Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Hi

Morning lovelies! It’s Sunday morning and I’m in a great mood. I’m FORCING myself to hit up a body pump class in a little bit because I really need to start doing something other than cardio. My arms need some help in a bad way. HELP ME DREAD THIS LESS!! No really, what motivates you to strength train?

Our ten-mile run was really successful. We ran a different route which involved hills. If you live in Boston you know that hills are rare. Because I was so stuffed from the night before, I was only able to get down three luna moons prior to the run. At mile 7 I ate my very last chocolate mint GU. I hope this flavor is not just seasonal anymore because it’s SOOOO amazing. Think fudge. I also  carried a Gatorade with me during the run which was my absolute life saver. Typically I refuse to drink calories. I can eat 15 cupcakes but don’t dare hand me a coke. Makes no sense. Yesterday I would have married that fruit punch bottle of heaven.

Post run I had a healthy breakfast of quinoa, corn, beans, avocado and salad. Strange maybe but delish nonetheless.

The highlight of my afternoon eats involved Uncle Sam cereal, Banilla Stoneyfield yogurt and peanut butter. The star of the show was DEFINITELY the yogurt. Holy hell. And the peanut butter mixed in? I should win some kind of award.

I always feel torn about eating flavored yogurt because the cal count is high and there is added sugar. What I’ve found is that regardless, yogurt is not a binge food for me. This is good news and I shall keep it around. At least it’s not artificial sugar, right?

Len and I went to a party last night for our friends Heather and Randy who are getting hitched today. Actually, Len IS marrying them! Crazy, right? He’s been friends with Randy since high school and Heather since college so they are all very close. Apparently it’s a pretty easy process to get licensed for a day. I would be crapping in my pants if I had that job but Len is really food at public speaking so he’ll be fine. Below is the beautiful bride Heather with our friend and her new sister in law, Melissa. Randy and Heather got engaged in December and planned a wedding in eight months. Wow. I always imagine a long engagement for me.

Melissa, baby katie and Heather

Len was a hurtin’ unit because he celebrated hard the night before. Think  no dinner, liquor, late night chinese and toilet bowl. Poor bastard. Off to the gym!

August 29, 2010 - Posted by | Body Pump, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend, Uncle Sam--Attune

14 Comments »

  1. Luna Moons? Why have I never heard of those before? I don’t even know what a Luna Moon is but I want one (or three) badly.

    That’s really cool that Len is going to be marrying your friends. I know that I would never want to have that responsibility! He’ll do great though.

    Comment by highonhealthy | August 29, 2010 | Reply

    • they are like giant gummies. So good.

      Comment by lpskins | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. I have yet to try Gatorade while running. I think it may be time to add it to the fueling routine.

    I hate strength training, too. I force myself to do at least 30 minutes 2x/week. It’s usually a pretty lame attempt, but classes make me too sore! Maybe after the marathon I’ll get better…ha!

    Comment by Becky | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. Somehow H have missed this Banilla flavor – oh my goodness! Sometimes I feel like no matter how much I know I need to do strength training, I still have to just suck it up and go to the gym. It’d help if I had someone to go with, I think!

    Comment by cookeatburn | August 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Did you know that “H” means “I”? Yeah, it’s true ;).

      Comment by cookeatburn | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  4. Poor Len! 😦

    And yeah- I really don’t like strength training. I prefer cardio because of the feeling I have afterwards- like I had my ass handed to me on a plate as I fall in a heap of exhaustion when I get home… Body Pump sounds like something I’d recommend, though- or maybe some sort of class where cardio is part of it. I find that helps. 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  5. yikes! poor len…that’s happened to me once, and i definitely vowed to never again let that happen!

    Comment by Heather | August 29, 2010 | Reply

  6. Just remember…. “Curls for the gurls”….. ok so maybe you and I have different motivations… maybe…..

    Hmmmm, what about getting in shape because you’re surrounded by neck tattooed ex-convicts who aren’t exactly legal citizens…… wait that might not apply in Boston either….

    I tried.

    Hope all is well Perrone.

    -JB

    Comment by JB | August 31, 2010 | Reply

  7. You looked gorgeous at the wedding. I’d kill to have your body- I don’t know why you are so hard on yourself! I hear ya with the liquid calorie thing. I will eat the whole pint of ice cream but shudder to take a sip of non-diet coke, sports drink, even alcohol- it seems like such a waste! I’d rather eat 🙂

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • believe me sister, you wouldn’t kill to have this body– stretch marks and cellulite are no fun… but thanks for saying it!! (Seriously.)

      Love the ice cream comment. I’m the same..

      Comment by lpskins | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  8. you wrote “food” when you meant “good.” if that isn’t a freudian slip, i don’t know what is! 🙂
    love,
    your sister in putting waay too much importance on food

    Comment by Anonymous | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  9. p.s. i can’t believe how much you rock with the 10 mile runs, sister. amazing job, lady!!!

    Comment by Anonymous | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • oh please, you just ran the boston marathon.

      Comment by lpskins | September 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. Oooh you can never go wrong with PB for breakfast..or peanut butter at anytime for that matter 🙂

    Comment by CaSaundra | September 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

