Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

The Great Debate

Well hello out there in the blog world! I’ve been cooking and baking up a storm; half of my creations turned out pretty damn good, the others, well…. not so much. All we can do is try right?

Okay lets start with the big question of the day. Is is worth it? A while back I was a member of Boston Organics,  a Boston company that delivers organic and (mostly) local fruits and vegetables right to your door. I loved the service but had to cancel due to budget restraints. Within the last month though, I found myself really bored with the vegetables in stores and had a difficult time getting them into my diet. (Fruits are a whole different story as I’ve realized I’m not a fruit person at all. This needs to change, like yesterday. ) Anyways, what I love about Boston Organics is that they put in such an assortment of produce that sometimes I can’t even recognize what they heck I’m eating–things I would never buy at the grocery store such as kale, turnips, leeks, some weirdo looking radish, beets, etc. Having these new veggies makes it fun to get creative and try new things. So after a thinking about it for a few days, I rejoined. Now keep in mind that my budget has not gotten any bigger or better. As a matter of fact, it has decreased.

Each delivery costs 29 dollars and this is what was delivered to my door.

Quite curious

Ummmmm, where are my treats?

Check out the goods

In the bin were 4 carrots, 1 green pepper, 3 tomatoes, 1 bunch of beets, 3 corns, 2 kinds of lettuce (red leaf and something else), 1 bunch leeks, pint of edamame, and 2 zucchini. Is this worth 29 dollars every other week when I’m on a really tight budget? I debate yes and no.

Yes-– I’m filling my body with organic and local foods while supporting the farmers, I’m eating more veggies and a bigger assortment, I’m getting more creative in the kitchen, service  is delivered to my door.

No- I’m unemployed. Is this really the time to be buying delivered organic produce? The veggies don’t last me that long and I have to supplement with other veggies from the grocery store. Did I mention I’m broke?

It’s a close call. How do you prioritize food in your budget?

September 14, 2010 - Posted by | Boston Organics, Food

21 Comments »

  1. I tend to pick up everything from TJ’s or the grocery store. And basically go for whatever’s on sale (or super sale because I’m cheap- hence the reason I ate spinach like a mad woman for two weeks not that long ago).

    Don’t sweat the whole not being a fruit kind of person- I’m still not bothered by it one bit! 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  2. That’s tough. As much as I love the idea behind CSA’s, I really like being able to only buy the produce I need (and the produce I KNOW I’ll eat within the next week or two). I feel like some day, I might like to participate in a CSA, but the time just isn’t right right now– it sounds like you may be in that same boat?

    Comment by Anna | September 14, 2010 | Reply

    • totally cause let’s face it– those leeks won’t be touched and one head of lettuce is already wilting…

      Comment by lpskins | September 14, 2010 | Reply

      • Potato Leek soup!!! Do it :-D.

        Comment by cookeatburn | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  3. i try to get the healthiest food i can for the least amount of money. that usually means shopping sales and a lot of times going without organic, but i figure at least i’m filling my body with veggies instead of chips, you know?

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  4. I say if you can’t afford it, don’t do it. Yeah, I know you can’t put a price on your health and all that, but paying your bills is more important than having organic veggies delivered to your door. Just keepin’ it real. You can buy what you need for the week at the grocery store until you can afford Boston Organics again. Suze Orman would say the same thing 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  5. That is tough, as much as I would love to participate in something like this I don’t think I can afford it really either. Plus then I would feel so bad throwing stuff out if I didn’t get a chance to use it.

    Comment by Kelly | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  6. We are on SUCH a budget! But for us we prioritize, and eating healthy is number one. We do trader joes alot, mostly for the kiddy stuff and I like their quick frozen veggies. I like those drop off veggie companies but it is costly. Maybe you could buy veggies for a friend and vice versa each w that persons budget?? That would make it diverse. We spend the extra time and make our own marina sauce and I freeze it in small containers. Also make my moms whole wheat pizza dough and freeze it in little servings. We try to always have short grain brown rice in the cooker, Sota eats it every morning with his Japanese breakfast. Those things help w making it so I don’t steam or cook a ton if my veggies for dinner. I use only a little those days. Do you have community gardens? Or a friend who has a patio that would b interested in making a planter?

    Comment by Trina | September 14, 2010 | Reply

    • good ideas tri!! love the friend swap. My resourceful mommy.

