Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Shoulder dog?

This morning I am blogging from Vermont. We decided to take an impromptu trip yesterday since we didn’t really have any plans. Last night we made a pit stop in New Hampshire to watch his step dad race. If you’ve never been to a race car track, it’s quite the scene. Picture obese men, women and kids, pregnant women smoking, and lots of excitement. It’s no wonder people are obese there, the food is AMAZING. I had a big thing of french fries.

They drive so quick I could barely capture it

crashhhhh

I cannot imagine driving in a situation like this but then I remember what a maniac I am on the road. This might be my calling.

I love visiting Lens family because they have a lab names Sadie and Eleanor plays really well with her. (Note–Eleanor is very dominant and doesn’t have many friends.)

I'm the boss

tug it out

Embarrassingly enough, Eleanor is also the boss of us. She rules the bed and she rules the car. See pictures for proof.

See, Eleanor loves taking rides. Most often she resides on my lap in the passenger seat. I’m not a small woman and she weights 50 pounds so it’s an understatement to say it’s pretty tight up there. When things get too tight, Ellie decides to reside on my shoulder. My dog’s a parrot.  Sometimes she stands on my chest with her butt hole in my face. It’s lovely and very, very safe. What do you let your dog get away with?

Let’s move on, shall we?

A couple of days ago, Attune sent me to Glastonbury, Ct to work an event at Whole Foods. Let me tell ya, that Whole Foods has it hooked up! They had all sorts of goodies that Boston Whole Foods don’t have, including…….wait for it….. make your own granola. Yep, true story.

They have bins of different granola for a base and a bunch of different add ins: chocolate, nuts, seeds, dried fruits, etc.

I didn’t DARE buy any because that would be a binge in the making.  Speaking of binge, my weigh in this weekend was rather disappointing but not unexpected considering the way I’ve been eating. I MUST start to limit sugar and white flour in my diet. They are addicting and I am a full-blown addict. Moderation is not a word I know.  So the challenge for this week is to be mindful of the white stuff. Wish me luck!

Hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.

August 22, 2010 - Posted by | Attune bar, dogs, eating disorder, Food, The Boyfriend, Weigh In

12 Comments »

  1. Haha, that picture of Eleanor is hilarious! 😉 Our dog Cooper is much bigger than her, but he does the same thing, haha! 😉 We let our dogs get away with a lot too. They’re our babies!!

    Comment by homecookedem | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Haha, ohhh I’ve been to a racetrack before…yes it’s a classy crowd. Probably the only place mullets are still in style. My cats HATE the car, and always freak out when they have to get in them. They always poop in their carriers and it smells he whole trip. Sweet. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am with you on the white stuff challenge… How are we gonna do this? As I eat 25 munchkins from Dunkin this am…

    Comment by Anonymous | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am with you on this white stuff challenge… But just like smoking or drinking, its an addiction! How are we going to work through this? As i indulge in 20 munchkins from Dunkin this am…

    Comment by Marina | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. ok- Eleanor is too funny!! my Mika & Willow are the same way- must be on daddy when in the car- needless to say I freak when hubby takes them out alone & he is driving!!
    Think road trip from PA to Fla in a VW Beetle with both of them on his lap most of the trip- too funny!! Traded up at lease end last month to a Jetta for that reason!!

    Comment by Debra | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. First, buy ellie a seatbelt!
    Second, at HL they have make your own trailmix bins that i must steer clear of.
    Third…come to burlington!

    Comment by Anonymous | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m with you on the white sugar, I need to cut back too. I was lucky to find sweet potato fries at TMS when we went for the races, of course they were deep fried but not as bad as the deep deep fried chicken fingers, I saw. lol

    Comment by Nicci | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. My one dog is very dominant. He doesn’t play well at all with my other dog. He will not share toys with him at all! That’s something we need to work on. Eleanor is too cute!!

    Comment by Stephanie | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. Eleanor – hilarious! Lucy definitely rules this roost. She thinks it’s lame when we make her sit in the passenger seat. She much prefers the driver’s lap. Safe! She also prefers my pillow.

    We have a Whole Foods in RI with a granola bar – “granola bar” haha – anyway, I’ve yet to make my own, but it’s always tempting.

    Comment by Becky | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. make your own granola at whole foods?!?!?! Man… the WF next to me sucks! I have to go to the next town over for a decent one and they get make your own granola. What a rip!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 22, 2010 | Reply

  11. I love El’s personality. So cute.

    I’m so glad I’m not a granola person. I know that must’ve been tough for you to resist!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | August 23, 2010 | Reply

  12. Aha.. Eleanor. She’s definitely a spoiled princess!

    Brandi tries to be dominant towards us sometimes.. but it’s always a huge fail. She doesn’t look like the dominant type at ALL so one look from us and she goes back to being a little panzy.

    Comment by highonhealthy | August 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

