Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Veggie Diaries and party animal?

This was dinner on Thursday night. Bet you can’t decipher what the hell it is.

If you guessed roasted burnt-to-hell green beans with homemade guacamole you guessed right.

Now last night’s dinner was a whole different story and one that I am proud to tell.

Here we have:

Roasted sweet and white potatoes

Roasted fennel with fresh squeezed orange juice, salt and pepper.

And a wonderful little salad of cherry tomatoes, sliced olives, avocado chunks and sun-dried tomatoes in olive oil. Holy hell.

 

I thought this one was pretty creative.

 

Last night was my first time cutting and cooking fennel. I had to watch a youtube clip to get all the dirty details. Wicked easy and crazy delicious. To my surprise even Lennster liked it.

I’ve been trying to eat more whole foods and less processed/chemical/sugary foods. Now that I’m turning 30 things are getting serious. Like I’ve said before, I don’t want to look like a Shar Pei in 10 years. I can already feel it happening. By the way, I’ll be 30 in 11 days. Feel free to send presents my way… in check form. 🙂 I kid, I kid.

Speaking of birthdays, I’m off to Vermont today to celebrate my bests friends 30th.  A limo will be picking 14 of us up to drive us to Stowe for dinner and drinks. I’m planning to get wild and crazy. You know, dancing on pool tables with my dress hitched up and my vageen hanging out. Hah, wouldn’t that be funny.  I’d clear the place out real quick. “Why is that women wearing furry underwear. Oh wait, that’s her……”   Now I’m getting carried away.

Happy Birthday Biff dog!

 

THis was taken last year at her party when I accidently called the cops on us. Don't ask.

 

 

Happy weekend friends!

January 8, 2011 - Posted by | Friends, fun

14 Comments »

  1. seriously I have NEVER seen such good roasted veggies in my life!

    Comment by movesnmunchies | January 8, 2011 | Reply

    • really??? wow!!! thanks. you’re welcome anytime.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. You totally crack me up. Have a great time!

    Comment by jen @ taste life | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. i’d like the hear the story about the accidental cop-calling 🙂

    Comment by Heather | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. I bet it had something to do with a mysterious button or a small remote that someone left lying around. What do they expect? I had a little incident like that. I moved into my boyfriend’s and we were having a problem with the pool pump and the controls were inside and on top was a small remote – so I pressed it a couple of times (the police say 15) who’s counting. Anyway, I pressed it and aimed it toward the pool and/or pool pump in the backyard and proceeded to go upstairs and get undressed from work. In approx three minutes (because the cops have nothing else going on in the burbs in Montgomery County PA) the cops arrived ringing the doorbell – so at this point I throw a bathrobe on and proceed to answer the door with two dogs in tow – I open it an inch or so (because I’m a: standing in a bathrobe and b: because I don’t want the dogs to run out) and now they think that someone is in the house with me – so they need to come in and check everything out because someone pressed the panic button 15 times….

    the remote is now in a safe place 🙂

    I laugh so hard when I read your site because I can relate to you on so many levels.

    Comment by Christine | January 8, 2011 | Reply

    • no way!!!! that story is hilarious. Love the way you told it too. Tx for sharing Christine.

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  5. It might look unappetizing… But I’m pretty sure it tasted amazing 😀
    And, about your friend’s birthday – how AWESOME!
    Have fun, girl!

    Comment by Gabriela @ Fro-Yo Lover | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  6. That sounds delicious. Look at you getting all creative in the kitchen!

    I say show the fur!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | January 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. Some foods look bad, but taste great. That’s the case with a lot of casseroles and veggies sometimes too haha!

    Comment by CaSaundra | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  8. You’re ridiculous- I love it. I turn 30 in a little over a month. Not looking forward to it at all!

    Comment by Kelly | January 9, 2011 | Reply

  9. I’ve never had fennel- what does it taste like?

    Comment by Alexis @ There She Goes | January 11, 2011 | Reply

    • it’s hard to explain but it has a licorice flavor to it.

      Comment by lpskins | January 11, 2011 | Reply

  10. Those green beans look divine. Maybe I’m just weird, but I like my roasted veggies to be burned. I guess it’s like chef Anne Burrell says… BURNED FOOD TASTES GOOD. But with less grunting and weird jokes.

    Comment by Lauren (Clean Eats in the Dirty South) | January 13, 2011 | Reply

  11. I legit laughed out loud at work while reading the pole dancing sentence. There is no way I can explain that one to the co-workers. Have an awesomely fun filled drunken dancing BFF weekend!!

    Comment by Erin | January 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

