Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Fashion help.

If I see one more cardigan I might just pass out.

 

Hi, I'm Mr. Rogers. Nice to meet you.

 

 

Remember when I went on a shopping spree a for my new job? Yeah, well basically I returned all of it. Work clothes just aren’t for me. The items I actually kept are the items that I most likely won’t be wearing to work. Damn. I knew at some point I’d have to face the lines and the dreaded dressing room lighting. Today was that day.

I left with 4 cardigans, a pretty decent collared/flannel shirt, a dress, a way too short skirt (to be worn with heavy tights of course and certainly not for work), a sort sleeve shirt, a belt, and some jewelry. Not too terrible but the problem is that I have no pants and nothing to go under my cardigans. In al seriousness, what should go under those cardigans besides collared shirts? I need something work appropriate. Need help. Thanks.

 

Banana Republic Cardigan and Old Navy collared shirt.

How cute is this outfit?? I'll be wearing it on Thanksgiving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I fell in love with the store Francesca’s Collection in Cambridge Side Galleria.I would link it for you but for some reason WordPress won’t let me. Google it and find a store near you. It’s ADORABLE and cheap! Check out the adorable dress I picked up there. It looks vintage in real life.

 

I think I might be able to get away with it at work. We shall see.

I have dinner plans tonight with my old supervisor who works at my new job. I’m going to wear the dress to (hopefully) win her approval.

Who’s making what for Thanksgiving?

 

November 22, 2010 - Posted by | Fashion, Friends, fun

15 Comments »

  1. I always wear a shell (i.e tank top) under a cardigan. I like to find those cute little ones that have thr built in bras…even better!

    Comment by Kelly | November 22, 2010 | Reply

    • yeah and I could use all the support i can get.

      Comment by lpskins | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m making a bottle of wine for Thanksgiving. Meaning I’m picking one up on the way to dinner.

    I love that skirt. I’ll have to check out that store.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 22, 2010 | Reply

    • always a crowd pleaser.

      Comment by lpskins | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. I really hate work clothes. Work clothes should be pajamas, in my opinion.

    Thanksgiving…the usual, pumpkin pie, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, rolls, and cornbread dressing. All from scratch, but not terribly inventive. I do not feel creative this year at all, unfortunately!

    Comment by Jen Trinque | November 22, 2010 | Reply

    • jen that’s intense.

      Comment by lpskins | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am a huge fan of your last two outfits! So cute! I’d wear them with some nice shiny heeled boots (ankle or high length!). I was never a fan of the regular cardigan. I love the cami idea too but under a thin sweater type from American Eagle or those new longer sweaters (some have no buttons and a slight ruffle to the edge)! I’d put a plain cami under the flannel too and wear the flannel like a sweater (or just button the bottom part and wrap a belt around it). I only ever tuck in a collared shirt if I am wearing a full-on suite.

    Long winded but I loooooove fashion!

    Comment by Kimberley | November 22, 2010 | Reply

    • come dress me! sadly i can’t wear scarfs bc my clients could choke me with them. i LOVE scarfs!

      Comment by lpskins | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. Oh!!! And if the cami/cardigan is too little for work then layer a light scarf around your neck!!! So cute!

    Comment by Kimberley | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. Dude, rock the plain fitted tees! I have literally about five black tees. I tuck them into pants/skirts with a belt, wear them over jeans. They fit right in under a cardi!

    Also, you might be able to wear the skirt to work if you wear actual leggings under it. And, you can winter-ise any dress in your wardrobe! Just add a slim-fit long sleeve and tights/leggings. Voila.

    I say this as I’m picking at a food stain on my work top…

    Comment by Alice | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. My staples for work are…

    Cardigans (target, J. Crew, any really I have like 30 at least)
    New York and Co 5th Ave Dress Pants (I live in them, I would wear them everyday to work if I could)
    Also, Marshalls has adorable Express Dress Pants for like $25 and they last forever and make your butt look great!
    Shells and tanks
    Nine West Heels

    Oh and a lint brush to get off the Bullie Hair 🙂

    xoxo

    Comment by Ashley | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. Oh, I love the plain T idea and the layered skirt look with leggings/tights!! To dress it up throw on those cardigans or those loose little vests ala Selena Gomez! Too bad about the scarf situation but yes, you staying alive is much more of a priority! 🙂 I’m a skirt girl all the way so to avoid freezing I love layering. It is so comfy/cute and stylish. Sigh, I want to go shop right now!! I cannot wait to see pics of your Thanksgiving outfit. That is damn cute!

    Comment by Kimberley | November 23, 2010 | Reply

  9. […] Thanks for the fashion advice in my comments section. You girls know what you’re talking […]

    Pingback by Italian overload « Goodies Galore | November 23, 2010 | Reply

  10. I love cardigans and normally just wear tank tops under them with a skirt or pants.

    Comment by Jacqui | November 23, 2010 | Reply

  11. Ann Taylor Loft – not sure if there are any around you. But if you have a few cardigans and shells or tees under them and a skirt with tights – boots or flats or heels – and then put a chunky necklace on you’re set. The jewelry softens the whole look 🙂 That is my go to store – if you’re lucky the sales girls can help you put together some outfits. Good luck!

    Comment by Christine | November 23, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

