Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

workout guilt and my new girl crush

Everyday I  mark down my workout on the calendar. It allows me to see the micro and macro picture of my training. This morning I woke dreading my workout. This is 3/4 laziness and 1/4 heat factor. Today is a day when swimming, biking, running, body pump and strip dancing have absolutely no appeal. Well, strip dancing is up in the air. Anyway, looking back at my calendar, it tells me that this week I’ve done 2 long bike rides, two runs, and two days of swimming. I should be able to take today off without feeling workout guilt. Here’s the problem– I did a pretty bad job of eating well this weekend. Between the beers, late night desserts (somehow the scone and chocolate croissant made their way into our bed last night), and  mexican food (my attempt at fighting off the restaurants chips and salsa was a complete bust) I’m feeling less than stellar. The logical part of me knows that even a 3 mile walk will make me feel much better. Still, I’m not interested. I need to give myself permission to take the day off guilt free and I don’t know how to do this. Help a sister out. If Ellie could talk I would totally take tips from her since she seems to know the secret.

Confession–I have a new obsession and her name is Christina Perri. Besides the face that she’s absolutely adorable/hot, her voice is out of this world. If you haven’t heard her latest ballad, Jar of Hearts, get on it asap. Over the last three days I’ve listened to the song at least 200 times. She might have some competition on her hands. Just sayin’.  I also may have stalked her many youtube videos for an embarrassing amount of time yesterday. Have a listen and before you know it you’ll be  flailing your arms and legs around in an interpretive dance. Promise.

July 18, 2010 - Posted by | Body Pump, Food, running, Workout

8 Comments »

  1. I try to give myself “flex” days, kind of like a pass… Days where either I don’t want to work out, or days where I can eat out worry-free. I give myself 1-2 per week. Which seems like a lot, maybe?? 🙂 But it helps me feel better knowing that I’m “using a flex day”, but then tomorrow it’s over and back to normal.

    Comment by Lindsay @ Pinch of Yum | July 18, 2010 | Reply

    • great idea and that’s definitely not too many days! thanks Lindsay

      Comment by lpskins | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. hey!! i’ll be staying at my aunts’ houses in townsend and shirley. where are you?

    Comment by christina | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. and i’ll prob be going over to acton (my hometown) one day.

    Comment by christina | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. In the big picture, your eats aren’t going to affect you. They’re fueling those long bike rides, runs, etc…Take a day off. You’re not in a competition for who works out the most you know?

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Hi!
    Stopping in to see how you are. You work out so much more than most people, thats so great you mix it up with different activities. You deserve a day. Not sure how to not feel guilty about it…I suffer with the same thing. Maybe to a big stretching routine? Then its not like you havent done something benfiting your muscles?
    Love ya!!!

    Comment by Trina | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. omg that song!! i just downloaded it the other day. i love it. ok i googled brighton and it’s like an hour from where i am staying. if i go closer to the city i’ll let you know!

    Comment by christina | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. I know that feeling I have the workout guilt all the time! Sometimes I just need to get over because I know rest days are important too.

    Comment by Jacqui | July 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

