Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

This post is not for weak stomachs

You guys, we have a very real and serious problem here. My obsession with pastries over the last decade (understatement) has turned into a obesession with cheese. My new name is Cabot sharp cheddar. Seriously, call me SharpChed for short. I ate an entire block this weekend. An entire block in two days. Along with the cheddar, I’ve also been eating lots of feta. Rumor has it that cheese binds you but I am here to deface that myth– in very, very large quantities you will still poop. It may not resemble the healthy S shape poop we all long for (Right, Jillian?) and it may leave skids on your bowl, but nevertheless it still counts.

I’ve eaten cheese a variety of ways this weekend– on toast, in eggs, on crackers, straight from the cutting board, mixed with hummus and tomato paste like a little dip, and my favorite yet– layered on apple slices.

I mean come on, is this worth clogged arteries and a dirty toilet or what?

What’s a new craving you’ve been having?

September 20, 2010 - Posted by | Food

12 Comments »

  1. Yesssss…I love the apple + cheese combo.

    Comment by Anna | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Cheese.. never been a huge fan of it. My obsession was and will always be chocolate. I’m more of a fanatic for sweet than I am for savory.

    Comment by highonhealthy | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • so was i……. not sure what’s happening here.

      Comment by lpskins | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. ahahahahaha….

    I feel like I know you so well now. :p

    I’ve been going through a cheese kick, too. I used to just eliminate it because often I’d be like “eh, I can’t taste it much anyways”. So that just led to me buying stronger-flavored cheese that I’ve found ways to add to everything. Yep… Feta and white aged cheddar are my favorites.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • yeah, cheese gets lost in sandwiches but straight up is a different story.

      Comment by lpskins | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. Hahahaha love this. I used to hate cheese, I can’t even believe that half the time.

    Comment by Kelly | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. wow, this sounds fantastic! i’ve lately been craving every manner of chili and cornbread i can think of. it’s actually getting a little ridiculous 😉

    Comment by Heather | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. I eat an apple and cheese every morning after I workout. I had to switch to string cheese though because I’d eat half a brick in one sitting. I too have no problems going after eating cheese.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • string cheese is so booooooring though… but it’s safe.

      Comment by lpskins | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. OMG I can’t tell you how much I can relate… I’ve almost got a whole block of sharp cheddar eaten. Here is what I have read – cheese has a chemical called casein in it… in milk it helps baby cows bond to their mommas. This stuff is condensed or something in cheese which makes it addicting!!

    I wish they would ban cheese because I cannot seem to stay away from it. Damn it!

    All I need in life (besides my kids and Chihuahua) is to live in France, consume red wine, fruit, cheese, and fresh bread. Really it is ALL I need! Okay if I am honest a really hot french guy would be in that picture as well! 🙂

    Comment by Kimberley | September 20, 2010 | Reply

    • well then i’m the next baby cow bc that stuff has got me hooked!

      Comment by lpskins | September 20, 2010 | Reply

  8. cheese & apples is a fun combo! lately i’ve been craving jalapenos on everything! so weird.

    Comment by christina | September 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

