Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Two important Fs- Family and Food.

The Perrone family loves to eat and eat we did. Although most of our meals were fairly healthy, some were certainly not. This morning my scale wanted to show the bruschetta/pasta I ate and seemed to forget about the 13 hard miles I ran. Mechanical piece of shit.

Healthier eats

This salad was from Veggie Planet– a vegetarian/vegan restaurant in Harvard Square. It’s kind of dumpy inside but the menu kicks ass. This salad had tofu basil mash, cashews, beans, some type of fruit, jicama, and a lime chili dressing. It was alright but I wouldn’t get it again. Len got whole wheat macaroni with tomatoes on top of whole wheat pizza crust. Now that was good eatin’.

Lisa and I discovered an awesome Mediterranean joint in Allston called Garlic N Lemons. It was AWESOME! Lisa and I both got the combo with was a Saj (thin whole wheat wrap) stuffed with veggies (including pickled turnips), hummus, and tabouli. As a side, Lisa picked the greek salad and I picked the tomato couscous and we shared. Total meal which included two drinks was 20 bucks. Lisa’s treat! Sweet.

 

Unhealthy eats

We went to dinner in the north end and I ordered some cheesy pasta dish. It wasn’t authentic and it kinda tasted like I made it myself. Wicked disappointment. Along with this pasta I downed Bruschetta, antipasta (minus the meat but heavy on the olives), regular bread with butter and wine.

I think Len liked his seafood dish.

Next came gelato-

 

Chocolate chips and peppermint stick. Slurp!

Although the food was kinda crappy, the company was not. We had a party of nine, all family. Some of whom I hadn’t seen in way too long. Lots of laughs.

The highlight of the night was returning to the parking to garage after dinner only to find out car still running. In our frantic state of being half an hour late to dinner, Len apparently forgot to turn the car off and take the keys!! Can you believe that?? The car was running for 3 hours in a busy Boston garage and no one stole it. Wow.

 

November 15, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Food, fun

8 Comments »

  1. Oh my god. Maybe he was trying to get it stolen…better luck next time!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hahahaha that just made me laugh so hard! Oh my…that’s funny. Good thing the doors were unlocked

    Comment by Trina | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. LOL…I can’t believe that about the car!!!

    Nights like that are the best (minus the car thing :-))

    Comment by Anna | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Wow, I cannot believe your car was still on and running. Ridiculous.

    Comment by Kelly | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. That is crazy, so glad it was still there!

    Comment by Jacqui | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  6. what a fun night…those two Fs are my fave 😉

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. Being with family is the best for sure!! I bet you and Lisa wished you lived closer to eachother! Glad you still have your car 🙂

    Comment by CaSaundra | November 15, 2010 | Reply

  8. That is so funny! In fact, last year one time my boyfriend and I went to a movie, in my vehicle, and when we got home he had left his van running the entire time. The doors were locked, and we live in a rural neighborhood, but I couldn’t believe he did that! I can’t believe anyone else could do the same thing, but I’m glad someone else did!

    Comment by grocery goddess jen | November 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

