Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Wrap me in cellophane and store me on a shelf.

I have chemicals oozing from my skin. The amount of processed food eaten today is quite embarrassing and I’m beginning to question if this is my diet everyday. Since I stopped taking photos of my food, I’ve basically stopped paying attention. How could that be you ask? It’s called selective remembering.

Breakfast– Uncle Sam with yogurt and berries. Soy milk latte.

Lunch- Hummus/broccoli, Luna Protein Bar, Bag Salt & Vinegar Almonds

Snack- Attune Bar

Dinner- Salad with cheese and light honey mustard, soy nuggets, little pasta with sauce.

Dessert- Ice cream sandwich

I need a diet makeover in a bad way.  Help make my menu better. On the average day I do get more vegetables in my diet but today was a bust in that aspect. I’ve touched on this before but clearly I’m still confused– what  makes food clean? When people cut out processed food, does that mean bread, cheese, pasta and salt and vinegar almonds? What isn’t processed besides fruit and vegetables.

I realize this must be Food 101 but girlfriend needs some assistance. I won’t get offended by feedback so lay it on me.

Too bad all these chemicals couldn’t preserve our organs like they do twinkies. Bummer.

August 16, 2010 - Posted by | Food

7 Comments »

  1. When I try to eat “clean”, I guess really I’m just eating “cleanER”. When I look at bread and stuff like that, I make sure that it’s a short(er) ingredient list of mostly things I can recognize. That’s my attempt at it anyways…

    And there’s always room for more broccoli, right? lol

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. Aw linds you are NOT alone. First off don’t beat yourself up about it. Which I guess is easier said then done. I admire you for the fact that you even step outside to workout in the east coast heat this summer!
    Keeping eating healthy and under control is soooo much easier when you live with someone that is just as consious about it. I mean, come on then we can blame it on them hehehe
    and if Len is a healthy eater then the only other suggestion I have is have u ever done an intense cleanse? I do one once a year and for a good couple months after it I’m disgusted by all things processed…
    Sorry so long 🙂
    xoxo

    Comment by Trina | August 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. The protein bar, salt & vinegar almonds (as freaking good as those sound!), the soy nuggets and ice cream sandwich would all be things I wouldn’t put in the “clean” category necessarily. Like Amy I tend to think that shorter ingredient lists are better in foods, but acknowledge that if it isn’t something fresh that I put together (like a salad w/ homemade dressing or roasted veggies with brown rice) that it is still processed.

    It’d be pretty tough to cut out all processed foods I would think, but usually I try to mentally note if I have a meal that has a lot of them because I do tend to feel crappier after eating like that. Here’s a good article on it (I think they even say people know they should cut down on processed foods but are confused about what exactly that means) – http://www.cbn.com/cbnnews/healthscience/2010/June/How-to-Avoid-Processed-Foods-in-a-Healthy-Diet-/.

    Comment by cookeatburn | August 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. focus more on adding fresh leafy greens and less on reducing – your body and cravings will reset themselves, and you’ll be able to enjoy the “less clean” foods still in moderation.

    Comment by actorsdiet | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. Take it easy on yourself. I am no expert on clean eating, but I try to read ingredient lists and select foods that don’t have artificial sweeteners, dyes, etc. For example, I’d eat a Larabar over a Balance bar or I’ll eat air-popped popcorn over microwave bags. I don’t think my diet will ever be super clean, though. Remember the fries and diet cokes? There’s room for a little of everything.

    Comment by Becky | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m playing catch up here and am commenting a little late but clean eating doesn’t mean giving up what you love. It means looking at the ingredients that are in your foods and avoiding anything such as trans fats, hydrogenated oils and eliminating ingredients that you cannot pronounce. You can eat processed foods that have clean ingredients though such as Amy’s products, etc. A great referrel if you are wanting some idea’s is the Clean Eating books by Tosca Reno. My favorite is the Recharged book as it has great recipes but tons of information as well.

    Good luck 🙂

    Comment by Tasha | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. hey love!
    a few ideas i have to add to the mix: a lot of the things that seem “healthy” actually aren’t because they’re made with substitutes for real fat. i almost never eat “low-fat” dressings or cheeses or ice creams, etc. i end up eating a lot of fatty things, but i believe they’re much healthier in the long run. dress a salad with a blend of oil, vinegar, and spices – or make your own mayo or yogurt-based concoction! i also make my own “luna” bars by food-processing nuts, nut butters, grains, seeds, and fruits or chocolate or coconut, etc. they are amazing! it’s super easy to make your own bean spreads, too (hummus or otherwise). this sounds like a lot of work, and it can be time-consuming, but if you set aside a day for it, it can lead to clean-liness and savings, too! one more thing: i’ve mostly gotten away from veggie meat substitutes by frying my own spiced tofu blends or making my own veggie burgers with beans and grains – the packaged stuff doesn’t even taste very good to me now. oh yeah, and also, i do not consider bread a really processed food! just buy delicious fresh loaves and feel good about eating it!
    this is so so long – i hope i’m not sounding condescending, either – that’s totally not my feeling here – i just love talking (writing) about this stuff. we should riff on it one of these days in person 🙂 which brings me to the question: when is our next date?!? haha, i’ll email you…
    ❤ mikaela

    Comment by Anonymous | August 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

