Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

bulls and bones

I started working as an (very part-time) outpatient therapist one month ago and today I faced my first “no-show”. This means they didn’t call, email, text, snail mail, letter in a bottle, nothin’. This also means I don’t get paid. Total bummer. As any fee-for-service outpatient therapist knows, no-shows are just part of the deal and it’s not helpful to take it personally. Still, I can’t help but do that. Do I suck as a therapist? Was I boring? Does my technique suck? (Not that I even have a technique at this point.) As new therapists, we joke about when our clients will finally realize that we actually have no clue what we’re doing. I wonder if “old timer” therapists feel the same way. In my pity, I sat in an empty office and shoved my face with roasted wasabi edamame. I felt better instantly. P.S. After all the wonderful tips last night on clean eating, I ate 2 packages of oreo cakesters today. Pretty sure I’m going blind from diabetes.

As a self-proclaimed therapist hopper, I’ve been on the other side of the couch many of times. I’ve had 5 different therapist, four of which have been over the last four years. I tend not to stick around very long but the upside is that I’ve seen many different techniques being used. No therapist is the same and that’s both scary and cool.

This picture doesn't do it justice

Seeing as I work for a community mental health agency, I share office space and get no say in how it’s decorated. The office I use is decorated with a spanish bull fighting theme. Definitely not what I was going for. I wonder if my clients walk in and have the sudden urge to run around thrusting a red cape. One day, I shall have my own bullfighting free office where people will feel warm and welcomed. One day.

In other news, Eleanor found, ate, and choked on two different chicken bones in our backyard yesterday. For some damn reason our neighbors have BBQ’s and think it’s okay to chuck the nasty bones over the fence into our bushes. She choked really bad in the morning, to a point where we were both terrified. Later that afternoon she discovered the 2nd one, which I pulled out of her throat, then marched to the neighbor’s house and handed them the evidence.  It’s amazing how easy it is to advocate for the ones you love. Neighbors if you’re reading this, watch your backs. There’s only one chicken bone permitted in this house and it’s plastic.

give me that chicken bone

You are mine bone!

I will guard you with my life bone.

August 17, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, therapy

19 Comments »

  1. oh ellie, i love you so!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Grrrrr, I HATE that. I used to share a duplex with a guy who would throw out nasty ass chicken bones and trash just INTO the yard– WTF?! So glad Ellie’s okay!

    Comment by Anna | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. I really love random office art. Seriously. Who sells that crap? Or even more importantly- who was the one to buy it? “Ya know, I really like that bull picture you’ve got there… it’ll contrast nicely with the seashell bathroom.” (you know half the offices in the world have a seashell decor)

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I love those edamame, too! Therapists do all have different techniques, and they probably differ with the different patients. I am sure you are great. It was awesome meeting you, by the way! I had no idea you were going to be there, so it was a very pleasant surprise.

    Comment by Astrid | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m in love with your dog! I want her.

    Comment by Becky | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. Poor El! Your neighbors sound like assholes.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | August 18, 2010 | Reply

    • You always say it like it is Melissa.

      Comment by lpskins | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. Sorry about your neighbor’s that is awful they do that.

    Comment by Jacqui | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  8. Linds, you have a way with words, love it, you make me smile! And I’m sorry to hear about your neighbors doing that, well maybe since you let them know they will stop! Eleanor is cute!

    Comment by Lori | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hey Mamcita – its been awhile since I have written. You know I am a huge fan of my girl El’s! I am so glad you went over there a bitched them out you should have shoved the chicken bone up their, um, I am going to keep this nice.
    I am glad she is okay. You are way to hard on yourself. Don’t worry you got into this field b/c you want to help people and you will, it takes time mama!!!!!

    Comment by Yvone | August 18, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks my dear.

      Comment by lpskins | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. LP! To go with the theme of this post my view on the no shows can be summed up with the phrase “ain’t no thang but a chicken wing.” You’re an excellent young therapist who is gonna do a lotta good for her clients. I know this for a fact; seen it in action. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by JB! | August 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh JB, I can’t believe you’re still reading this. I miss seeing you at 3 times a week!!

      Comment by lpskins | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. Glad to hear Eleanor is okay. That’s scary watching your dog choking. I met the coolest lady on the Phoenix leg of my trip back to Cali. She’s a nurse and college prof. writing her doctoral dissertation on mental health in high schools. It’s amazing that the system is so broken- she told me that apparently this is now part of what teachers and schools have to look for in students… It’s a fascinating topic & I think she’s got a great approach. Can’t wait to hear how things are going with the job search- I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    Comment by Annelies | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  12. ohmygosh, it was so nice to meet you..thanks for all of the attune. we figured out that they’re low enough in sugar that my diabetic mom can have them, I’m obsessed!

    I’ve never had the courage to go to a therapist, I admire that you’ve gone and are now on the other side of the chair! I’m sure you have a great technique without knowing it, you’ve lived both sides.

    Comment by Andrea@CeleryInTheCity | August 18, 2010 | Reply

    • really? that’s so cool about your mom being able to eat the bars. i’m having a hard time stopping at one…

      Comment by lpskins | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  13. oh my gosh i hope your dog is ok!!!!!!! what dummies throw chicken bones out in the open?

    ps i crackedddd up at your red cape comment

    Comment by tropicaleats | August 18, 2010 | Reply

  14. Your neighbours are dipshits.. okay.. maybe that’s a bit harsh but is it really so hard to just throw the chicken bones in their own trash? Or something?

    I’m not going to lie, I would be a bit intimidated by that office too. It’s so.. unwelcoming. The decorator needs to be fired asap.

    Comment by highonhealthy | August 19, 2010 | Reply

  15. That’s what I look like when I eat wings.

    Comment by Shell | August 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

