Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Reality.

Although it’s always hard to leave Vermont, I was happy to come home to my family in Boston. I’m pretty sure they both missed me.

Can’t you just see it on their faces? Yeah, me either. Oh well.

The rest of my weekend was really chill. We saw Life or Something Like it which I HIGHLY recommend. It did not help my baby fever whatsoever; in fact, it made it even worse. The actors had such great chemistry on film and I just love a movie that can make me both cry and laugh. I actually haven’t met a movie that hasn’t made me cry. (Cue: Cool Runnings.) I’m a baby like that.

Every time I visit Vermont, it is imperative to eat at Magnolia Bistro. I’ve written about this restaurant many times on my blog and for a damn good reason. The food is local, organic, healthy (most), and creative. The atmosphere is green, warm and comfy. I ALWAYS get the same exact thing when I go there– Huevos Con Diablo.

It’s polenta topped with black beans and two runny eggs. I left out the sour cream and added dry toast to the mix. They serve it with homemade jam and lots of different hot sauce.

Ali got the cheddar and black bean tofu scram, served with home fries and toast.

I had eaten like a fat pig the night before so we procrastinated breakfast since I was still full. We took care of some errands and went to the gym– but it was after one by the time we were actually sitting to eat. At that point I was ready to eat Ali’s head. I looked cool, calm, and collected in the picture but inside I was screaming FEED ME YOU MO’ FO’S!!!

Ali threatened to eat the table.

I kept my stomach busy by taking pictures of their incredible bathroom. They have quotes painted on the walls, inside and out of the stalls. Side note– snapping pictures in the bathroom doesn’t go over well with customers. You’d think I was trying to catch them taking a dump or something. Pahlease people.

These were some of my favorites.

 

Compost and landfill

Be the change you wish to see in the world

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At home I serve the kind of food I know the story behind.

 

So sweet, right?

 

Okay friends, I’m off!

October 18, 2010 - Posted by | baby fever, dogs, Family, Food, Friends, fun, Movies, The Boyfriend, Vermont

16 Comments »

  1. Cool bathroom!! I have a remodel in my head for my bathroom but I’d love to do something like that! 🙂 Once I get my used Prius – in a few weeks!!! maybe I can come up to New England… I have so much I want to do up there. Have you been whale watching at all? That is on my list for sure.

    Comment by Kimberley | October 18, 2010 | Reply

    • I didn’t know we had whales to watch??!!! Come to Boston!

      Comment by lpskins | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  2. And what a cute family you have – of COURSE they missed ya! Your dog is too cute for words! My little Chihuahua cries like a baby if I leave him too long (during the day).

    Comment by Kimberley | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  3. That’s a very cute bathroom; very inspirational! 😀
    And I like your yellow jacket (don’t know what it’s called…) in that photo! 🙂
    Have a good day! ❤

    xoxo

    Comment by Sagojyou | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. I think it looks like they missed you for sure! Target flannel?! Haha I need to go buy some.

    Comment by Kelly | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m a big movie crier too. My friends still make fun of me for crying at Save the Last Dance.

    I LOVE Ellie’s flannel!

    Comment by Anna | October 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Who didn’t cry at Save the Last Dance?

      Comment by lpskins | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  6. Cute restaurant decor!

    And I’m sort of intrigued by that movie… I’ll probably wait to see it when it comes out on dvd, but am a huge fan of Katherine H (even if she’s made some REAL stinkers as of late).

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | October 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Don’t wait till DVD!!

      Comment by lpskins | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  7. i LOVE that yellow plaid shirt! where’d you get it?

    Comment by Heather | October 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Target baby!

      Comment by lpskins | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  8. I went to Magnolia when I was in VT last year! By far the best meal I had while I was there! I love that place

    Comment by Ashleigh | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  9. I have the same Target flannel! I could live in it.

    The restaurant looks great and something the bf would really be into. I need to get there.

    You look so beautiful and happy in that picture. Stunning! Yes, I’m hitting on you.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 18, 2010 | Reply

    • You can hit on my any day!

      Comment by lpskins | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  10. So cool! I love the quotes and the restaurant looks really cozy. If I’m ever in Vermont (which may be.. never..) I’ll for sure be checking that place out. If I remember. Which I hope I will but with my sketchy memory you never know.

    Comment by Ayla | October 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. i think that is one of the wisest quotes i’ve ever read!

    Comment by Shannon [Tropical Eats] | October 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

