Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Cheers to so many things

My weekend in Chicago has been absolutely wonderful. Better than I could have imagined, in fact. For the past three days I’ve been surrounded my women (and a couple of men) who have contributed to this wonderful blogging community in many ways. As you can imagine, cameras were clicking left and right. I went easy on the pictures and pretty much left food photography alone, knowing that if you’re interested there’s a million other blogs to check out. For me, I was more interested in meeting the people and taking pictures with them.

My role at the Healthy Living Summit was sort of mixed– Friday and Sunday I was a representative of myself and goodiesgalore. Saturday, the day of the conference, I was a brand ambassador (dramatic title) of Attune Foods. Attune was one of the sponsors so I was able to stand behind our table and meet endless people, giving them something coveted chocolate bars. It always feels good to give people free food. God knows I smile for days when free food comes my way. And let me assure you, I’m leaving five pounds heavier because of it.  Side note– I cannot poop and am wondering why this is.  Can we say bloated betty? Chicago is the windy poop-free city

Now I don’t have a ton of pictures but I do have quite a few so for now we’ll start with Friday. I arrived to Chicago at the crack and had lots of time to spare. Luckily, there were other bloggers who were looking to roam around the city to explore and kill time.

Val (thanks for the macaroon), Nicole, ME, Freya and Shannon.

I’m sorry but I don’t have the patience to link everyone back. Both the pictures above are stolen from Angela because I I was too lazy to bust out my camera. Thanks ladies for making my afternoon so enjoyable.

My sister finally arrived around three so we goofed around and explored the city on our own.  I’m so happy to be experience this with Lisa and am grateful for our relationship.  We saw Macy Grey in Walgreens; not that I even care for her but it was still fun. Try to say goodbye and I choke…la la la la. She looked wild and crazy with her puffy hair and green makeup. I became a little obsessed with what she was buying but quickly got the stink eye from her body-guard. Finally she settled on some vitamin waters and I could go my own way.

Although touring the city was nice, my top priority was getting hooked up with all the Healthy Living Summit goodies. Swag time Bitches!

God Bless America (said in Obamas accent--AmeRica)!Sister was lovin life.

Don't be jealous of my hot body.

Some of the goods included Luna bar, Glo bar, Vega protein powder, roasted edamame, nut mixes, mix my granola, attune bar, rice cakes, pop chips, barney butter and chapstick. Let’s just say we were pleasantly pleased. Thanks HLS!

Before long it was COCKTAIL PARTY time. Hells yeah. I’m thankful for this night because it opened my eyes to the fact that I look like a poodle with my hair down. Thanks for telling me. The party was awesome because I finally got the chance to meet the faces behind some of the blogs I’ve been reading for a while. Wahhooooooooooo.

Lisa and Poodle

Hi Astrid!!

Kristie!!!!!

What's up AMY!!

It was around now that things took a turn for the oily. Despite that, it was sooo freaking cool to meet Astrid, Kristie and Amy. We’ve been commenting on one another’s blogs for a long time now and there’s something really incredible about seeing them face to face.

Wild crowd

The party began to wind down around 9, which is perfect for my 80-year-old self. We grabbed a cab and headed back to the hotel for something magical– room service. Room service on my sister, nonetheless. Scrambled eggs, toast and fruit please!

It's the little things people.

Back later with more Healthy Living Summit recap.

August 15, 2010 - Posted by | Attune bar, Family, Food, Friends, fun, Healthy Living Summit

9 Comments »

  1. So jealous!!! It looks like you had an awesome time! I hope we get to meet one day!

    Comment by Anna | August 15, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve been wishing you were here!!

      Comment by lpskins | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m soooo glad I got to meet you! And I love your pic of us- I’m totally stealing it. I have one of you and it’s blurry and you’re looking away… boo!

    I hope you and your sister had a great time! 🙂

    Oh and those Attune bars kind of rock my world. Just sayin’.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 15, 2010 | Reply

    • isn’t it cute? steal away.

      Comment by lpskins | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. what a fun time! i so wish i could have gone to meet you 🙂

    Comment by Heather | August 15, 2010 | Reply

    • me too heather! I’ll have to come to Colorado.

      Comment by lpskins | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am so jealous!!! Glad to see u had such a wonderful time!! Wish I could have been there to meet u!!

    Comment by Jill@mysocalledhealthlife | August 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] Cheers to so many things « Goodies Galore Goodies Galore was birthed from my obsession with reading the many food/wellness blogs out there. For a while, I documented all my eats and daily woes that inevitably came along with dieting. Though I love food just as much as the next . […]

    Pingback by Fruit And Goodies | August 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. Chicago and HLS was so fun! Glad we had the chance to meet at the last minute 🙂

    Comment by Becky | August 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

