Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Social Workers RULE!

Sorry I’ve been missing in action. I had my Social Work licensing test on Friday so I was cramming my butt off the past couple of days. I have a horrible habit of procrastinating. In some areas of my life I work well under stress, other areas… not so much. The good news is that I passed!!!  Yay to being a Licensed Clinical Social Worker!

In other news– this is my last weekend being unemployed since I start my new job this week. I am looking forward to using my brain, getting paid, and having structured days. Of course I will miss spending so much time with my pup. I hate the thought of leaving her home all day alone.

Len thinks she’s happy to sleep all day with her tongue out but I believe she gets bored….

I’m thinking about having a dog walker come but that can get pretty expensive. We’ve tried the doggie daycare thing and it didn’t work so well. Ellie is too much of a scrapper.

What do you do with your dog while working a 40 hour week?

As some of you know, I weigh myself most Saturday mornings and keep track of it on my blog. I started weighing in one year ago this weekend and I am down 10.1 from last year. Pretty cool.

Any exciting plans this weekend?

October 23, 2010 - Posted by | blog, The Boyfriend, Weigh In

17 Comments »

  1. Congrats on the weigh in You must be doing something right !!:) I walk 2 dogs everyday at lunch time They are high energy Goldens I feel bad leaving them . IO only charge the owners 10 a day but like you said thats 200 a month gets pricey!

    Comment by Kelli | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • That’s so cool that you do that! I would love to be a dog walker too!! maybe one day…

      10 bucks a day is totally reasonable.

      Comment by lpskins | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Way to go on the 10 pound loss…what a difference a year can make huh??

    Comment by Kelly | October 23, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks kelly!

      Comment by lpskins | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yay!! Congrats on passing, and on the weigh-in as well! Rock star 🙂

    Comment by Anna | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. Congratulations on passing!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. Congrats on passing the test AND getting a job! So cool.

    For my dog, we all work different hours/have different schedules so she’s never home alone for more than 3-4 hours. When I move out and if I take her with me.. well.. I’ll figure something out when the time comes!

    Comment by Ayla | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  6. Again, Lin, I want to congratulate you on all your hard work in studying so diligently and passing your licensing test and also for losing weight. Kudos to you!!!

    Comment by mom | October 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. Congrats on doing passing your test and the weight loss. What a good way to start the weekend!

    Comment by Jacqui | October 24, 2010 | Reply

  8. Linds- congrats, that is awesome!!! Good luck on new job- you will be great! I have a ‘dog walker’ take my 2 doxies out 2 times a week at $10 per day {she is a friend so does 2 for the price of 1- LOL}a suggestion: look for a local student to take Ellie out 2 or 3 times a week for $20/$30 if she needs the potty time- if not I am sure she will love her all day sleeptime!

    Comment by Debra | October 24, 2010 | Reply

  9. Congrats on the ten pounds down – when it goes slow and steady, you know it will be more likely to stay off for good 🙂

    I don’t have a dog, just two cats, so it’s easy to leave them alone, and my bf is home quite a bit, so they can go in and out. I wish I had a dog, though, but I couldn’t do it right now.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 24, 2010 | Reply

  10. Woo! Congratulations girlfriend. Job and licence, double-whammy!

    Comment by Alice | October 24, 2010 | Reply

  11. My dog Sophie gets walked twice a day, usually my husband walks her in the morning for 30 minutes and I do it in the afternoon for 45 minutes. BUT he’s been away on travel so I’ve been getting my butt out of bed at 5:20am lately. Sometimes though I take her to doggie daycare, but only a couple times a month. I think it helps if you can get the dog really tired out…perhaps on the weekend you could let her run and really tire her out…it’ll help make the week easier for her. And congrats on the test!

    Comment by Sharon | October 24, 2010 | Reply

    • thanks sharon

      Comment by lpskins | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  12. You are doing sooo amazing! yay!!!! OMG, I am a writer so I get to work from home most days. I have an adorable Chihuahua who I spoil rotten. When I go to the store I have MAJOR guilt. When I step outside to get the mail I say BRB TTYL to him (don’t ask)! I wouldn’t know what to do if I had to go back to the office FT. Although, besides the last year or so I was always at the office. It sucks but they get used to the schedule. I’ll leave the TV on for him. Having a trusted person come in would be amazing if you can swing it.

    Comment by Kimberley | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  13. Yay for becoming a LCSW!

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  14. Lins! i am SOOOOO proud of you! good girl! So, as you know, we send oskie to doggie school. he needs it. he will leave shit presents all over the place if not ;(

    Comment by jessdownes | November 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

