Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

fooooooooooooooooooood

Holy crap you guys, I ate my face off this weekend. I ate and ate and ate and ate. And just when I thought I couldn’t eat anymore last night, we got invited to the North End for an authentic Italian dinner. Holy bloat.

Last week Len and I decided on a no desert during the week rule. You see, normally we have dessert every single night. And I’m not talking a fudge pop here people. I’m talking real desserts– large quantities of Ben and Jerry’s, carrot cake, eclairs. We do it up. So we stopped the madness, until Friday that is. Friday night I had a beautiful pumpkin ice cream cone with chocolate sprinkles, Saturday night I had gummy candy (weird choice) and Sunday I had ginger cookies and a cannoli. My arteries are officially clogged.

I did manage to get some healthy cooking in this weekend however. This recipe may sound really weird but trust me, it was delish!

Sweet and Spicy Mash (serves 4 huge portions)

1 Acorn squash (roasted)

4-5 large apples

lots of cinnamon

lots of pumpkin pie spice

1/4 cup (?) brown sugar (or any other sweetener)

little water

lots of curry

can chick peas

goat cheese

 

Bake squash. (I did this earlier in the week and had it sitting in my fridge)

Slice apples and put them in a skillet on medium heat with some water, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon and sweetener of choice. Let them cook down to desired consistency.

Once apples are cooked down, add squash to pan and let heat through.

Add curry– I use a lot but it will vary depending on personal preference.

Add chick peas and let all the flavors blend together.

Serve and top with goat cheese.

**I’m pretty sure that if I owned a restaurant no one would come.

October 25, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Recipes

16 Comments »

  1. I’d come to your restaurant, I may not order anything haha, but I’d come to hang out with you 😉

    Comment by Kelly | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. lol Don’t say that! I’m sure people will! I’ll go to see you. 😀
    That recipe actually looks really good! And it matches the season.
    Don’t worry about eating too much. It’s a good preparation for thanksgiving, maybe! lol

    Comment by Miho | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. sweet and spicy is for me! this sound truly delicious…so perfect for cold weather!

    Comment by Heather | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. I think that sounds interesting. I’d stop by your restaurant.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’m with Kelly, not sure I would eat but I would came hang out with you 🙂

    The picture of it actually looks really good!

    I went with the Lean Cuisine last night but then followed it up with Ice Cream and twizzlers, so there went that 🙂

    Have a great day! xo

    Comment by Ashley | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m jealous of how creative you are. My food choices are always boring and unless a cookbook gives me a suggestion, they are always boring haha! I wish I could think of interesting meals on my own. 🙂

    Comment by Stephanie | October 25, 2010 | Reply

    • believe me stephanie, i don’t get creative very often!

      Comment by lpskins | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. Too funny! The gummy bears made me think of my brother and dad. Funny story:

    the 3 of us went for fro-yo and my brother walks right up to the gummy bears and shouts, “YES! Gummy Bears!” I happen to think gummy bears and fro-yo doesn’t go at all and I looked at him and said, “Huh…Really?” Not 2 seconds my dad walks up and says, “YES! Gummy Bears!” My brother and I died laughing and my dad was like, “what?”

    Not funny…hum…maybe you had to be there!

    Comment by Kelly | October 25, 2010 | Reply

    • No i think that’s really funny!! I am also a gummy bear in fo yo fan so im with your bro and pops. Miss ya kell!!!

      Comment by lpskins | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. You are sooo hilarious. I had a truly horrible day with my sick dog and logged on and went to your site (which I found through your sister’s site) and laughed as hard as I cried today. You’re so real and sweet and it really comes across on your blog. There are so many items that I can’t even buy because one bite always leads to me eating the entire bag or carton – whatever the case may be – in one sitting. Only to find myself feeling like one big blob afterwards 🙂
    I look forward to your creative creations as well!

    Comment by Christine | October 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Christine, thank you so much!! Sorry to hear about your dog— they are so precious.

      Comment by lpskins | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. I think that recipe sounds really good!

    And the dessert thing…when I tell myself I can’t eat something, like dessert during the week, I end up doing the exact opposite: I’d probably end up eating an entire bag of chocolate chips, three pounds of raw cookie dough, and a half gallon of strawberry ice cream. And I don’t even like strawberry ice cream. My point is, when I say “no!” my brain says, “Um, screw you”.

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  10. Ps. I also have this wierd odd even thing. Say if I’m eating chips or cookies I’ll say I’m only going to eat four and then I’ll say – okay – two more and that will be it and then I can’t remember whether I ate five or six at that point – so then I’ll eat another and another and another. Probably some form of OCD – LOL!

    Comment by Christine | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  11. I think that creation sounds yummy!!!

    Comment by Salah | October 25, 2010 | Reply

  12. i’d come to your restaurant – that concoction sounds terrific!

    Comment by actorsdiet | October 26, 2010 | Reply

  13. If you had this squash/apple bake at your restaurant..I’d come 🙂

    Comment by CaSaundra | October 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

