Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I LOVE YOU FALLLLLL

Dude– please tell me you are loving life as much as me today. This weather has me all giddy and my heart feels full and happy knowing it’s covered up with a long sleeve shirt. Honestly, life is good.

My weekend has been the perfect combo of relaxing and fun. Friday night Lennster and I had date night. He took me to Legal Seafood for dinner and then we saw Inception. I walked into Legals with the intention of getting the veggie box but all I really wanted was fries (and ketchup. Mostly ketchup.) I’ve been putting effort into listening to my hunger cues and eating whatever I want when I am actually hungry, so a side of fries it was. I ordered the veggie box as well, which I highly recommend. It’s made with brown rice, stir fried veggies, cashews, tofu and peanut sauce. They suggest it with scallops or shrimp but I don’t eat either so I passed. I wasn’t physically hungry after my fries so I took my meal to go. It ended up serving as my breakfast both Saturday and Sunday morning. Nothin’ wrong with that folks.

Have you seen Inception? Man on man, did my head hurt after leaving that 2.5 hour movie. It was definitely good but be prepared to pay attention and use your brains. I found myself straining my mind to understand what the hell was going on. It did keep my attention for most of the movie so that says a lot.

Saturday morning I woke at 5:15 to prepare for a 12 mile run. (My friends are training for a half marathon and I’m just going along for the ride.) Waking up at least an hour early before run time is important for me so I can drink my coffee, go to the bathroom and eat. The morning was perfectly crisp and the run went smoothly. During the run I fueled with Gatorade and shot blocks. The best part about running such a long distance is basking in the glory of accomplishment all day. No matter how many times I run 12 miles, I will always feel proud.

Yesterday I spend the day with my friend and old roommate Lindsay. We shopped around and caught up. Hanging out with girlfriends is super good for my soul. I need more of it. Today I went for a swim (forgot my goggles which I don’t recommend) and now we’re just chillin’, watching the Pats, cooking (recipes tomorrow but you should know they involve beets, squash and lots of beans) and dinner tonight with my girlfriend. Hope everyone is wonderful!

P.S. Thanks Mama for sending me this shirt!! So thoughtful of you and I love it. xoxo

September 12, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, fun, Intuitive eating, Movies, Recipes, running

10 Comments »

  1. girl you look great! and 12 miles is certainly something to be proud of…i’ve never gone that far!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | September 12, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks heather!

      Comment by lpskins | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. sounds like such a great weekend! I agree with you, that going for a long run equals a day feeling completely accomplished! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sounds like fun. Inception is a great flick!

    I swam this morning for about 45-50 minutes. I’m still trying to figure out how to breathe. I need swim lessons.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 12, 2010 | Reply

    • that is one solid swim dude!

      Comment by lpskins | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  4. Twelve miles is pretty incredible,
    I can MAYBE do 2 miles at one time, if I try really hard. 😉

    Inception: AMAZING.
    I love movies that make you think 🙂

    Comment by Sava | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  5. YES!! Feel so proud of those 12 miles!! That is AWESOME!!!!! 🙂 SO glad you are so happy!! That makes me happy!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  6. Ok.. you don’t know me-but I’m a big fan of your sister’s. =) ((I’m a radio/TV chic too.))

    Um. I have to tell you how much I LOVE LOVE LOVE your shirt!! I’ve only been to Boston once-but my husband LOVES the city. SO MUCH SO….

    We named our 2 year old son.. BOSTON! =) Yep. I gotta get there for that cute shirt. Does your mom know if it comes in a 3T? hahaha
    Love your blog.

    Joey
    http://www.JoeyFortman.com

    Comment by Joey Fortman | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  7. Lovin the fall weather! My head hurt after leaving Inception too, so intense, but so good!

    Comment by Kelly | September 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. Great run! Along for the ride? Why don’t you run the race with ’em?

    The weather really is the stuff of dreams. Nothing feels better than a comfy pair of jeans and a long sleeve tee. I love it!

    Comment by Becky | September 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

