Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Story of a new friend.

I’m feeling much better these days. My roommate and I had a nice talk last week where she quite frankly asked, “Are you depressed.” At that point, the answer was yes. Even though it’s only been a week since that discussion, I’m on the up and up. Life isn’t so bad.

This past week has been a little out of the ordinary. If you’re friends with me on facebook, this will be old news.

So last Tuesday night we heard tons and tons of squirrels in the walls. They were having a damn blast. I swear they were having a soccer match up there with an acorn. We could not sleep.

Wednesday we heard something coming from my roommates room. Sure enough, we see a huge, furry paw coming from the ceiling vent.

This was no squirrel. It was scratching and scratching, trying to be free. Holy shit.

Then we hear something coming from my room.

If you look a little closer, you’ll find a furry little raccoon behind that wall vent. The vent sits about one foot from the ground so we had a little stare-down. Then a short counseling session. He was super cute and was determined to claw or bite his way out.

We called seven million trappers but no one was open since it was after hours. The city wouldn’t help unless the raccoon was fully running wild in our living room. What kind of crap deal is that? Finally we reached our heroes, Alex and Roger.


They came over, opened the vents and carefully placed a plate or two of tuna fish in there.

Did you know raccoons dig tuna? Sure do.

Before long, he was spotted.

And caught.

Roger said he’s about 2 months old. He was scared and hungry so we tried to calm him with bananas and carrots.

He wasn’t psyched.

Fast forward to the next morning. Around 4:45, we woke to sounds of the forest. There were 2 raccoons in the vent making all kinds of raccoon calls, scratching away. We think they were missing their brother.  Later that evening Roger caught a second raccoon. At this point I stopped taking pictures because my heart was sad for the raccoons. They were cuddled up together in the trap.

Up until two days ago all was quiet. We knew there was one left up there but figured she (Harriet) either left or died. Not so much. We woke up at 3 am to scratching in the walls and ceiling again. Then we saw this outside my window.

Harriet was sitting on the outside window peering in!! She is seriously obsessed with us. She would stare in the window, then come back into the walls, then back out to the window.

Roger came over and set another trap so now we wait. We’ve grown quite fond of this little raccoon. She’s smart and quiet, inquisitive. She loves us too. I hope she makes it.

The End.

July 12, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. Your fb updates were so amusing, but yeah I feel kind of bad for the little raccoon family, all separated. I hope they can reunite soon, and if I didn’t know they were so viscous, I’d want to cuddle them.

    Comment by Kelly | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. They’re so cute ~ but unfortunately make a huge mess and sometimes carry rabies 😦 Like you I want to rescue every animal I can and make it my pet. Very cute story. I love the way you tell it!

    Comment by Christine | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Oh my goodness…I know what a pain in the ass they must be, but that little face is too cute!!!

    Comment by Anna | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  4. You have no idea how much I loved watching this all play out over Facebook. Thanks for the entertainment!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. Wow, what a commotion! Back when I lived with my parents, we had a group of racoons living in the attic. I know what you mean about the noise- it sounded like a herd of elephants was living above my room. And oh the shrieking noises they’d make! They are super cute though 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  6. Ok this is crazy! Last week we had a raccoon on our driveway at 9 am scared the shit out of me! it was sooooo skinny turns out that he/she has rabies b/c its out during the day and its anoerxic looking haven’t seen it since. I’ll be honest I’m not as warm and fuzzy about it as you are i’m scared shitless of them!!

    Comment by Kelli | July 13, 2011 | Reply

  7. Raccoons! We have this scrabbling noise above our roof and I’m not going to lie, I’ve decided it’s squirrels. Somehow it always happens right over the roof of our kitchen… used to freak me out on the evenings where the Mister was working a 24. Maybe it’s a raccoon or a really big cat…

    Comment by Anneliesz | July 13, 2011 | Reply

  8. […] six months ago when our apartment was infested with raccoons? Well, now we have rats. Settle down, they don’t roam free in the house. They reside in the […]

    Pingback by Nothing wrong with weird. « Goodies Galore | January 25, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

