Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Unbearable Lightness

Morning! It’s 4:37 am and I’m up because I went to bed at 8:30 last night. I had a wicked headache (they say from yoga) and just needed to close my eyes.

Did anyone see Oprah yesterday? Portia De Rossi was on promoting her new book Unbearable Lightness and talking about her struggle with self hate/disordered eating (they usually go hand in hand) and the pain of hiding she was gay. Portia’s story is super powerful and I found myself relating so much. In her deepest moments of self-loathing she would say to herself, “You’re nothing, your average, you’re an ordinary, average, fat piece of shit. You have no self-control. You’re a stupid, fat, disgusting dyke. You ugly stupid bitch.”  As she read that passage, she cried and I did too. In my deepest moments I would call myself similar names and believed them to the depth of my core. I will never, ever go back to that place.

These were Portia’s closing words, “Really the only way I recovered from my eating disorder and from chronic dieting was to never ever restrict any kind of food, not even portion size. And that really is the only way that food loses its power over you. If you can have something everyday as much as you want, you tend not to want it as much any more. After a period of time you actually eat what your body needs, you eat what makes you happy and you don’t think about food ever again. That is how I healed myself.”

AMEN!

 

 

 

 

 

November 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. I really do love Portia. I’ve read more and more of her story as of late- she overcame so much and look at her now- she’s like the picture of complete happiness!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. I really just want to second Amy’s comment, she overcame so much and now just really seems genuinely happy.

    Comment by Kelly | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. Rats– I so wanted to see this! I meant to tape it, and forgot.

    Comment by Anna | November 2, 2010 | Reply

    • maybe youtube?

      Comment by lpskins | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. I saw it!! I was crying on my treadmill… she is so beautiful!

    Comment by Marina | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. YES! Go Portia. I liked her for her awesome role in Arrested Development, and now I think I like her.

    She is spot on – no restriction.

    Comment by Alice | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  6. That was such a powerful interview. I love Portia!

    Comment by Becky | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. i wish i would’ve seen this, sounds like such a great interview! i *think* Portia is a vegan though, i wonder what she meant about “not restricting” any kind of food?

    Comment by Angela (the diet book junkie) | November 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

