Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

into the woods we go

Hola! Today is Wednesday which means that I’m off to my favorite place in the world– Vermont! I would like to think that I’m well-traveled; I’ve been to New York, California, Colorado, Chicago, London, Australia, New Zealand, Canada and of course, up and down the east coast. Still, there is no place like Vermont. Granted I might feel a little differently after seeing some other places like Italy and Alaska but I don’t think so. Vermont is not only simply beautiful, but I have roots there making it even more special.

I’m sleeping at my friend’s house tonight-she was at my house a couple of weekends ago. A few of us are making a healthy dinner and catching up.

 

can't wait to see you girls!

 

 

Tomorrow night through Sunday I’ll be with my great friend and old roommate, Ali. We’re going on an overnight backpacking trip on Saturday which involves a seven mile hike up,  sleeping on the mountain and then heading back down on Sunday. It’s going to be SOOO cold on the mountain and because of the high elevation, we cannot build a fire.  BRRRRRR!

 

Ali and I started these backpacking trips five years ago and try to go once per year. We typically go much earlier in the season so fingers crossed it won’t rain. We’ve met lots of different people on the trails and even earned our own trail names. (People who thru-hike or do lots of backpacking earn trail names.) My name is Play Ground and Ali’s is Morning Ninja.

 

Big Ol' pack!

The scariest part about backpacking is the sleeping over part. We usually get to camp around 5 which means we have lots of downtime before the night comes to an end.

The shelter that we stay in is a three-walled structure that is open-faced, meaning it’s not closed off and bears can eat us if they want. Sometimes bunk beds are built it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t typically get a lot of sleep during these trips–though Ali sleeps just fine. Last trip I heard lots of rustling in the woods so I woke up the random guy who was sleeping in the shelter with us for comfort. He checked on things and came back reporting that it was only squirrels. That put my mind to rest and I was able to fall asleep. Morning came and he confessed that the rumbling was really a moose. Better than a bear I guess….

Let’s just say this, morning cannot come fast enough on these trips.

When going on a longer hiking trip, it’s impossible to pack your water supply because it’s too much weight added to an already heavy pack. This means that you will dunk your water bottles in the streams/springs along your path and drink from that. Pretty gross, huh? Don’t worry, there are several ways to make the water safe to drink. You CANNOT drink it right from the stream.

 

<————- This stream was a winner!

 

 

Since we are not hunters and gatherers, we obviously pack all our food. This usually includes trail mix, bars, oatmeal, peanut butter– anything that is easy and energy packed. We love our snack breaks! When camping, it is important to “bear bag” your food, and any other supplies that have scent, like toothpaste. Bear-bagging means packing everything into a sealed back and then tossing over a tree far away from where you are sleeping. This ensure that you are not an easy target when bears get hungry. Ali and  have not yet perfected our bear bagging technique but we sure try like hell.

Sometimes we pretend that hiding behind trees will be enough. It isn’t

Despite being scared shitless, sleeping and eating amongst the wilderness (not only bears and moose but bugs), freezing our asses off at night, going to the bathroom in the woods, burying poop and carrying around the used toilet paper as not to litter, not being able to wash your hands, drinking dirty water, hauling 20-35 pound packs up mountains and blisters galore, the experience is SO WORTH IT and we always come back with memories that will last a lifetime. If we come back at all that is…..

What is your favorite memory in nature?

 

October 13, 2010 - Posted by | backpacking, Food, Friends, fun

14 Comments »

  1. Wow– that is HARDCORE!!! I camp, but I’ve never done the backpacking thing, although my dad does. Maybe of these days I’ll go with him! I can’t wait to hear about it when you get back!

    Comment by Anna | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Camping!! We used to go a lot when I was in college, since we were surrounded by mountain ranges. I haven’t been in forever though!

    Comment by Kelly | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Whoa. You’re an outdoor warrior! I’m crying just imagining this. Have fun and be safe!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  4. Have a great trip. I give you so much credit for doing this!

    Comment by Jacqui | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. I love Vermont! I worked at a ski lodge in Killington for a winter and then moved back to the area to live for a year. So beautiful.

    I am going to be in New England this weekend, back to my home state of Connecticut, and I’m looking forward to some gorgeous foliage. I love the outdoors.

    Good luck on your hardcore overnight squirrel infested trip.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 13, 2010 | Reply

    • that’s where i’m from too!!!

      Comment by lpskins | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. ok you are my kinda girl!!!!!!!!

    my family and i plan on hiking the entire AT together one day.. it’s gonna happen!

    and holy cow, Australia and New Zealand? sounds amazingggg

    Comment by tropicaleats | October 13, 2010 | Reply

    • the whole AT???? amazing. i could NEVER do such as a thing…

      Comment by lpskins | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  7. Fun!! But looks waaaaaaaay too cold for my desire! BRRRR…

    My memory from nature is exploring the big forest behind the baseball field in our little city! It was with my soon-to-be boyfriend (best friends back then), and it was cold and adventurous, because there was news that a bear might pop out of it! 😀 Very thrilling, I tell ya! XD

    Comment by Miho | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  8. Sounds like a blast! We’re going camping this weekend, but nothing as hard-core as your trip. Hope you have a great time!

    Comment by Katie | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  9. Have a great time Lindsay and if you see a bear please don’t tell me about it.

    Comment by mom | October 13, 2010 | Reply

    • lol, mom. remember that time i called you from California and told you i got shot?? that was mean of me.

      Comment by lpskins | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  10. WOW. You are seriously hardcore. I could never ever do that, but I bet you girls have a blast. Have fun!!

    Comment by Ashleigh | October 13, 2010 | Reply

  11. wow… nature is so calming and peaceful!

    love the pictures especially that tree!

    Comment by yummieecupcake | October 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

