Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

enjoying my time

Hi friends! I’ve been pretty boring this week so there’s not much to share. I’ve basically been spending my vacation/unemployment at various coffee shops studying for my LCSW exam. How cool is this place? I was reading and drinking all while staring outside of an open window at the streets of Boston. Tough life.

I also had a wonderful meal with a friend in Salem, Mass. We ate our salad bar meals while sitting on a deck on the water. I know, I know- stressful.

Yes that’s right. Two plates. What kind of restaurant gives out dinky ass plates when one’s whole meal is the salad bar. Get with the program here people.

Eleanor has also been having a good week visiting various dog parks and swimming in the Charles River. I busted her sleeping while half standing on the couch. My little rat. So quirky.

I went to a fancy fundraising event last night in support of Community Servings, a Boston agency that provides meals to those in need. It was held at a new spa on Newbury Street and let me tell you– all the women were in their tightest, shortest dresses and their highest heals. I, on the other hand, didn’t know about that dress code and just looked like my normal self with some eye shadow. Good enough. The best part about spending the evening with skinny hot chicks is that no one touched the cheese platters which meant more for me. And touch the cheese platter I did.

I cannot explain how incredible the blue cheese was. Heaven. I had about four pieces of bread with loads and loads cheese, dried fruit and some veggies. Mostly cheese though.

The free drinks were flowing and oh so beautiful. I don’t exactly know what they were but I do know that there was an edible hibiscus flower at the bottom of the glass. What a nice touch!

The spa was to die for though it’s definitely pricey. 30 bucks for a manicure? No thanks. We left with a goodie bag that contained…. wait for it….. two cookies!! It’s the small things, folks.

Thanks for coming with me Meg!

Did anyone watch Greys last night????? LOVE.

September 24, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun

10 Comments »

  1. You look so pretty in that pic!

    Looks like you are enjoying your time off! It must be nice to not have worry about finding a job anymore. Good luck on the exam!

    Comment by Ashleigh | September 24, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks ash.

      Comment by lpskins | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. I would’ve demolished that cheese plate. Cheese is my weakness.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  3. sigh. i need a mani/pedi, but have no cash. no fun!

    Comment by Heather | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  4. Well clearly you were just looking lovely as always. 🙂

    And the cheese platter would have killed me- I’ve noticed my tastes going towards cheese/salt instead of the usual chocolate kick. Weird.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  5. you are so pretty and I’m sorry but the picture of your dog is so funny i showed my 5 and 4 year old they loved it!!

    Comment by Kelli | September 24, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks Kell! my friend always takes my pictures of Ellie of FB and uses them as screen savers.

      Comment by lpskins | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  6. You’re so lucky you live in Boston–there is so many fun restaurant choices there..we are pretty limited in northern MN..boo!

    Comment by CaSaundra | September 24, 2010 | Reply

    • you and your mom can come visit any day!!

      Comment by lpskins | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  7. Skinny bitches missed out! What fun it was sipping champagne and stuffing my face with ya, Linds. Spanks!

    Comment by Meg | October 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

