Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Off to the races

Well, yesterday sure didn’t go as planned and I wonder if I’ll feel it during my race. We went apple picking which was awesome (I’ll blog about it when I get home) but I ate far too much crap food– think whoopee pies, fudge, cider and beer.

getting lost in the whoopee pie moment

Whoopee pies have control over my entire being. Those soft cakes and creamy heaven win every time. Every time.

For dinner we hit up an Italian joint where I proceeded to eat an entire calzone. I made it up myself– olives, artichoke and broccoli. Yummy.

My stomach lining is similar to that of a four person tent

The around ten last night we had some family drama which kept us up too late. Not the best preparation for a half marathon but it’s all about the macro view, right?  Overall I’m totally ready plus we had a great day. We even got to ride on the back of a golf cart!

Side note– have you ever eaten a bunch of beets and then pooped/peed dark red? No? Well folks, I’m here to tell ya that it happens and not to be alarmed. I’m sure you’d rather take my word for it instead of a picture.

Okay well here’s my gear–plus a gatorade to carry on the run.  Back in a few!

October 10, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, Friends, fun, running

10 Comments »

  1. Woo hoo have fun! Chris loves whoopie pies (he grew up about an hour away from Lancaster and apparently those Amish really know their whoopie pies) but I just can’t see what’s so special about them. Odd, I know :-P.

    Comment by Kristie | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m defenseless against whoopie pies too. It sounds like you had a fun day though. Who cares if you ate a lot? It sounds like it was delicious.

    Good luck in your race!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. I don’t eat beets, but my mom has told me that this can happen, haha! 😉

    I’ve never had a whoopie pie, but I’m quite sure I’d love it. Apple picking always sounds like such a healthy thing to do, but then I always have to eat everything in sight that they’re selling like apple cider, fried apple pies, and fudge. SO GOOD and worth it!!

    GOOD LUCK at your race today!! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | October 10, 2010 | Reply

    • it seems like everything should taste better since it’s from a farm… that probably explains it.

      Comment by lpskins | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have never had a whoopie pie…I don’t think I have ever seen one. Maybe I should get out more!

    Comment by Kelly | October 10, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi KELL!!!!!!! Do yourself a favor and don’t get the whoopee pies!

      Comment by lpskins | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. Good luck at your impromptu half marathon!Maybe the fudge, cider and beer will you know, fuel you for greatness or something. I bet it was delicious.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. Good luck!!!

    I love those pies mmmmm
    as for the beet situation, I had it happen when I use to juice them and it scared the shit outta me literally!

    Comment by Trina | October 10, 2010 | Reply

  7. Boo on family drama we always have that! The calzone looks AWESOME!

    Comment by Kelli | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  8. Whoopie pies are SO darn good..I like making them myself with a cream cheese filling vs the standard shortening filling!

    Comment by CaSaundra | October 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

