Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Morning adventures of a self proclaimed bad driver

Oh my gosh, I almost got my ass kicked by a newspaper at 5 this morning. I was driving to meet my friend for a run and the newspaper truck pulled over, waving his hand frantically for me to pass. So I did. I made a right turn onto my friend road and was driving rather slow to find a parking space. I couldn’t find one so I went to do a quick u-turn without my blinker (it was 5 am??!!) and as I was turning, the newspaper truck was in the process of passing me. I didn’t even know he was still behind me so we both slammed on our brakes. He kind of jolted to the side and all the sudden all his newspapers  tumbled out the front door onto the street. I gasped frantically. Normally I would stop and help him gather the goods but my gut told me to get the hell outta dodge. Two minutes later I get a text saying, “Was that you” from  my friend who had been standing outside when all of this went down. Apparently he was screaming on the top of his lungs (at 5 am?!!) “F*** As**hole, F*** you, F-ing Sh**” over and over again. When I eventually looped back around I could still see his truck parked. My heart was beating so fast but luckily he pulled away without trying to stab me to death. Phew, close call.

Despite my morning mishap, I woke up feeling refreshed and ready to make some changes to make this season the best Fall ever. I love Autumn and really want to feel my absolute best to make it even better. As many of you know, I am at constant battle with food. Most of the time, food wins. I have a great relationship with exercise and am happy to be helping my body in that way. Now that the working out part  is covered, I need some healing with food. You see, I do have a plan in my head about how this might happen but details are for later. Just trust that change is in the air and it starts now.

I have a confession. I killed something.

I gave it light and water but apparently it’s more needy than that. Sorry plant. You were delicious while you lasted.

September 2, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder

13 Comments »

  1. Oh my gosh– crazy man!!! Definitely good that you hit the road, ha. I feel like this could be the beginning of a Lifetime movie where he becomes obsessed with finding you…not to freak you out or anything 🙂

    Comment by Anna | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. Bummer about the plant. But it was still better than buying the herbs at the store, right?

    And I’m an awful driver, too. Don’t tell anyone… lol

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m glad you weren’t hurt!

    I have to admit the image of the newspapers flying out of the truck made me laugh!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. My newspaper truck almost killed me yesterday morning, guy drives like a maniac!

    Comment by Kelly | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. I am glad you are ok- that would have left me shaken up!

    I killed my basil plant too!! SO SAD! I gave it plenty of light and watered it and it still died on me! I think I am going to get a new one because it was fun while it lasted.

    Comment by Ashleigh | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. Oh yikes! Happy you are ok!

    Comment by kilax | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. Omg, glad nobody was hurt. I would have bolted too, I’d be o embarrassed bc of the newspapers everywhere.

    Comment by Nicci@NiftyEats | September 2, 2010 | Reply

  8. I’m so glad you didn’t get stabbed to death! That sounds so scary. 😦 And don’t worry, I’m a horrible driver too. I’ve rear-ended someone, backed into my brother’s car, backed into a stump, backed into blackberry bushes, and scratched the paint off a stranger’s car while backing out of a parking stall. All that in under a year..

    Comment by highonhealthy | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • yep, you’re pretty bad at driving too.

      Comment by lpskins | September 3, 2010 | Reply

  9. Scary morning story – sucks that the guy had to pick up all those newspapers though. At least it wasn’t raining/wet out?

    Was that a basil plant?

    Comment by cookeatburn | September 2, 2010 | Reply

    • it sure was. lol.

      Comment by lpskins | September 3, 2010 | Reply

  10. i have such a black thumb. plants beware!

    Comment by actorsdiet | September 3, 2010 | Reply

  11. Lin – so happy that you didn’t get seriously hurt or him either. If you weren’t so shook up I’m sure you would have helped him with the papers and I’m sure kinder words would have come from his mouth. Just be thankful you’re both ok.

    Comment by mom | September 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

