Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I haven’t been around much this week on my blog but I assure you it’s been a slow week. A few exciting things.

1. I finally got my period. Ever since I turned into a psychopath and went off the pill in October, aunt flow comes around every 6 or 7 weeks. What’s that about anyway? Some people would love that schedule but not this one. See, I still expect my period every four weeks so around week three, PMS kicks in. Well, at least that’s what I tell myself. This means bloating, bitchiness, crying over everything, chocolate cravings–you know how it goes. Then those symptoms drag on. And on. And on. For weeks. How I have friends still I’ll never know.

2. After almost a year of not dieting, I joined Weight Watchers. You should know that in the past I’ve joined WW about 2, 672 times. This is not an exaggeration. So why would I set myself up to fail again? Well, I’m taking a different approach this time. In the past I would stop  counting if I had a binge. Not this time folks. I will plug every last bite of carrot cake, fajita, and candy that touches my lips. (That may or may not have been my dinner menu last night.)

I also wanted a way to monitor my calories and exercise. In the last few months, I’ve increased my workouts dramatically yet I haven’t lost any weight. Yeah, yeah, I’ve gained some muscle but still, I want weight loss. It’s no surprise why the weight’s not melting off, I overindulge everyday, several times. I need to get a grip and am hoping weight watchers will help me reign it in a little. If Jhud can do it……

With that said, I totally forgot about my Saturday morning weigh-in because I was too focused on my new WW weigh-in days. Sorry about that. Just assume there was a gain. Trust me. Speaking of packing on the pounds, is it me or does it appear that Miss. Eleanor is filling out too?

That's so not cool, mom.

Our weight gains may be contributed to all the dog treats I’ve been baking up. Yep, I eat them too. With butter.  Sure do.

3. I’ve been reading a wonderful and informative book called An Unquiet Mind. It’s about a Psychiatrist with a history of Manic Depressive Disorder, also known as Bipolar Disorder. It’s well written and so interesting. I would definitely recommend it to one of my clients or anyone who struggles with this mental illness.

Yes, that’s some kind of stain on the bottom corner. This is what happens when you’re a slob.

I blame mania for my impulsive decision to look into being a foster-mother on Saturday morning. It seems like a fairly easy application process and I think I’d be a wonderful foster mommy to one of the many kids who need love.  When I sent Len a text at 7:30 in the morning (he’s away again) saying, “We’re applying to be foster parents! Hope that’s okay”, he chalked it up to my everyday ridiculousness and responded with “dog fostering?”. Yes, babe, dog fostering.  Maybe next year. I’m coming for you kiddies!

Enjoy this beautiful Sunday!

August 8, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Food, Friends, The Boyfriend, Weigh In, Workout

13 Comments »

  1. wow, that’s a big step! good luck with the application process! and i think that if you really set your mind to it WW will work out. always cheering for you girl 🙂

    Comment by Heather | August 8, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks heather! i don’t think the foster mom thing will really happen–just one of my many ideas.

      Comment by lpskins | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Impulses happen for a reason. Maybe it would be an awesome experience for the two of you? Or maybe just dog fostering. Poor Len, you keep scaring him. Those dog treats look interesting, I bet my dog would love them!

    Comment by Astrid | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’ve always wanted to be a foster mom (to animals, NOT kids) but my family gets annoyed enough as it as when I bring home random strays.. don’t want to see what they would do when I start bringing home random shelter pets. Deep down I know they would love it.

    You eat your dog treats? Well they DO look like cookies.. I would probably eat them too.

    Comment by highonhealthy | August 8, 2010 | Reply

    • well technically they are cookies– I make them with rye flour, oatmeal, banana, milk and blueberries.

      Comment by lpskins | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. You are too funny with the fostering thing. I could never foster kids or pets because I would get too attached.

    Good luck on WW. I think you outlook on it is great! I always noticed that when I thought I did horrible if I tracked it all it wasn’t always as a bad as I thought, so it kept me motivated to keep going.

    Comment by Ashleigh | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. Those dog treats look yummy!! I’d totally eat ’em!! 😉

    I had a lot of success with WW in the past. The only problem for me is I have OCD tendencies and I would freak out if I didn’t know exactly how many points I was eating… just got really weird about all the numbers. So as long as you use it as a guide and don’t worry for hours (like I did) about whether or not the piece of bread you ate was 2 or 3 points… you’ll do just fine.

    Comment by homecookedem | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. An Unquiet Mind is one of my most favorite psych books. Glad you’re enjoying it. (one of my other favorites is about munchausen’s by proxy: Sickened, if you want a book to really get your protective maternal sided roaring for that poor girl)

    Comment by Lindsay | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. Good luck with WW. I know my friend uses it, not so much to lose weight, but to stay accountable. She seems to like it. I can’t (and would naturally rebel just to ruin the process like the deviant that I am), but if it works for you, use it!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. So manic depressive and bipolar are just different terms for the same thing? Or are they different? I’m curious because my grandma was manic depressive.

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | August 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. hahah your posts crack me up. i freaking got my period TWICE THIS MONTH! what?! why!?! not okay. i was like “HEY YOU GO AWAY” when i saw it. it hasn’t been enough time!!

    i could never dream about returning a book to barnes & noble like some people do bc im a huge slob. there’s always something saucy or crusty on my books. ick.

    Comment by christina | August 9, 2010 | Reply

  10. Everyone I know that’s done WW has had success with it. The hard part is not becoming obsessed. I think you’ll do great with it though because you have a pretty laid-back attitude about it and exercise a lot so you’ll be fine.

    Good luck with the app process! That would cool 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | August 9, 2010 | Reply

  11. Hey! I joined WW last week too, before HLS. 🙂 Also a repeat offender to that group once or twice… I’m excited for you!

    Comment by Annelies | August 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

