Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

December

As you all know by now, today is the first day of December. Now I’m not one to set goals because I never take them seriously but I’m having a change of heart this month. There are 2 things in particular that have been on my mind.

So what if cheese is wedged in the middle.

1. Eating fruit-– I discovered last year that I don’t really like fruit. Sure, grapes and pineapple are awesome but how often do I buy those? Not often. Pineapple is a bitch to carve and by the time you cut the skin and core off, there’s nothing left of the damn thing. And grapes. Those little bastards are expensive. I refuse, refuse (!!!!) to pay 10 bucks for a bag. That leaves me with apples and I’m a little bored with them. My challenge is to eat at least 1 serving of fruit per day. Seriously, this is a challenge. Today I’ve crushed this goal with pomegranate arils. No big deal.

2. Strength freaking Train- My nemesis. I am the cardio queen and a weight rarely touches my fingertips. My goal is to do weights (even for five minutes in my own home) 3 times per week. This included abdominal work. Why does this continue to be such a struggle for me? See ya later flab!

Anyways, fruit and strength training will be conquered in no time. Anyone with me on this??

December 1, 2010 - Posted by | Food, goals, strength training

11 Comments »

  1. I got my brother this pineapple corer and he loves it:

    http://www.amazon.com/Vacu-Vin-4882250-Pineapple-Slicer/dp/B0000DE4FZ

    pineapple! yum!

    Craig

    Comment by mywhackyvisions | December 1, 2010 | Reply

    • is this craig craig? like, booty craig?

      Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2010 | Reply

      • Yep. Booty Craig.

        Comment by mywhackyvisions | December 2, 2010 | Reply

        • Or “c-boot” as I’m known in da ‘hood. 🙂

          (hmm is booty-c better…hmmm..)

          Comment by mywhackyvisions | December 4, 2010 | Reply

  2. I’m the same way– give me cardio until I’m blue in the face (well, not really, but you know what I mean), but strength training? I have to FORCE myself to do it.

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m the same way– I’ll do cardio until I’m blue (or red, ha) in the face, but I have to FORCE myself to do strength-training.

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | December 1, 2010 | Reply

    • haha, i gotcha! at least you force yourself!

      Comment by lpskins | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. Can you please keep us up to date on how the strength training goes? I try it every month and last a week before I can’t get myself to do it anymore. I think it’s mainly because I have no routine and HATE it!

    I’m with you on the fruit! I force myself to have some every day but usually on weekends I forget. I only eat apples and bananas because they are easy and cheap.

    Comment by Ashleigh | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  5. I just discovered that I like apples much better if I cut them up rather than eat them right from the core….. weird…I know…

    Comment by Ali | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  6. Apples also have a lot of fiber which fills you up so you snack less. I try to eat an an hour or so before going out to dinner or before I go grocery shopping.

    Comment by mywhackyvisions | December 2, 2010 | Reply

  7. I am with you on both of these. If you like pineapple, get the slicer cored thing at Bed Bath and Beyond. Makes it so easy to cut them and not loose as much.

    Comment by Jacqui | December 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

