Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Beer + Baked Goods = VERY happy blogger.

Well, I’ve officially lost ten pounds since starting my weekly weigh-ins on the blog last October. If I was at a Weight Watchers meeting this morning I surely would have gotten a 10 pound pin or something…. maybe a key chain?  Now I know 10 pounds in 9 months isn’t a lot, but the cool thing about it is that I lost the weight from exercise only. I wish I could say that I’ve stopped bingeing and that my eating habits have gotten significantly better but the truth is they haven’t. At all. I can say that I’ve never felt so invested in exercising and most days I don’t even dread it anymore. Since I started weighing in on my blog, I’ve run in three half marathons and a 10 mile race. These events definitely encouraged me to workout pretty regularly but for the most part I was only running (with some booties camps mixed in here and there.) Signing up for the sprint triathlon is what has really helped jump-start my exercise routine and some weight loss. For the first time in my life I am mixing up my daily workouts and it’s actually fun because there are three different options to choose from on a daily basis. If I wake up and dread the idea of a run, I’ll hop on the bike. If the thought of biking and running make me want to delay getting out of bed, I’ll simply swim some laps. I DO need to be more consistent with Body Pump since it’s my only source of strength training but I’ll work on that soon.

Earlier in the week I made it my goal to hit the 10 pound mark but I’m shocked that last night’s Len and Lindsay Brew and Food Festival didn’t do me in. We had tickets for the Sox game but chose to hit a local bar instead. I started out with a Cherry Wheat beer. So SO good. That was followed by  a Black & Blue (Guinness and Blue Moon). Typically I love my Black & Blues but after the sweetness of the Cherry Wheat it didn’t taste as desirable. Back to the Cherry Wheat I went.

It was pouring on our walk home so we sought shelter at a bakery. How convenient. Athens sells everything from cookies, and cakes to gelato and pudding. As usual, it took  me 76 minutes to decide and I’m pretty sure to worker wanted to shove an eclair up my ass and send me packing. I went with the Jamaica, a dark chocolate cake with chocolate mouse and cherry things. At the checkout there was a tray of free goodies and we were told to help ourselves. Oh F! This was like a binge made in heaven. Clearly I couldn’t pass up that little bastard tray even if I tried. I took one of each and we went on our merry way.

Some puffy thing stuffed with chocolate, raisons and nuts. A scone. A chocolate croissant. Right to my ass ladies.

My Jamaica and Len's poop log.

This is was three beers and a sweet tooth looks like:

chocolate teeth! Ellie wants some too.

Oh the gluttony.

Going to bed feeling like a bloated slug is never fun but I’d say it was worth it.

July 17, 2010 - Posted by | blog, Body Pump, Boot camp, dogs, Food, fun, goals, running, The Boyfriend, Weigh In, Workout

11 Comments »

  1. Congrats!!!! Ten pounds is great! You look beautiful in these pictures!

    Comment by Anna | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. ok, first of all, congratulations 🙂 hitting that mark is huge, and i know that you’re going to lose more if you want to! it always takes baby steps, but that’s how you change your life, not just your weight.

    second, i spit on my computer screen laughing at that slug. BAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Comment by Heather | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. 10 pounds is awesome! You are too cute for words in those pics! Happy Saturday!!!

    Comment by Kelly | July 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. Congrats on the 10 pounds loss! Maybe it wasn’t lost quickly but at least it was lost safely and that’s all that matters. 🙂

    I’m not quite sure what Len actually got but now that you’ve called it a poop log, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to try it or anything that resembles it.

    Comment by highonhealthy | July 17, 2010 | Reply

    • haha,it’s an eclair.

      Comment by lpskins | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love cherry wheat and congrats on the 10 lbs!

    Comment by Jacqui | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. […] I did a pretty bad job of eating well this weekend. Between the beers, late night desserts (somehow the scone and chocolate croissant made their way into our bed last night), and  mexican food (my attempt at fighting off the restaurants chips and salsa was a complete […]

    Pingback by workout guilt my new girl crush « Goodies Galore | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. 10 lbs. girl, proud of you !! and let me tell you I have always looked at you in your pictures and am ENVIOUS of your slender healthy body, I think you look amazing 🙂

    Comment by Brittany | July 18, 2010 | Reply

    • wow brit, now that’s a compliment I’ve never ever ever ever heard before. thank you.

      Comment by lpskins | July 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