      Comment by lpskins | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. Hi there. Totally off topic but I know how much you love Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter. I was just there Sunday and it is not out yet! Do you know when they have it in stock by any chance? I wonder if they sell organic stuff like that in my area?? How would I even find out? I would love to get fruits and veggies maybe once a month. Do you have to do it every other week or can you do it once a month? That might be better for your budget???

    Comment by Anonymous | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi there. Totally off topic but I know how much you love Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter. I was just there Sunday and it is not out yet! Do you know when they have it in stock by any chance? I wonder if they sell organic stuff like that in my area?? How would I even find out? I would love to get fruits and veggies maybe once a month. Do you have to do it every other week or can you do it once a month? That might be better for your budget???

    Comment by Christina | September 14, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey! I went to TJ’s in search of the pumpkin butter yesterday and they said in a couple weeks!! Bastards. As for organic delivery in your area– I would just google services and see what comes up. I can get it delivered once a mth but that seems kinda pointless…… right? or maybe it would be a treat? Thanks for your thoughts.

      Comment by lpskins | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  9. Linds- I found a way to eat leeks, I had this dish at a party – and was so yummy!

    http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/potatoes-and-leeks-au-gratin-recipe.htm

    Comment by Debra | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  10. I’m a fruit and vegetable whore, but lately I have been trying to supliment some of the volume with brown rice. It nutritious, cheap and filling and that way I don’t have to make/buy bread and I can get by with buying a few less vegetables. I also cut down on the green monsters. I used to love them, but I kind of got tired of them (gasp!) and all of that spinach was expensive!

    I wish it weren’t so expensive to have local and organic vegetables delivered, but it is. I don’t use that service, but I hope to eventually. 🙂

    Comment by Justine | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  11. I’m not sure.. I would LOVE to participate in something like that but when I move out and I’m on my own I know that there is no way in hell I would be able to afford it. Something like that will have to wait until I either a) I get a real job, b) Find a man to mooch off of, or c) Both a and b.

    Comment by highonhealthy | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  12. I agree that is a hard one. I feel like it is easier to just buy what I will need then I don’t feel like I waste as much..

    Comment by Jacqui | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  13. I’m not sure about everyone else, but growing up we didn’t have organic food in the house. We ate what my mother could buy at the store and that was it…I mean I’m not an unhealthy person for it so I think if you can’t afford it now then you shouldn’t do it. As a mother of 2 kids my main focus is feeding them well, but same with making sure they have a roof over their head, clothes and medical needs, which all add up into a budget.

    You can try when you can, if you have the extra cash, but if you can’t continue buying organic foods then I say don’t bother until you can.

    Comment by lori | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  14. It sounds like a great way to get organic produce, but it is a pricey endeavor. Maybe you could try to buy one new thing each week and base a recipe off of that instead of the Boston Organics delivery. I know it’s more work, not nearly as exciting, but it’s a thought!

    Comment by Becky | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  15. Hello there! I am a student on a very tight budget. BUT food is one of my highest priorities, not just because I’m a foodie and I love food, but because my theory is this: we get out of our bodies what we put in. I try to put in lots of high quality fruits and vegetables (local when possible), grains, meats, beans, tofu, some dairy, etc. I feel better and have more energy when I eat better, and I also know that the planet is better of because of it (less pesticides, pollution, etc.) There are times when I don’t think organic is necessary and times when it is just too expensive. But for the most part, I am willing to shell out more for fresh, organic produce. With that said, other areas of my budget are smaller. I pretty much have bought myself almost no new clothes since high school. I don’t go to bars or clubs. It’s a balance, I guess — good luck! 🙂

    Comment by caronae | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  16. Sometimes spending the money in one area causes you to cut back in another. what I mean is- will having lots of fresh new veggies in the house cause you to experiment more with cooking and therefore save money on going out to eat? If so, it may be worth it. Also I find that when I splurge on pricey healthy stuff it causes me to think twice about making that splurge a waste by spending additional money on junkey foods. For me what works is just to set an overall budget (mine is $75 per week but I live alone) and then I make decisions based on whether something fits into the budget. I tally up the food bills as the week goes along, and if by the end of the week the number is getting too high, I’ll start just using up what I already have.

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | September 14, 2010 | Reply

  17. tough… balance is key. perhaps splurging for organic on a couple types of produce that are simply much healthier to buy organic and then getting regular for those varieties that are pretty much shown to be fine (the so called dirty dozen, or whatnot might be a good guideline). but if you can make it work and it makes you happy, go for it!

    Comment by Courtney (Pancakes & Postcards) | September 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

