Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Not so sure about this bikram business.

I tried Bikram today for the first time. Two things that I hate,  yoga and the heat, all wrapped up in one. I was nervous to walk in, shaking almost. My friend (who insisted that I try it) talked me down from my freak out. I was sure that I might suffocate from the heat. What if I can’t breathe? What if I need to puke? Will I be judged if I lay down? If someone rips ass there’s no way I’ll be able to compose myself. I secretly wanted it to happen.

The good news is that I only almost blacked out three times. No seriously. I got light-headed and saw spots. The first time I got dizzy I laid down. Then the bitch instructor called out, “Lindsay, don’t throw in the towel. Please sit on your knees with your head above your heart.” I was only mildly embarrassed. Thanks for calling me out lady. Appreciate it.

By the end of the 90 minutes I was more than ready for class to be over. I was bummed to not experience a “high” like I always get after a run–something that I very much look forward to. Is there such a thing as a “yoga high”? I’d go back but I’m not convinced that it’s the great workout everyone says it is. Yeah it was hard but only because it was so hot. I must admit that my heart rate was up through a fair amount of class and there were a lot of moves I could not do.

I’d love some feedback from those of you who have tried/love/hate bikram.

Best part of yoga? My lunch afterwards.

Tempeh dipped in BBQ sauce and squash topped with almond butter. SO.DAMN.GOOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!

So is everyone in a kit kat coma or what??

 

 

November 1, 2010 - Posted by | Food, running, Uncategorized, yoga

11 Comments »

  1. i’ve never tried bikram but have always wanted to. i’m sure i will die when i do though 🙂

    Comment by Heather | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am not a bikram fan AT ALL! I 100% agree with you…I don’t want to be that hot…no thank you. It isn’t even that it is so hot but it is so humid you feel like the air weighs 100 pounds. It is the worst feeling in the world!

    Comment by Kelly | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. I am so pissed she called you out. Some instructors are such bitches and I think that is what makes people sour. Stick with it. I promise you will grow to like it. At least try one more time in the next couple days. I bet you will see a difference.

    its not for everyone, that is for sure, but there must be something right about it otherwise I don’t think it would be so popular.

    Comment by Anonymous | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve never tried Bikram. I’m not a fan of yoga. It hurts my back, but everyone tells me it should feel good. They’re wrong.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. I told you you’d hate it.
    Face it my dear sister, we are not cut out for any kind of yoga.

    It sucks (not us, yoga)

    Comment by Lisa Paige | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. I actually really like bikram, but I love being hot in a major way– I think it comes from being raised in Louisiana. That sucks that the instructor called you out like that– I’ve laid down in classes before because that’s what the instructor TOLD us to do!

    Comment by Anna | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  7. I hate Bikram, but I do love yoga. And yes, there is a high….don’t know if it’s like a runner’s high since I hate running, but it’s called bliss…. Try a vinyasa class somewhere. I like classes based on the Anusara principles the best…

    Comment by Ali | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. I like yoga, but have never tried bikram because I think it sounds like torture! I will avoid ever having to be that hot at all costs 😉

    Comment by Kelly (Running Phoodie) | November 1, 2010 | Reply

  9. i liked yoga, i used to go all the time. but this girl hates to sweat, so no bikram for me. i had to stop going to yoga because it gave me these weird dull headaches everytime and they’d last forever 😦

    Comment by jenn graves | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  10. OMG blogged about this like CRAZY! Check my site out for more, but in short…i LOOOOVE Bikram. I LOVE the challenge part about it. And for me, it really helps me see things in perspective. I also feel like if I can accomplish that 90 minute sweat session then the rest of my life seems FAR easier. I dunno- I relaly like it- for like a once a week thing. It gets you stretchy and compliments my other athletic endeavors and I find it is good for my skin!

    Comment by Jess | November 4, 2010 | Reply

  11. Yes! The sweat is clensing, Lins!!!!!

    Comment by Jess | November 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

