Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Delayed weekend adventures

I know the week is over and I’ve yet to do a recap of my weekend but I still want to. I have a habit of skipping town on the weekends and traveling to other New England States. Not this past weekend my friends, I stayed put in Mass and am so glad I did.

Friday night was a chill, stay at home night. Love those. We rented Cop Out and ate dessert. Nothing new there.

Saturday morning my friends and I banged out 11 miles. I gotta say, things got tough from mile 8 on. I didn’t eat anything before the run which I knew was a bad idea but I was so bloated from the night before. During the run I drank Gatorade (love) and snacked on some raisins at mile 7. Saturday afternoon Len, Eleanor and I took a trip to Pet Edge, a pet warehouse, that sells pet products on the cheap. Eleanor got a new toy, new treats, poop bags, and pill pockets. Then we took her to the river to swim and play. We made fun of the fact that our idea of a “fun” weekend means spoiling the dog. Lame.

Saturday night my friend and I had intentions of paddle boarding but the lady in charge didn’t think it was a good idea because of all the wind. Next best option– kayak for two please. We paddled along the Charles River at Sunset and enjoyed the peace and quiet. (I also got an arm workout.)

lots of room to stretch

I was psyched to come home to some veggie Sushi: grilled vegetable roll with brown rice and Idaho roll (fried sweet potato). So. Damn. Good.

Thanks Fins (and Len)

Sunday was the day I was most looking forward to because our friends took us sailing. I’m not a big water/boat person but nothing like a good sail on a Fall-like day. I say “nothing like a good sail” like I’ve actually been more than twice. I haven’t. Still, it was just as I had imagined, relaxing. I love being able to wear a hoodie and cannot wait until Autumn is here. On the boat I snacked on chips/salsa, cheese/crackers and grapes. Everyone else enjoyed some drinks but I stuck to water. I’m really not a big drinker (but I do hope to replace my nightly dessert with a nightly glass of wine).

get to work biotch!

the hosts Jack and Amy

I was the only one who didn't lift a finger. Suckas!

The wind was “honkin” as our friends say, which simply means blowing, so we sailed up to a beach in Marblehead and hung out there for a while. Check out this awesome tree…. taken right before my camera died. Bummer dudes.

Monday brought more joy into the hearts of Eleanor and I. After a four mile run, I met up with my friend Hannah, her adorable baby and her french bulldog Duke. We’ve been trying to get together for a puppy play date for a while now but I was hesitant since Eleanor has been so naughty with other dogs. Luckily Hannah is chill and didn’t mind using Duke to test out the waters. We met at Jamaica Pond which is a wonderful place for activity of all kinds–walking, running, swimming (for dogs only) and maybe even fishing (though I imagine they would be some grubby fish).

I

Look, there's a baby hippopotamus in the pond!

Two little Gremlins swimming in a pond...

Luckily Duke and Ellie got along just fine although she did try to kick a puppy golden retrievers ass. Not her finest moment but we survived.

All in all, great weekend. Not great on the waste line but that’s for another day.

September 8, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun, running, The Boyfriend

20 Comments »

  1. i want to go! come pick me up and take me with you next time 🙂

    Comment by Heather | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. ” Baby Hippo” – too funny 🙂

    Comment by Debra | September 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. I don’t know if this is weird or not but I liked that tree picture so much that I made it my background. Just thought I would let you know because I’m feeling like a bit of a creepster at the moment.

    I’m extremely jealous that you had a delicious sweet potato roll. This weekend I tried TWICE to have a sweet potato roll for the first time and both times the were SO bad. They actually made me feel sick to my stomach and scared of sweet potatoes. That is saying a lot because I adore sweet potatoes more than I adore breathing.

    Comment by highonhealthy | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • I love that you love the tree pic! Don’t give up hope with the SP rolls.

      Comment by lpskins | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  4. Seriously an awesome weekend… kayaking + sailing? I need to make friends with people who live on the water :-P.

    Comment by cookeatburn | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • right??? connections baby.

      Comment by lpskins | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  5. Sushi and sailing?! I need your exact weekend.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  6. Love reading this. I miss Boston in the summers, too! (we’re always out of town). 2011 Resolution might be to spend more than 50% of my summer weekends in and around town.

    Comment by Meg | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • maybe one of these days we’ll actually hang out!!

      Comment by lpskins | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  7. Sailing sounds so much fun–looks like you had a fun/relaxing weekend! 🙂 p.s. Love the HLS tshirt!

    Comment by CaSaundra | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks! gotta represent.

      Comment by lpskins | September 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oooh! I have been dying to kayak this summer. I had a coupon for it, but they closed early on the night that I went to go! They were super nice though because my coupon actually expired that week and they let me use it through the summer- can’t wait!

    Awesome picture of the tree! It kind of reminds me of something from a movie.

    Comment by Ashleigh | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • coupon?? Sweet!

      Comment by lpskins | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  9. Seems like a perfect weekend! The weather really was to. die. for.

    I’m in love with your dog. She’s just too funny. I get super excited about doing things with my dog on the weekend. It’s a big treat when we go places together. LOL…I’m lame like that.

    Comment by Becky | September 9, 2010 | Reply

    • not lame at all!

      Comment by lpskins | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  10. Wow! It looks like you had a good weekend!! Awesome! 🙂
    I have to ask, are Idaho rolls good? I’ve never heard of them in Washington; so I’m just curious 🙂
    And I wanted to tell you that I gave you an award, so if you don’t mind, please come check it out/pick it up! Thank you!! 🙂

    Comment by Sagojyou | September 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my gosh they are SO good!!! You must try. As for the award, I’m checking it out right now. Thanks for thinking of me!!

      Comment by lpskins | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  11. I love water skiing with my boyfriend and his dad-read, I sit there and let who ever is drving the boat to go faster or slower. I don’t actually ski or even help do anything really. It is just fun to ride around with them. The fresh air is so refreshing when you sit at a desk all day long!

    There is nothing wrong with being lazy on some one else’s boat. 🙂

    Comment by Justine | September 10, 2010 | Reply

  12. Lins – Looks like you had a fabulous time, my granddoggie too! Haha

    Comment by mom | September 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

