Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

banter about eating/weight

God love me a rest day. It feels so good to wake up with no intention of strapping on my sneaks. I am definitely one of those people who feels guilty when I don’t work out but having two races in one weekend is sure to alleviate those feelings.

For any new readers, I have a blog weigh-in every Saturday morning. There are some weekends when I don’t weight in because I’m scared to see what it says–like last weekend after nights of eating and drinking. However, I’ve been mostly loyal to them. I must say that I’ve been working out a lot and feeling really strong (not buff strong since I don’t strength train but stronger overall) but I’m not seeing movement in the scale. “Well Lindsay, you’re gaining muscle.” Well we can justify it however we want but the truth is, I’m not changing my eating habits. I binge. It seems that my body plateaus at 145 with consistent workouts only. This doesn’t work for me because I know I’m not feeding my body what it needs. As much as I’d like to believe that Boston Cream Pie (totally overrated) and donuts were proper nourishment, they aren’t.

My new habit of really late night-time eating isn’t helping either. Put it this way, Len and I eat dessert (or a snack of some sort) from under the covers in our bed right before going to sleep. Is this necessary? Last night it was a piece of bread with PB&J. Really Linds? Get a grip.

The problem is, I do not want to diet. That mentality is what has provoked the bingeing in the first place. Somehow I need to get my eating controlled without restriction so I can be my healthiest self. At the end of the day I want to eat intuitively but the process is long and I give up on myself quickly. How do you eat like a “normal” person?

Well friends, I’m off for a day of apple picking. Three cheers to Fall (and apple pie)!

 

I hear a gun shot outside my window last night and had to call the cops and answer questions when they came. No big deal.

October 9, 2010 - Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Food, running, Workout

15 Comments »

  1. I don’t know what “normal eating” is. If I figure it out, I’ll let you know. My only advice is to try to replace your snack with something healthy like Greek yogurt or frozen yogurt. That way you’re still getting something sweet 🙂

    Have fun apple picking!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. Night time eating is my biggest problem right now. It is out of control. The weird thing is that I pretty much only do it during the week so it’s probably stress related. I am going to challenge myself to no eating after dinner next week. I don’t need dessert or a snack.. I usually eat dinner late enough that I’m not hungry before bed. Anyway, you should join me!

    Comment by Ashleigh | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  3. I think once you start working fulltime (cause your not right??) maybe the time you go to bed will be different?? Correct me if I’m wrong. 🙂 but just having already prepared foods for the week really really helps. Prebag (with reusable sandwich bags!) your snacks throughout the day. Preplan your week, or 3 days ahead of dinner. This will help you to stick with what you need at the grocery store. If it’s too hard to not buy snacks at the store just only bring a certain amount of money. Budget the week with what you spend at the grocery store. You might wanna keep yourself when you realize you don’t have anything meal worthy cause you choose a snack instead.
    I’m just throwing out ideas!

    Comment by Trina | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  4. yikes, that’s scary about the gunshot! i don’t know if i would fall back asleep with that going on…

    this is way harder than it sounds but i never really got out of the diet/binging mentality until i allowed myself to stop thinking about it. and i’ll be 100% honest here: it caused me to gain a little bit (think 5 lbs) of weight at first. but i’ve since lost that again and all of my clothes are fitting looser…because i stopped obsessing. and that includes obsessing about eating intuitively too. at the end of the day you have to do what’s right for you 🙂

    Comment by Heather | October 9, 2010 | Reply

    • congrats to you heather! that’s a huge deal.

      Comment by lpskins | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m still figuring out what the hell normal eating is and while I KNOW.. I’m not there yet. I think that one of the things that makes normal eating so difficult is we fight it because we don’t want to give up old habits.

    Instead of looking at it as a diet, why don’t you look at it as a lifestyle change? Maybe cut out one thing and when you feel happy and comfortable about cutting that out, move on to something else. For example, you could say, cut out pop and when you get comfortable with not drinking it anymore and you don’t WANT to drink it anymore, move on to something else. Say, white sugar or something.

    Comment by Ayla | October 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey girlfriend. that’s the thing– i don’t want to cut things out because to me that’s a diet or a restriction. Clearly I can’t control myself with them.

      Comment by lpskins | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  6. Eleanor rocks my socks! Magee is sleeping with her tongue all the way out right now on the couch.

    Night time eating is the hardest for me. I am obsessed with the big fudge frozen Weight Watcher bars they are amazing! So good! The problem is instead of eating 1 I eat like 3 (or 5). It’s not good.

    How tall are you? I am 5’9 and you look pretty tall. I think you look great at 145.

    That’s all. Have a great weekend. xo

    Ashley

    Comment by Ashley | October 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Hey Ash, thanks for the compliment! Glad you commented since I’m not longer on twitter. Magee is sooo cute herself. I’m 5’6 and 3/4).

      Comment by lpskins | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  7. So true to the above comment! I think you look great too! Every time I see a picture I’m always thinking how fit you look.
    I wish you loved you as much as all you friends and family!!!!

    Xoxoxo

    Comment by Trina | October 9, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks tri! xoxoxoxo

      Comment by lpskins | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. Lindsay, great question! I’m struggling with the same thing. I refuse to diet, but it’s really difficult to eat intuitively and lose (or even maintain!) weight.

    Comment by katie | October 9, 2010 | Reply

  9. What helped me (it might help you, maybe not – but I suffer from binge eating too) was being more open to treats. Like, it was fine if I ate a massive slice of cake, because it wasn’t a binge. It was fine if I went to the movies and ate my body weight in candy, because it wasn’t a binge. Basically the only thing I didn’t allow myself to do was binge. So I could eat chocolate, cookies, etc. – just as long as it wasn’t under bingeing circumstances. Also LISTENING to my cravings helped – like, ‘yeah I know I should eat oats for breakfast, but I really want a bagel, so I’m gonna have it’. At the root of it, having a bagel instead of oats is not what made me gained weight – binging was.

    Binging is different for everybody though. Eating 1 kilo of candy could be considered a binge for some – for me, if I’m eating it mindfully, enjoying it, and not shoving it down my throat and following it up with ANY other food I can get my hands on – it’s not a binge.

    Um. That was long-winded.

    Comment by Alice | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  10. P.S. You are a stone cold fox! Stop thinking about the scale, start thinking about how you want to feel!

    Comment by Alice | October 11, 2010 | Reply

    • alice, thank you for a wonderful compliment. and i like your method of eating, it’s what i strive for too.

      Comment by lpskins | October 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

