Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Stocked up

I just hit up Trader Joe’s hard and am stoked with all my goodies.I’ve really come to depend on the products and the prices there. The low cost amazes me every time.

For example

Jumbo Pomegranates for 1.99 each??? Surprisingly these bad boys were in great shape. My one problem about TJ’s is that their produce can be sketchy.

TJ’s is also known for their trademark indulgences. Such as this…

Pumpkin cream cheese????  God is good.   I could eat this like ice cream so I didn’t dare buy it.

It’s been quite some time since I’ve done a grocery haul so today is the day, folks. I spent 80 bucks which kinda seems like a lot. See for yourselves.

2 potatoes, onion, 2 poms, bag green beans, mushrooms, avocado, tomatoes, arugula, broccoli, eggplant, spaghetti squash and acorn squash.

2 cans pumpkin, 2 jars pumpkin butter (if you haven’t tried this yet, you’re a douche.), sauce, bread crumbs, 2 kinds of dog treats, almond milk, shredded mozz cheese, goat cheese, greek yogurt, organic hamburger meat, half and half, 3 kinds of seasonings, peanut flour (now what?), veggie burgers and portobella mushroom ravioli.

Does 80 bucks seem reasonable? How much do you spend weekly on groceries?

I must admit– I can’t wait for that beef. Hubba hubba.

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | Food

13 Comments »

  1. I think $80 is definitely reasonable. Hell, I spent $77 at Wholefoods yesterday and I got about 1/4 of the amount you did. Then again, I WAS buying a lot of chocolate for one of my friend’s upcoming birthdays..

    I’m jealous of your peanut flour. I went to buy it at Wholefoods yesterday and I couldn’t find it! Maybe I should have asked someone but I don’t understand why it wasn’t with all the other flours. It’s a flour and that’s where it should have been.

    Comment by Ayla | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. I keep seeing this peanut flower everywhere, but don’t understand how to use it or what the heck it is. Looking forward to seeing what you do with it.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 20, 2010 | Reply

    • I don’t really know either. send ideas my way!!!

      Comment by lpskins | October 20, 2010 | Reply

      • You guys, it’s AMAZING! I use it to just make plain PB- just mix with water. I like it because it’s very high in protein! I still need a daily dose of the regular stuff though because I love crunch PB. I also mix it right into oats or make a delicious PB/chocolate sauce w. PB flour, cocoa powder and water. Lastly, I’ve used it to make PB cookies! Pretty much anything you want peanut butter with you can sub in peanut flour.

        Comment by Ashleigh | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. that cream cheese would be my breakfast, lunch, and dinner…there’s no way i could stay out of it either! we usually spend about 60-80 a week on groceries 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  4. 80 a week doesn’t seem bad. i would probably be tempted to spend all 80 on pumpkin cream cheese spread. good heavens!

    Comment by christina | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  5. i didn’t see that cream cheese! tj’s is the best.

    Comment by lynn @ the actor's diet | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  6. It would be twice as much money here in Vermont!

    Comment by Marti | October 20, 2010 | Reply

  7. $80/week definitely isn’t bad…..especially because there are 2 of you! I could spend that on myself!

    Comment by abs1876 | October 21, 2010 | Reply

    • true– but I make several grocery store shops per week. This was obviously my big one.

      Comment by lpskins | October 21, 2010 | Reply

  8. I spend about $40-50 on groceries a week for just me..it really depends though on how much I am eating out, if there’s a sale on something I can stock, etc. Looks like you got tons of good food!

    Comment by CaSaundra | October 21, 2010 | Reply

  9. Yikes.. I spend about 100 a week.. but I pack Breakfast and lunch everyday and also make sure to cook 5 nights a week.. so I dont think its too much…

    Comment by Marina | October 21, 2010 | Reply

  10. I just spent about 43 bucks buying groceries and a bag of cat food, but I also spent 10 dollars earlier in the week, I already had quite a bit of produce in the house, and my boyfriend will probably spend more money on other stuff this week, too. If I’m just feeding myself I can probably live on 40 bucks or less a week, but it depends on the time of year, what’s available at farmer’s markets, etc. Also, if there was a Trader Joe’s near me I’d probably be in debt from buying peanut flour, peanut butter filled pretzels, cheap wine, chocolate covered almonds…anyways.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

