Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

PR

Morning friends! I keep forgetting that it’s Monday since I don’t have work–even though I’m not working right now anyways.

Yesterdays race was wonderful. Melissa and I kept a solid pace between 9:29 and 10:14. We came it at 2.10.49 (according to my Garmin) which was a personal record for me. My fastest race time prior to yesterdays was 2.17 so I am really proud of myself.

Split
Time
Avg Pace
Summary 2:10:46 13.27 09:51
1 09:48
2 10:10
3 09:56
4 09:36
5 09:59
6 09:29
7 10:14
8 09:37
9 09:38
10 10:05
11 10:09
12 10:01
13 09:38
14 08:37

 

The race location itself was gorgeous. We ran through scenic parts of Boston and of course the foliage made things even more enjoyable. The last part of the race took us right through the Franklin Park Zoo, so camels and giraffes held our attention. We got there about an hour before the race started so we sat in the sun and kept ourselves busy by chitchatting, waiting in the porto potty lines and even tasting an acorn. Trust me, they’re not good. The weather was in the 50’s and I honestly could not ask for better conditions.

There were lots of goodies being offered post race such as bagels (thank god), power bars, chips, bananas, granola, water, Gatorade, burritos (including a pb&j one), a smoothies. I ate a bagel on the spot and took granola, a power bar, banana and a Gatorade to go. I LOVE walking through the tents where everyone is celebrating and stretching. Such an accomplished feeling.

Later in the day I rolled my ankle and took a digger right then and there. I definitely hurt my foot, which I am favoring today. The problem is that I have a 10K today that I REALLY want to run. So now I’m debating whether I should swallow my pride and let my bib # and money go to waste or just do it and take it easy. I’m totally bummed about this. We’ll see. What would you do?

October 11, 2010 - Posted by | running

11 Comments »

  1. Congrats on the PR! And if you can walk without pain I say go for it, if not I’d say prob skip it.

    Comment by Kelly | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  2. Alright!! Way to go on the PR! If you’re seriously in pain, then don’t run that race!! You don’t want to risk injury!

    Comment by Anna | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’d be careful on the foot- but you’re the one who knows best. If you think you can go 6 miles on it with no problems… well, I won’t say you should do it, but I’ll say that I would do it.

    Way to go on the PR, though! Woot woot!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  4. Good job in your race! Congrats on the PR.
    Sorry about the ankle. I would sit out the race because I’m a pussy.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  5. congratulations girl! you SHOULD be super proud of yourself!

    Comment by Heather | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  6. Eek! Don’t make the ankle worse! If it is bothering you and you might injure it further, definitely sit it out. Congrats on the PR! Having perfect race weather helps so much.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  7. Congrats on the PR! That us a great time. As for the ankle, staying off it might be better….

    Comment by Jacqui | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  8. CONGRATS on a great run!!! Good for you on setting a new PR 🙂

    Comment by Salina | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  9. Congrats!

    Comment by Becky | October 11, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hey girl… congrats on the half mary PR- you rock!!

    That sucks about your foot and you weren’t able to run the 10k. I was looking for you but OMG there were so many people!!! It’s def an awesome race and I did really well. It was my first one and I ran the whole thing… I was/ AM soo proud! Thanks for checking in 🙂

    Comment by Ashleigh | October 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

