Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Disappearing act.

Something magical happened last night….. I picked up two cans of my beautiful pumpkin butter. It’s a total bummer that one tablespoon has 40 calories in it thought. Still, I will eat it up with pride. I had 5 jars in my basket but then thought that might be a little excessive. I could visualize myself eating spoonfuls in front of the television with a diaper on so I never had to get up. Two at a time is just fine for now. Typically I use it in my oatmeal, on peanut butter sandwiches, in smoothies and… actually I think that’s all. I’m sure it can be paired nicely in other meals. Maybe a brie and apple butter sandwich is in my near future.

A year ago I went off the pill for good because I was convinced it turned me into a raging bitch. I’m not sure if that was actually the pills fault or just who I am but that’s neither here nor there. Since that time I’ve been getting my period every 7 to 8 weeks, which is disconcerting because I want it more regularly than that. Plus after 4 weeks I expect PMS and then mentally convince myself I’m PMS-ing only for weeks to pass. No man should have to put up with a month-long pms spurt. Unfortunately I don’t have health insurance at this time so I can’t go to the doctors but I’m curious as to what’s going on. Has anyone experienced consistently late periods like this? I cannot imagine that my body is still adjusting since I was only on the pill for a couple of years. And P.S. my baby fever is here for the long run I think.

Anyways, I’ve got paperwork to fill out and a house to clean so I must be off! Happy last day of September. Ahh, don’t go by too fast Fall. I LOVE YOU!!!!!!

September 30, 2010 - Posted by | Food

14 Comments »

  1. i haven’t…you know, as soon as i went off the pill my periods just stayed regular. maybe you should go to the doctor? just in case? that would make me annoyed too!

    Comment by Heather | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. I went off in October and have maybe had it 3 or 4 times since then. I went to the doctor and they checked my hormone levels but everything was normal so I am confused too.

    Comment by Becka | September 30, 2010 | Reply

    • really??? so strange.

      Comment by lpskins | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. My period was out of whack for a little bit but it corrected itself maybe you should go to the OBGYN? Just so when you are ready to have a baby everything is “regular” and makes it easier.

    Comment by Kelli | September 30, 2010 | Reply

    • def. hitting up the obgyn when i get health insurance.

      Comment by lpskins | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m actually about to go to the doctor about that issue as well- I think some of it has to do with training, but I should be getting more regular periods that last for more than, oh, half a day… ugh. It’s getting out of hand.

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | September 30, 2010 | Reply

    • ugh, sounds like spotting?

      Comment by lpskins | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  5. I feel you on this one…I went 5 months without one, apparently it can take your body a while to come back to normal. Hopefully mine is back to normal now…

    Comment by Jacqui | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  6. I always had late periods because of PCOS and was put on BC to regulate it….

    Comment by Mari | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  7. My period is whacked out too and I rarely get it. Maybe once every few months and then it’s for about 2 days and BAM, gone. Last year I went almost the whole year without it and it just confuses the hell out of the doctors so I just deal with it and no longer bother going to them about it.

    Comment by highonhealthy | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  8. I never had that problem, but I hear it’s common. Good luck 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  9. I don’t think I’ve ever tried pumpkin butter..I will have to get some!

    Comment by CaSaundra | October 1, 2010 | Reply

  10. Linds- found a pumpkin butter that’s better than Trader Joe’s ! and only 20cals per tbsp- “Medford Farms Pumpkin Butter Spread”!! I found it at McCaffrey’s near me {ask Lisa to get ya some- LOL} and have also seen it at Whole Foods. 17oz jar for about $5 or $6

    Comment by Debra | October 5, 2010 | Reply

    • omg!!!!! lisa better hook it up. thanks for the tips deb!

      Comment by lpskins | October 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

