Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I promise to stop bitching about work clothes after this post

Last night’s dinner was something special– veggie fajita HEAB style. I made her mustard stir fry but added crushed red pepper for some heat, left out the bacon and used oil instead of butter. Paired it with 2 whole wheat tortillas, greek yogurt, chopped lettuce and refried beans. If that doesn’t get things moving along I’m not sure what will.

I woke up at 5:30 to prepare for a 10 mile run. (Read: eat, drink coffee, and poop.) It was 27 degrees and my hands were FROZEN for the first four miles but after that things got a little better. I need to pick up some winter running attire to make things more comfortable. I don’t have any races in the near future but my running partner and I decided to keep our weekend long runs going. We’ve been running 8-13 miles every Saturday or Sunday since July. We’re toying with a February marathon but haven’t committed just yet because 1) It’s kind of big deal to train for a marathon (nevermind the fact that it’s in the midst of winter) 2) there are only 400 runners which means there will be limited energy to feed off of 3) it’s on the Cape and will be freezing.  The positives are that 1) we’ll stay active during the cold months 2) the accomplishment of another marathon 3) that’s all I can think of.

 

Here’s my bitch and them I’m done. Seriously.

I’ve gone shopping for work clothes on two separate occasions: my first shopping trip was fairly successful and the second wasn’t so bad either. Well, tomorrow is my first day of work and I seem to have nothing to wear. To be fair, I returned much of what I bought, including all but one pair of pants. I just had a tantrum episode in the closet with said pants and many, many shirts and sweaters. Everything looks like ass. The one collared shirt that I bought and happen to really like, opens at the boobs making it inappropriate to wear!! See God, this is why big boobed ladies should be excused from such awful creations. Is that too much to ask? Let it go Lindsay, let it go.

What’s your go-to Winter workout?

November 28, 2010 - Posted by | Fashion, Food, running

13 Comments »

  1. I wear a dress with thick tights or leggings every single day to work. I don’t even own a pair of work pants. I feel like dresses are SO much easier!

    Comment by ashleigh | November 28, 2010 | Reply

    • where do you get all your dresses?

      Comment by lpskins | November 28, 2010 | Reply

      • TJ maxx, Marshalls, Anne Taylor Loft and Banana Republic outlet. Most of my dresses were only $40 or so!

        Comment by ashleigh | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Looks like you’re doing better than me. I can’t even stand the clothes I wear on a regular basis. It’s been sweats and t-shirts for months now! Oh well. I had homemade mac & cheese and chocolate chips cookies last night. Bomb diggity.

    Comment by Whitney | November 28, 2010 | Reply

    • now that sounds like a good night of eat. perfect for sweat pants.

      Comment by lpskins | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. I wish you luck with shopping. In the winter, because our work heat seems so crazy, I layer it up like crazy. Big wrap sweaters and such… Plus they’re comfy and I can also wear them with jeans. Score. 🙂

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Sweater dress, leggings, tall boots! Easy!!

    Comment by Kimberley | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. Can you wear a fitted tank top under the boob-exposing piece of clothing? I suffer from the same…boob problem….and usually wear long sleeved nice tees (from say, Eddie Bauer or something) with a cardigan or blazer over them. No boob problems there. If I have to wear a suit I just wear a tank or t-shirt under it and call it good. I don’t much like work clothes, but it’s the way it is, unfortunately.

    Comment by Jen Trinque | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Have you tried Target? I got 4 dresses there, leggings, long tanks and a boyfriend blazer! Cheap!

    Comment by Marina | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. Oh my god that lunch looks so yummy! Wish I could have swung by to grub 🙂

    have you ever tried Ann Taylor loft? They gave some cute, good priced, work type shirts…

    Comment by Trina | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  8. Garr, I have that problem with buttoned shirts too. Darned boobs.

    Comment by The Running Phoodie | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  9. i’m not that well endowed, but i really REALLY hate how my boobs grew after i went on birth control…they’re smaller now than they were but good Lord button-up shirts are unforgiving!

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | November 28, 2010 | Reply

  10. I wear dress pants, cardigan and some sort of decorative tank top or matching shell. It’s easy and you can mix and match.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

