Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

little of this

Why oh why must I HATE the idea of strength training? I cannot even say I hate strength training itself because I’ve never really even done it. My plan was to hit up Body Pump this morning and once again, I bailed. Being accountable for workouts that involve anything but cardio is impossible for me. I want toned arms, to lose belly fat, etc, etc yet a simple crunch has me whining. HELP MEEEEEEEEE!

What motivates you to strength train?

My eating has gone down this shitter this week despite eating well during the day. Night time brings about mindless eating and binge eating. Then I spend the night in a food coma.

Luckily I have a partner in crime.

In an attempt to start my day off right, I’ve been making some damn good lunches. Historically I haven’t had much luck with spaghetti squash.  Anyone remember the Squash Bomb incident? I made some the other day and during clean up accidentally dumped half of it in the garbage. That sucked. Luckily the squash was HUGE and I still had one bowl full left. That’s how this beautiful creation was born.

I packed an awesome lunch yesterday that had everyone saying, “Oh what is that?”, “That smells so good.” Why thank you.

What you see here is spaghetti squash, tomatoes, olives, sun-dried tomatoes, beans, olive oil, salt and pepper and a bean burger. Micro wave it up and call it a day. Glorious. You should really make this combo.

Off to work at my old internships. Hopefully I can ward off the Bins of Hell.

October 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

11 Comments »

  1. That’s a strange combo, but I bet it WAS delicious!

    Comment by Anna | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I enjoy a good day of light weights but LOATHE sprints, intervals, or anything else resembling more cardio than a light jog (10 min light jog that is, not your marathon daily runs!) guess we all have strengths! Maybe find something cardio that engages your arms, like swimming? Or engages your core, like ummmm, well I dunno- dance?! Or how about karate or jui jitso(sp)! Haha know you’re totally peaceful but it might help burn off!

    Comment by Meg | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. I keep meaning to strength train. And will do it… tomorrow…

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve decided that I’m trying to gain weight via strength training so I can eat (more of) everything I want. I figure the calories I”m putting in are gonna help me lift more for a longer period of time. Cinnamon rolls and jalepeno potato chips are back on the menu!!!!

    But my motivation of “curls for the girls” (see also: “sun’s out guns out”) might not work for you.

    Comment by JB | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. I make a similar squash bowl, but I add in a Laughing Cow to make a yummy cheese sauce 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Ah strength training, the only strength training I’ve seen are the 16 push-ups I do like twice a week haha. Don’t think that counts.

    Comment by Kelly | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. that combo sounds great! although i would probably take out the bean patty…those suckers fill me up!

    Comment by Heather | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  8. I despise strength training. It’s always the first thing I skip. I went to “Pure Muscle” – a class at my gym – yesterday. It was 45 minutes and I swear, I would have preferred to run 10 miles. Today I hurt. I guess I needed it.

    Comment by Becky | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. You know what? I have always hated strength training, too, but this year I’ve been making a conscious effort to do it and I actually am enjoying it and it’s becoming a habit! If a few days have gone by and I haven’t done any strength training, I actually think, “gee, I don’t want to lose that tone I gained in my biceps, I need to do some strength training”. My best advice is just DO IT. Do it for a month and see if you feel differently. I have to mix it up, too, so I don’t get bored: Different DVDs, doing my own thing, using workouts I find on the Internet.

    Also, I’m very familiar with horrible Nighttime Downfall of unhealthy eating!

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. I’m the exact opposite – I’d always rather strength train. I think because I find it ‘easier’? Like, you just sit there and lift heavy shit. You can take breaks if it gets hard. It doesn’t take long before you see results. You can do it when hungover. You don’t have to worry about going poop beforehand. You can do it when it’s raining outside.

    Comment by Alice | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  11. By the way, I seriously hate Body Pump – I’d always rather do my own thing on the free weights and machines.

    Comment by Alice | October 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

