Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Better with age

Over the last 16 months, I’ve slowly lost 12 pounds by exercise alone. This loss (clearly it was extremely slow and gradual) had nothing to do with changing my eating habits. Unfortunately I still stuff my gullet with whoopee pies and frosting covered sticky buns. Despite my old habit of binging, I do feel much healthier and happier than I did when I first started this blog in October, 2009-the same month I began posting my weekly weigh-ins, and the same week I started this slow weight loss journey.

Today I am 30. 30! I’m not someone that’s afraid of this number. No way, Jose. I welcome it with open arms and expect life to get better from this point forward.

My teen years were fun but difficult and riddled with insecurity. Those years were full of parties, friends and sneaking out, navigating the pressures of middle school and high school, experimentation sexually and in other ways, struggles to get along with my family, many nights and weekends grounded, some run-ins with the cops (what can I say, I was a bad dumb ass.), and the start of my eating disorder. Those years were so exciting but also full of insecurity and at times, pain.

My twenties took me to different parts of the world including Australia, New Zealand, England, and all over the US. I established close friendships to people who are now a necessary piece of my happiness and my heart. I had my heart-broken but learned to forgive and move forward. My family fell apart and with support from one another we rallied to pick up the pieces. I moved to a new city where I found love and began to build my own family. I started running and have since participated in one marathon and a bunch of half marathons. I struggled to find inner peace through majority of my 20’s but that was then.

In this new decade I plan to strive towards happiness and inner peace each and every day. For me, happiness is not a natural state, it is something that needs to be fostered. Each month this year, I plan to include something new to my life that brings about goodness. Some months, I might exclude something that doesn’t nurture my best interest. On occasion, I might get all wild and do both. For the start of my 30th year of life, I’ve decided to include monthly dinner dates with an old friend who I don’t seen nearly enough, and exclude donuts. I DON’T NEED DONUTS nor do I want the instant gratification that they bring. I do need love and the gift of friendship. I know this much is true.

So cheers to a new year in calendar and in birth.

Who wants to join me on my journey for happiness and inner peace. What would you like to include/exclude in your life?

January 19, 2011 - Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Family, Food, Friends, fun

19 Comments »

  1. Welcome to your 30’s!! May they bring you all the happiness & peace you wish for!!

    (I feel like my 30’s are going to rock too..so far so good!)

    Comment by Natasha | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. Happy birthday, girl! Great post– I think your thirties are going to be amazing!

    Comment by Anonymous | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Happy birthday, girl!!! I think your thirties are going to be amazing!!

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. Happy Birthday, sweet blogger friend! I LOVE this post. It was inspiring and needed on a day where I am feeling a bit down. Thank you, girl! keep inspiring and enjoy your day!

    Comment by Jess | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  5. Happy Birthday pretty lady! I think your 30s are going to be amazing for you!

    Comment by Kelly | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  6. What a nice post. Inspiring, too.

    I plan to include more yoga/meditating/stress relief techniques. I’m already excluding more refined sugars, as they don’t make me feel good!

    Comment by jen @ taste life | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  7. Oh honey this was awesome. I am turning 30 in April and I loved this! 🙂 You are such a ray of sunshine in my life. Know that. I really connected with the happiness part. Being happy is not a natural state for me either and I have to make the conscious decision everyday to BE happy. I am a little nervous about entering in a new decade but at the same time I hope it is better than this last one. Happy Birthday! You deserve everything and more!

    Comment by Kelly | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  8. Happy Birthday!

    Comment by kilax | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  9. Love this post. Good for you for including something new and positive each month. I love that. Hopefully I’m on the short list and we can have a good laugh (outside of a men’s bathroom, that is).
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY DEAR FRIEND!!! I love you.

    Comment by Shleigh | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  10. You have such a great outlook. I turn 30 in 23 days and I admit I’m dreading it. I know it’s just a number but I don’t feel ready to leave my twenties. Maybe if I had a pup as cute as Eleanor I’d feel differently 😉 I am confident, however, that this year will be better than the last!

    Comment by Kelly- Shiny Happy Vegan | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  11. I will join you on this journey Lindsey! Good Luck & really love the new profile pic- you look so happy- your smile is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    Comment by Debra | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  12. Happy Birthday! You have a great attitude! I’m sure your 30s will be fabulous!

    Comment by Ashleigh | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  13. LP!

    I bet your 30s will kick ass; you’re a kick ass gal. I only knew ya from 28-29 but I’ll take it. Wish ya on the best on your B-day, 2011, and beyond. I’ll let ya know the next time I make it to your neck of the woods. Also, wanted to let ya know that I found my equivilent to your AM Booty Camp. I enrolled in a kick boxing gym, 9:15 M-W-F. It’s awesome. Even more fun than the M-W I had at TBC, hahaha.

    Comment by JB! | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  14. Still pretty funny I read your blog huh?

    Hahah

    Take it easy.

    Comment by JB! | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  15. This is a great post. Happy Birthday! I like the idea of adding something new. I want to meet up with friends more often too. Maybe we can meet soon!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  16. Greatest post!!! I want to include working out at least 5 days a week. Not only do I get stronger/leaner, I also feel happier…it’s another anti-depre/anti-anxiety med…w/out a pill! I would like to exclude not believing. I tend to look too much in to many things which makes me not believe in the original thing. I’ll try to do this w/you my Linds! xoxo

    Comment by Katelyn | January 20, 2011 | Reply

  17. Happy Birthday Linds! I myself turned 30 last Thursday so I will join you! I am getting rid of people who bring negativity to my life and bring me down and keeping the ones that bring happiness to me and remind me to stay positive when things are not looking so great.

    Comment by Christina | January 21, 2011 | Reply

  18. YAY! I am belated but hope you had a very fabulous and happy birthday!! It sounds like you did. I love that freaking dog of yours. So cuteeeeee.

    I also like adding something in. I turn 28 in two weeks (from today) and think I’m going to go with that too!

    Comment by Erin | January 25, 2011 | Reply

  19. […] Is it really the second week of June already? It feels like yesterday when I turned 30 and ranted about how this was going to be the best year of my life.   So far this year has been nuts! I’ve missed blogging. Initially, I took a break due to […]

    Pingback by Life is interesting « Goodies Galore | June 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

