Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Life is interesting

Wow. Is it really the second week of June already? It feels like yesterday when I turned 30 and ranted about how this was going to be the best year of my life.   So far this year has been nuts! I’ve missed blogging. Initially, I took a break due to time restraints but then life happened. Oh life happened, alright. A lot has changed in the time I’ve been gone but I’m embracing it. Let’s see….

My sister is 30 weeks pregnant and cuter than ever. You know it’s a bad sign when you weigh more than your knocked up sister. Such is life.

Our beloved family dog died unexpectedly. Miss you Buddy.

So we bought a new dog to help heal the pain. He’ll never replace our Buddy but he’s been a wonderful addition. Meet Cooper.

After 3.5 years, Len and I broke up and then lived together for two months post breakup.  Surprisingly,things weren’t too awkward and remained civil. He’ll always hold a special place in my heart.

I moved to a new part of town and have a new roommate. Hi Melissa!

But I lost Eleanor in the battle. Well, it was a mutual decision and hopefully for the best. She’s in wonderful hands and I plan to visit often. I do miss the energy of a dog around the house but I miss our nightly spooning the most. My sweet rat.

Since single life began, I’ve been saying yes more. Yes to invitations and events that I wouldn’t necessarily participate in otherwise. Such as going to a shooting range.

And partaking in other things that are too inappropriate for this blog 🙂 Use your imagination, folks. Hi mom!

It’s good to be back.

June 8, 2011 - Posted by | dogs, Family, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend, Uncategorized

37 Comments »

  1. Wow– you HAVE had big changes!!!! Sounds like you’re taking all of them in stride– I think thirty could still be your best year yet!!

    ps– I realized that I never replied to your post about my outfit in Paris– it was a shirt, and it was from Target!

    Glad you’re back!!

    Comment by Anna | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Target??? DANG!!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Linds! I missed your blog so much! I am so glad you are back. Wow it is no wonder you have been MIA for a while. A lot of changes… Everything happens for a reason right? Stay positive and welcome back. 🙂

    Comment by Christina | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Christina!! That’s what they say….. we’ll see what cool things pop up! Hope you’re happy chicky.

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. Yay!! So glad you are back!! Despite the sad things… this can still be the best year of your life!! 🙂

    Comment by Kimberley | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, definitely going to make these next six months count. P.S. You’re looking quite sexy in your recent FB pics 😉

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. Why hello there! I’m glad to catch up on life over in your neck of the woods! Seems you’ve been crazy busy!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Miss Amy!! Remember when I sent you a text asking for your moms number? That was creepy!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  5. Hey Lindsay!11 So glad you are back. Things can only get better from here. Life is good embrace the changes and keep moving in onward, happy, peaceful and fun direction!!! You deserve to be happy!! 😉

    Comment by Cynthia | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  6. Sounds like you’re keeping an upbeat spirit after dealing with all these changes, to that I say, good for you LP, I expected nothing less, you’re tough as nails. I did the whole break up & live with situation in Boston, and it was FAR from civil, but maybe that’s just because I’m a butthead. Either with being civil, I bet it was hard, so I’m glad you’re out of that siutation now.

    I miss my friend. My former M-W homegirl. The gal who escaped to random new england cities on the weekend.

    Hope all is well!

    -JB

    Comment by Anonymous | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • JB!!!! I miss you like crazy. I’m emailing you soon. xoxoxoxoxoxox

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. Hey Lins! I missed you SO much! So glad you are back! Can’t wait to hear more updates! glad you are well!

    Comment by jessdownes | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Jess, I’ve been following your running adventures. You’ve really been rocking it.

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  8. Missed ya!!!!! Glad you are back to blogging! Hope all the changes are what you want in life!!!!!!! sending lots of hugs & giggles!!!!!!!
    dang that’s a lot of !!!!!!!! LOL
    take care 🙂

    Comment by Debra | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Deb, you are too cute!!! (!!!!!!!!!!!) Sometimes we need to express our excitement and !!!! is a fabulous way.

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  9. Wow Linds! That is a lot of change. I am glad you seem to be doing well. Missed you and hope to hear from you some more!!

    Comment by Jacqui | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Jacqui. Thanks so much!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  10. I’m so glad you’re back! My ex and I lived together after we broke up. We got along better! You’ve been through a lot, but it sounds like you’ve been able to keep your head up 🙂

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • MNibs!! Keep up the hilar posts!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  11. Welcome back! So much going on in your life, but you seem to be so positive which is great. Glad you are getting out there and doing new things!

    Comment by Ashleigh | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • ASH! I still owe you pumpkin seeds…… sadly they didn’t make the move with me. Yes, I still had them boxed up all that time. I’ll buy you dinner sometime!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  12. Yay, I was hoping you’d be back! Sorry about you and Len, and losing Eleanor :(. I think that would be the saddest part of a break up for me.

    Comment by Kelly | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Kelly! Hi love. Yeah the whole Ellie thing sucked ass. I haven’t stopped checking in on ya.

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  13. So glad to see you back! 🙂 Keep your head up! I’m glad you have a new roommate and it looks like you’re staying busy. Have lots of fun; enjoy life and keep us posted! 😉 Cooper is mighty cute! 😀

    Comment by Whitney | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  14. How incredibly sad the last few months have been for you 😦 Sounds like you’re on a positive track now and moving in the right direction. It’s only June – so this may very well be the best year of your life yet!! I look forward to hearing about your “new adventures” – as I’m sure there will be many. You’re young and healthy and life is good – so here’s to “the second chapter”!!!

    Comment by Christine | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Cheers my dear! Thanks.

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  15. Lindsay. That’s a whole lotta changes. As one who went through a plethora of big changes last year, I’m reminded how the world is just opening up for you. This makes me think of that phrase, “what makes you stronger…” You have such a strong core and support network and this zest for life. Glad to see you back and excited to see how things continue to shape up for you as you say, “yes.”

    Comment by Anneliesz | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Oh Annelies, you’re so sweet. I just realized I never emailed you back a while ago. Hope you’re well and married life is WONDERFUL!! xo

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  16. I am soooo glad you are back!! I’m sorry about Buddy and your personal life but way to turn it around !! and making the best out of a difficult time is there maybe another dog in your future stepbrother/sister to Eleanor?

    Comment by Kelli | June 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Kell!! Definitely no dog in my near future….. Thanks for checking in!!

      Comment by lpskins | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  17. Wow, sounds like you have had an intense few months. Glad you checked in and hope to hear more soon =)

    Comment by Katie | June 8, 2011 | Reply

  18. Glad you’re back and that things are looking up for you! I did the whole breakup/live in thing and it’s always awkward, if not for the best. And yay for kayaking!

    Comment by Erin @ Big Girl Feats | June 9, 2011 | Reply

  19. WELCOME BACK!!!! Sounds like you are doing great…keep having enjoying life 🙂

    Salina

    Comment by Salina | June 9, 2011 | Reply

  20. Glad you’re back Lindsay! I was wondering why you were gone for so long- I missed reading one of my favorite blogs! SO sorry to hear about you and the bf and especially Eleanor 😦 Hope you find ways to enjoy the single life. It’s not so bad, I promise 😉

    Comment by Kelly | June 11, 2011 | Reply

    • Kelly!!! Hi. Thanks for the love.

      Comment by lpskins | June 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

