Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

schools of thought

Happy Monday morning to you all! It seems that parts of New England got a snow fall last night but there’s nothing but rain here in Boston. I managed to run 3 miles this morning in the cold, wet, windy weather.   I woke up feeling pissed that I can’t be naturally skinny and angry at the world that I had to workout. Then I thought about my friend who just messed up his foot and won’t be able to walk for 6 weeks. Life aint so bad after all.

We had a family emergency of sorts so we spent the weekend at Lens parents house in Vermont visiting with them. Nothing too exciting to report other than my gluttonous activities. See below for proof.

 

Chocolate covered honeycomb. This contributed to the 15 pounds I gained while living in Australia. Incredible.

 

 

Chocolate eclairs. Nuff said.

 

 

Pumpkin donut from Dunkin Donuts. I'm not normally a food pusher but hurry the hell up and get one of these. Thank the lord they are seasonal.

 

Along with the artery clogging goodies shown above, I also managed to consume cookies, pie and more candy this weekend. All of which contributed to the humongous zit that has set up camp on my face. Awesome.

I was thinking about addiction this morning on my run– alcohol, nicotine, food. With drugs/alcohol addiction, recovery is about abstinence from the substance of choice– sure, there will be relapses along the way and that is expected. Recovery from food addiction isn’t so straight forward is it. There are many schools of thought. Some say, don’t restrict because it will backfire, others say don’t go near whatever it is that makes you spiral out of control. (For me it is obviously sugar.)

Clearly we don’t need booze to survive like we do food, so food addiction can be more complicated. But lets face it, we don’t need to be eating donuts, eclairs and candy bars to survive. What are your thoughts on food addiction and recovery?

 

November 8, 2010 - Posted by | eating disorder, Family, Food, running

16 Comments »

  1. I think more and more, I’m of the “don’t go near it” school of thought. So many studies are coming out that show that sugar really is just like a drug– many people can’t have “just a little” and then move on– it triggers something in you that makes you crave it more and more. I think if a person can seriously kick sugar and stay away from it for a few weeks, those cravings we all know will dissipate. Harder than it sounds, for sure. I mean, I haven’t been able to do it! But it’s funny– when I do stay away from sugar for a few days, and then I eat something sweet, it FEELS like a drug– my heart rate picks up, it consumes my thoughts. So crazy.

    Comment by Anna | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think it’s a combination of eating our feelings and being addicted to sugar. The candy bar looks good though.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  3. The more I tell myself I can’t have something, the more I seem to want it. I’m not a fan of restriction.

    Comment by Kelly | November 8, 2010 | Reply

    • Ahen sister. I’m the exact same!

      Comment by Alice | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  4. I agree with Sugar is a drug Since I’ve cut back on my sugar I definitly crave it less even fruit I know its good for you but a piece of fruit starts my cravings just as much as a cookie!

    Comment by Kelli | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  5. As for me I have to stay away from the sugar. For example, if I have thin mint Girl Scout cookies in the house, it’s all over. If I could stop at eating 2 or three I wouldn’t even consider that as “cheating” but once I get the taste I will polish off one entire side, especially if their frozen!!! Just can’t seem to stop at one of anything once that taste of sweetness is in my mouth. I wish I could always remember the old WW slogan – “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels”. If we could think about those words before that first fateful “bite” perhaps it would help. I don’t know….it all boils down to control…the food or us.

    Comment by mom | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. Well i think that is why eds are so difficult; if you are an alchoholic, stay away from bars. If you smoke pot, dont hit up your dealer. BUt if you have a food problem, be it over or under eating, it is hard to stay away from food sources, esp because food is a fact of life. total agreement. sucks.

    Comment by jessdownes | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. I love crunchie bars and pumpkin donuts. I agree with the food addictions, but since I have never had any other kind I guess I can not relate to the people that “need” other substances. Said as I eat M and M’s…..

    Comment by Jacqui | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  8. ^ yup, I agree with all. There are definite parallels between food addiction and drug addiction, but shit – a girl’s gotta eat.

    I think it’s the feelings associated with these foods that make them addicting.

    Comment by Alice | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  9. Ahhh, I LOVE Crunchies!!

    I am def from the do not restrict school of thought. I have gone through my ups and downs and ups and downs and so on and so on….. 🙂 But I am FINALLY, FOR REAL, feeling good about myself and what I eat. I let myself eat whatever I want, within moderation, and I find that over the years and because I do have a strong desire to eat well and be healthy, that food ends up being pretty “okay”. I mean do not get me wrong, this weekend I had gelato, cookies, ice cream and beer, and I’m still ok!!

    Comment by Jill@MySoCalledHealthLife | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  10. Ugh, food addiction in the worst because you HAVE TO EAT EVERY SINGLE DAY!You can’t get away from it. Say your addicted to sweets and get rid of them you will just start binging on everything else! Ugh, it is awful. For me, I am much more of a chips, bread and butter girl, but it’s just as bad and drives me just as crazy!

    Good for you for getting a run in this AM- that is commitment!

    Comment by Ashleigh | November 8, 2010 | Reply

  11. I think if you know there is a certain food that is a weakness then just don’t buy it. For some reason I can be really strong in the food store and buy (mostly) only healthy things (looks like you do the same at TJs). I share custody with my kid’s father and when they are here and wanting a snack they will eat fruit/yogurt or whatever we have. Obviously if they are at their dad’s and they want ice cream it is always available (not that I think they should never have ice cream!) they are going to eat that instead. I don’t think we are all able to be super strong and avoid the bad stuff all the time but if you don’t buy it and you don’t let yourself get hungry then it makes it easier. If we can all find subsitutes like frozen yogurt or fruit or something comparable then it might help. I’ve tried non-alcoholic red wine and it doesn’t compare. Sucks for me! 🙂

    Comment by Kimberley | November 9, 2010 | Reply

    • I always run out to buy it last minute in the middle of my craving.

      Comment by lpskins | November 9, 2010 | Reply

      • Oh! Ha! I think the only food I crave like that is pizza!

        Comment by Anonymous | November 10, 2010 | Reply

  12. With food recovery, I feel like it can’t just be about the person trying to recover. Anyone who is trying to get over some sort of food addiction-if they don’t live alone-needs whoever lives with them to help them make better choices. I know for me, if I tell my boyfriend to not let me eat chocolate, cookies, etc…he’ll make sure I don’t eat it. Also, the people you live with cannot bring home sweets when they know you shouldn’t be eating them. As much as a person needs to recover on their own..other people in their lives inhibit their bad food choices–it’s too much of a battle to do alone..people who are friends with a recovering alcoholic aren’t going to ask that person to go to the bar with them…so it should be the same with food!

    Comment by Jamie | November 9, 2010 | Reply

  13. I have personally been in recovery from binge eating/ anorexia for almost 2 years. I have attended OA meetings and found that many recovering bingers have to abstain from sugar, because it just triggers a relapse. For example, my binge food was ice cream, chocolate chips, and peanut butter m&ms. I have since abstained from those foods. At first I craved them like crazy because I wanted the sugar, but now the food is kept in the house, as I live with my brother and parents, but I have no desire to eat the food because I know I do not want to relapse!! 🙂

    Comment by Lindsay | November 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

