Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

races and such

Next weekend I’ll be participating in the Black Cat 20 mile race. For the last few months, two girlfriends and I have  been increasing our mileage each Saturday. We topped off at 17 miles. We  attempted 18 miles last weekend but only made it for 16 due to the insane wind. My “training” has basically consisted of one long run and maybe 1-2 other short runs during the week. I’m telling you, my workout habits went to shit. Anyways, I still feel confident going into next weekends race.

Remember when I bought new sneaks last month? They’ve been a disaster for my foot and ankle causing pain for day’s post long run. I finally exchanged them yesterday for a more supportive shoe so hopefully the pain will decrease and I’ll be good to go.

Our  long runs have been mostly successful despite the wind, snow, ice, etc. Two weekends ago during out longest run, I noticed a rip in my (awesome and expensive) running pants. I became obsessed with the hole and couldn’t stop touching it. Suddenly….. RIP…..my pants ripped all the way from my upper thigh to mid calf. OMG, it was freezing and we still had 5 miles to go. Never mind that my cooter was 2 inches away from being visible. Luckily the pants held up and kept my vagine safe and sound.

The bad news is that EMS no longer sells these incredible pants, even though they were just purchased in December. Too bad so sad.

We’ve also decided to participate in the Boston Marathon. Don’t yell at me but we’re running as Bandits. I won’t be using any of their resources and will probably be a slow turtle at the end of the pack. I did attempt to join a fundraising  team but all spots were taken. We’re pretty excited but I’m terrified of getting my ass beat. Anyone else running as a bandit?

*What workout clothes could you not live without?

 

February 25, 2011 Posted by | running | 16 Comments

It’s been a while.

Okay, okay, it’s been a month since I’ve bothered to write a bloody blog post. I wish I could say I’ve been off traveling or doing something fantastic but the truth is, I’ve been working my butt off at my job, eating a shit load of cookies and not going to the gym. Whoever invented the girl scout cookie should go to hell.

The truth is, I’ve had a tough month and let go of all my healthy habits. I’ve been eating out of control (so much for weight watchers), haven’t been working (out other than my one weekly long run) and stopped doing things that typically make me happy. I couldn’t find the energy to come up with a witty post or anything worth reading. Have I been depressed? Maybe, but such is life.

The good news is that I have some exciting events coming up and lots of people who love me.  Thanks to those who wrote me sweet and thoughtful emails. I’m happy to be back.

Has anyone missed Eleanor?

Seriously? Any cuter and I’d pass out.

 

February 25, 2011 Posted by | dogs, eating disorder, Food, running | 16 Comments