Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

home a trigger?

Hey y’all. I am home in Ct for the weekend spending time with my mama and nana. Len is in Georgia so it was the perfect excuse for some girl time. I recently signed my mom up on Eharmony and we’ve spent much time browsing through her matches. So far we’ve seen lots of men who look like pedafiles with their tomato stained mustaches. Note to men– it’s very unlikely that you can pull of that bush that lies above your lip. Do us all a favor and facescape.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to weigh in this morning because I left Boston yesterday afternoon.It’s probably better that way because last night was not pretty. I know people can relate to the problem that being home is an eating trigger for me. My mother, who does not have emotional eating problems, has seven million packages of candy, cookies, chocolate, ice cream, crackers, etc. And well, let’s just say I dabbled in a litte bit  lot of everything last night. No matter my intentions, it’s always difficult for me to be home and not binge. Now that it’s out of my system, I am confident that the rest of the weekend will be much better.

It’s in the 90’s here and tomorrow will be awful too. I can’t believe how hot this summer has been. Last year we had lots and lots of rain so this is a welcomed treat to many New Englanders. As much as I hate the heat, I am enjoying my morning bike rides and will miss them when the weather turns cold.

Thanks for the triathlon advice–I’m taking everything into consideration. I still haven’t decided on what event to do but will have to do that soon. I recruited my friend, or maybe two, to partake in the tri with me so that should make things more comfortable.

Okay friends, I am off to go window shopping with the ladies.

July 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. i know what you mean about home being a trigger, but maybe try to keep in mind how you FEEL (physically) when you eat well. you probably have more energy and have a lot more fun! hang in there 🙂

    Comment by Heather | July 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have the same problem. Only think is my mom is only 15 mins away….

    Comment by Jacqui | July 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. At least the food is out of your system and you feel better! It happens, but don’t worry; tomorrow’s a new day, and you can start over 🙂
    I hope you can decide what to do, and I think it’d be really cool to do the tri with your friends! I wish I had enough strength to do one! 😀

    Comment by sagojyou | July 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. Home is/was/can be a trigger for me to, especially when I’m not doing good with my binging. If I’ve been having a particularly hard time than home = disaster zone. Do you like green smoothies? This is kind of random but for the past.. 4 days or so, I’ve been drinking a green smoothie with chlorella in it and I swear it seems like my urges to binge are dying. Maybe something to look into?

    Comment by highonhealthy | July 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. When I’m home there is always so much comfort food around… even if it’s healthy, I still can put a lot of it away. The only that works for me is to get out of the kitchen and suggest that we do things together as a family like go shopping, on a walk, etc. Sounds like you’re already on the right track by going window shopping! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | July 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. Ahhh, the deliciousness of home. Happens to me too girl. When I was home momma B loved to have all my favorite food around and cook. On top of that…. it was free food!

    I’ve just recovered from those 2 weeks at home. But I’ve been sweating my ass off in the desert. It’s also pool season here year round, which helps with the motivation

    Also, ain’t nothing wrong with the ‘stache. I fully intend to bring mustache march to New Mexico. So far I have at least 2 takers.

    Miss ya.

    Comment by JB! | July 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. About the triathlons…are you hoping to do it this fall? or next year? If you wait until next year, the Irongirl series (www.irongirl.com), are FANTASTIC first events…just women…and a VERY supportive atmosphere. I still do Irongirl Atlanta every year because I love it so much!

    And I agree with you about home being a trigger, but it’s more that home is a trigger for all kind of destructive habits for me…emotional eating being just one of them. For me, it has a lot to do with childhood trauma issues that are still sitting in the home. Perhaps why I never go home…

    Comment by pen (pen at peace) | July 29, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh my mother is the SAME. She has never denied herself anything her whole life – so therefore she can easily have a packet of cookies/chips/etc. sitting there opened for weeks before she finishes it. And of course she is naturally slim as anything. Damn you, mama.

    I’ve had a serious talk to her about it though, and now for the most part she either won’t buy the stuff if I’m around, or she’ll hide it. Bless you, mama!

    Comment by Alice | August 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

