Uncle Sam--Attune

10 Comments »

  1. Just the previews for Obsessed make me uncomfortable…it freaks me out!!

    Glad you had a good ride! We had a lot of fun in Boston when we were there last weekend!

    Comment by Anna | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Push up handstands!? The guy must be superman or something.

    I’ve never seen obsessed but it sounds interesting.. I would probably do the same thing and find more things to be obsessed about though. I’m happy to say that the OCD tendencies I have are slowly starting to get better – no longer checking a certain door multiple times a night to make sure it’s locked!

    Comment by highonhealthy | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. So pretty! I love Obsessed and Intervention, they suck me in all the time!

    Comment by Kelly | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve seen a woman doing handstand pushups once. She was hardcore!

    I want to go kayaking now…

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. we used to have to do push-ups in a handstand in volleyball to work our shoulders…YIKES!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. Boston looks so beautiful! I definitely want to visit at some point! And awesome for the 16 mile ride! Sweet!!

    Comment by Kelly | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  7. My family always makes fun of me because I am a little OCD too…sometimes I have to sing a song to remember that I did something “locked the door, turned off the iron…”

    Comment by Mari | July 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. I can’t even imagine how hard pushups in a hand stand would be?! I can’t even do a real push up!! EEKKKK

    I can’t watch those shows, I get totally hooked and it isn’t good. I think I could have some OCD 😉

    xxoo

    Comment by Kris | iheartwellness.com | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m an Obsessed watcher too, but what I love even better is Hoarders. Those people absolutely fascinate me- I think because I have a bit of mild OCD myself but in the complete oppostite way of the hoarders. My dad is a former LCSW and hates watching these shows because he finds the people depressing. I always thought that was weird and that given his previous profession he would be fascinated by the shows too, so I’m glad to hear that you as a social worker like watching 🙂

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | July 14, 2010 | Reply

    • thats so cool about your dad!! LOVE Hoarders. I think my mom used to be one. hehe

      Comment by lpskins | July 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

