Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Slaving in the kitch for my bitch

Yesterday was a really special day because I got to spend the day with my oldest friend Lacey. We grew up as neighbors and stayed close throughout adulthood. The plan was to simply go out for lunch but things got a little more exciting when we stopped at Ocean State Job Lot and bought boogie boards.  Keep in mind that I haven’t gone into the ocean in over 6 years. No joke. The idea of water critters freak me out enough to stay away. When I was younger I would always wear water shoes. I’m also not a fan of bathing suits but that’s another post. I wasn’t prepared for swimming so Lacey graciously offered to lend me her swimsuit. Now, there are VERY few people in my life that I would share a swim suit with. That’s just way too crotch close for comfort but she swore it was clean.

The water was frigid but we boogied (boarded?) around for a while chit chatting and having a damn blast. Playing in the water makes me feel free and liberated in a way. That probably sounds really strange to most of you  but just go with it. I wanted to live in that moment forever but our skin was shriveled and our time was up. The day ended with a 25 minute photo shoot in the parking lot. Good times.

Sadly, I will only be working two hours per day this week leaving me lots of time to do everything but job search. Todays distraction included making all natural dog treats. I swear my dogs in better health than me.

My girl gets hooked up!

Doggie Ice Cream Click to find original recipe. I added the banana because I’m a bad ass. No big deal.

fat-free vanilla yogurt

peanut butter

banana

Place in food processor, pour in cupcake papers, then freeze.

The second recipe can be found here and it’s one that I’ve made many times before.

Rye flour

Oats

Banana

Frozen Pineapple in place of blueberries

Milk

Blend fruit and milk, mix dry goods in, mix, then bake.

Burn baby burn

July 19, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Friends, fun

10 Comments »

  1. hahah i love the boogie boarding pics! you girls are sassy. i’d totally take a pic like that too.

    Comment by christina | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. WOW…you are one dedicated dog mama!! I thought the all natural doggie treats were good enough!

    Comment by Kelly | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Thanks so much for the doggie recipes!! I need to make these for my puppies!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  4. That sounds like such a fun day, and I agree I wouldn’t borrow a bathing suit from just anyone.

    Comment by Kelly | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Love that you make your own dog treats!! I do too, wish more people would! Your dog is so much healthier for it too! If you get the chance there is a great little dog snack book called In the dog kitchen by Julie Van Rosendaal. It has great cookie recipes to try out!

    Nice to see you had a good time boggie boarding!

    Comment by Tasha | July 19, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks for the book rec!

      Comment by lpskins | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. You are a goddess. Anyone who loves their dog enough to make sure they get treated as well (if not better) then themselves.. well, I honestly find that so admirable.

    Comment by highonhealthy | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. PS. You’re title reminded me of that cooking show “Bitchen Kitchen” or whatever the hell it’s called. Horrible cooking show.

    Comment by highonhealthy | July 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. you are such good dog owner! Lucky pup!
    I love boogie boards!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m so glad you think enough of me and my vajeen to borrow my bathing suit! That was seriously so much fun. See you Wednesday! P.S. Love the pic!!

    Comment by Lacey | July 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

