Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I’m fraking no joke in the kitchen

I think that might be stretching it but we did have some bonding moments over the weekend. Here are the goods.

Crock Pot Veggie Chili

2 cans beans (I used one chick kidney and one chick pea)

2 cans tomatoes (1 diced and 1 whole–using all of the juice)

1 bag soy crumbles

Corn of 1 cob

1 bell pepper

2 carrots

1 zucchini

1 jalapeno

3 garlic cloves

pinch salt and pepper

dash of cumin and cayenne

shit loads of chili pepper

Throw all of it in crock pot (mine was overflowing) and cook on high for 4 hours (at least)

Serve with broken up tortillas and greek yogurt or shredded cheese and crusty bread.

My take on the recipe– Although it definitely needed more spice to it, I loved it and ate it for a least lunch and/or dinner until it was gone

Others take– well, I served it to two people besides myself and one barely touched it and the other ate it with some resistance.

Not sure what’s up with that. I’m sticking by it and recommend it with additional spices.

the beets are those weird-looking things

Next up- Beets with Dijon mustard sauce.

(note– this is NOT my recipe but I can’t find where I found it.)

1 bunch of beets

4 tablespoons dijon mustard

4 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons goat cheese

Bake beets for an hour and then let cool. After they cool, peel skins off.

Mix mustard with vinegar and whisk together making a smooth sauce.

Slice beets and add to a hot skillet. After they get warm, add dijon sauce and let it reduce till it completely coats the beets. Right before taking off the stove, add cheese into pan and stir around.

Serve as side dish.

My take- LOVED this dish but there was definitely too much sauce. I would suggest using more than one little bunch of beets or less mustard.

Len’s take- He’s not a beet guy so I was shocked when he actually cleaned his plate. He thought the mustard was overwhelming though.

Next up: Sweet Butternut squash

Let’s face it, you can’t go wrong with squash of any kind. Well, that is unless you find yourself being squash bombed.

1 butternut squash

1 tbsp salted butter

1 tbsp maple syrup

Slice squash and take out seeds. Place on baking sheet.

melt butter then pour syrup into butter. whisk till smooth. pour mixture onto squash and toss so everything is coated.

place in oven at 350 till it looks done. mine took about 50 minutes.

serve with more maple syrup.

My take: LOVED!

His take: No complaints here

BAKED GOODS TO FOLLOW

September 15, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Recipes, The Boyfriend

8 Comments »

  1. Mmmmm….butternut squash + maple syrup is SUCH a yummy combo!

    Comment by Anna | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. i am making that chili immediately. that is all.

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Lindsay, that squash looks so good! My mom used to make acorn squash kind of like that when I was a kid. I have a present for you – check out my blog when you get a chance!

    Comment by Katie | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • really? checking it out now. thanks girly!

      Comment by lpskins | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. I wanted to get a crockpot but then thought I wouldn’t need it since I gave up meat but maybe I will try veggie chili!

    do you have any other crockpot veggie recipes?

    Comment by Mari | September 15, 2010 | Reply

    • my crock pot recipe knowledge is pretty limited but my sis makes a mean vegg (noodleless) lasagna in her crock pot. If you’re interested I can get that recipe for ya!

      Comment by lpskins | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  5. can’t wait to fire up my crockpot again soon!

    Comment by actorsdiet | September 15, 2010 | Reply

  6. Ooo it all looks super good–the sweet butternut squash would probably be my favorite though!

    Comment by CaSaundra | September 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

