Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Screeching Halt

Len and I were able to get a nice hike in on Thursday before the rain started. It was only 1.5 miles up the mountain but the view from the top was still beautiful. All I could think about on the way down was my Italian Pie leftover from the night before. I couldn’t wait to dig right in to that sucker.

Well, we never ended up mountain biking because our trip ended several days early. I got a call on Wednesday asking if I could make it to an interview on Friday. Obviously, there was no way I’d pass up an interview. Immediately I was filled with excitement and panic–I don’t have an outfit! Are we going to get stuck in traffic on the way home? We have no ink to print resumes! I haven’t thought through any interview questions! WHAT AM I GOING TO WEAR! Luckily Len tends to be a little more rational and helped me though all my concerns. We settled on the plan of leaving NH by 6 am Friday morning since I insisted that 3 hours wasn’t enough time to come up with proper interview attire. (Keep in mind that I bought an interviewing dress the week before at Target just in case. And thank god I did. Looks like retail therapy is good for many things.) We arrived home to Boston with plenty of time to get myself sorted and everything went smoothly.

Let’s cut to the chase here. GIRLFRIEND HAS A JOB! Can I get an amen? I cannot tell you how happy, relieved and thrilled I am. I’m truly blessed to have been offered this position; it falls in line with my past experience but will be new and challenging. I start late October so now my priorities are to start studying for my licensing exam that I take in less than 2 weeks. It’s important that I pass for my new job so plan to see lots of pics from my cubby hole in the library.  I don’t mind the library so long as I’m equipped with lots of snacks.

I ran 9 miles this morning and my appetite cannot be tamed. So far today I’ve had:

Breakfast 1- pre-run slice of toast with pb and jelly and coffee. Gatorade on the run.

Breakfast 2- 2 eggs with tomato, spinach, leeks (I still don’t understand leeks and think I ate the wrong part), and lots of feta. Slice toast with hummus and tomato paste. Another coffee.

Lunch- bunch of cheese and crackers, minestrone soup topped with greek yogurt

I’m thinking a pumpkin bar is in my future!

September 18, 2010 - Posted by | running, The Boyfriend

10 Comments »

  1. Yay!!!!! Congrats!! That’s awesome news, for reals 🙂

    Comment by Anna | September 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey lady. How do you train to run so far? I do not even think I can run a mile however I need to start training for a 5K I am planning on running. I would LOVE being able to run 3-5 miles a few days a week and here you are doing 9!! Also my main reason for my comment is in regards to the pumpkin bar. Where would I get such a yummy bar?!

    P.S. Trader Joe’s better hurry up on that pumpkin butter! I cannot wait!

    P.P.S. I will be in Boston for the first time ever visiting my sister at Emerson. SUPER Excited! What is a must do while I am there?

    Comment by Christina | September 18, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m emailing you now.

      Comment by lpskins | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yay! Congrats on the job. And trying to use leeks – I don’t understand them either, and have never even tried to use them!

    Comment by Katie | September 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. Btw,CONGRATULATIONS on your new job! That is so exciting!

    Comment by Christina | September 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. congratulations! that’s so awesome…i’m sure it’s a massive weight off of your shoulders 🙂

    Comment by Heather | September 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. So happy for you!!! Good luck with studying!

    Comment by Jacqui | September 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. Congratulations! That is great news!!!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. Way to go! Can’t wait to hear more about it. It sucks that you had to end your trip early, but definitely worth it!

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | September 19, 2010 | Reply

  9. Woo hoo you hard working woman! Did you eat the white part of the leeks? You’re supposed to leave most of the top green alone.

    Comment by cookeatburn | September 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

